We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its Best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Don CeSar Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Hospitality at its Best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Don from 12-15-13 to 12-19-13 for our wedding on Pass-A-Grille Beach. From the start the concierge staff (particularly Lisa and Susan) were incredibly helpful in booking transportation for us for our airport transports, a trip to the Clerk of Courts and to the beach for our wedding. They also booked our wedding night dinner reservation at the hotel's Martiana Grille restaurant. All the food we had at the hotel was delicious and never disappointed. Lunch at the poolside grill was always quick and delicious, breakfast at Sea Porch was awesome. The coconut pancakes and plantain hash were great selections. We felt like royalty during our dinner at Maritana Grille. The staff knew we had gotten married earlier in the day and treated us to a glass of champaign and offered sincere congratulations. We were seated next to CeSar the eel who resides in the huge aquarium at the restaurant.
Christy, a bartender at the Lobby Bar was incredibly friendly. She made us feel so welcomed and special. We loved the Southern hospitality from everyone at the Don. No matter who you pass, staff always says hello and asks how you are doing with genuine interest.
Other reviews have complained about the beds. We were very pleased and slept like babies every night. Our bathroom was small as other reviews have mentioned and the air conditioning was a little loud but didn't keep us up or wake us.
The pools are beautiful and the pool service was friendly. Don't hesitate to use the flags on the back of your lounge chair, even in December there were plenty of servers happy to take care of us. The lounge chairs by the pools are super comfortable. A staff member mans a towel desk with complimentary fruit infused water, sunblock, towels and chair covers. One day the gentleman who worked the towel stand was extremely friendly and helpful, setting up our chairs for us. However, the following day the same guy was cold and was wondering around the pool so we waited a few minutes for him to return in order to get our towels. He simply handed the towels over that day and didn't accompany us to our chairs or give us chair covers. Which was fine, it was just very different service than we had received the day before from the same person.
The location of the Don is awesome, too. We took a free taxi (only costs you a tip to the driver) down to Pass-A-Grille where restaurants and shops are located one day and decided to walk back to the Don. And other day we walked down the beach to Pass-A-Grille and took the free taxi back to the Don. One evening we also took a taxi to downtown St. Petersburg ($30 + tip one way) to visit the Dali museum then walked from there to Central Avenue Oyster Bar where we enjoyed yet another amazing meal.
We also learned the Don is a pet friendly hotel and cannot wait to return with our pup someday. The hotel itself is beautiful inside and out, we wandered around inside and out, taking pictures and we never felt like we were doing anything wrong or going to get in trouble even when we accidentally walked into a meeting room when we were checking out the balconies on the 5th floor. I could go on and on but don't hesitate to stay at the Don for any occasion!

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a larger room. The basic king room is a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    433
    190
    103
    104
See reviews for
449
639
53
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is our 21st year to the Don and I have watched the Loews Corp tweak and tweak and now they have it right . The rooms are extremely comfortable , the new colors are soothing to the eyes .The service is the best I have witnessed ever .I never saw so many people Not slacking in my life .You can use the kyaks and paddle boards Free in the am and discounts on Jet Ski's in the am .The new pool furniture is heavenly to your back and the pool service is the best I have ever seen in any Florida Hotel I have ever stayed .It's like a winning basketball team when they are all running on the same cylinders . The employees all work together to help make your stay pleasent . I must tell you that the Don is not cheap , however the food and what you get for your money is truely quality and you don't mind spending it .Loews knows they are worth it and will give you your money's worth .

Room Tip: Join the Loews Program for free upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

the Loews Don Cesar offers Gulf front ocean views. Great location for a sunset and sunrise. Came over for just a quick one night stay! Great staff, Daniel & Kristen took great care of all of my needs. Loews has a great variety of Hotels & Resorts and really caters to making sure you feel right at home!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I just love it when I hear that we made a guest feel at home! Thanks for sharing that!

Of course, I could not agree with you more about the sunrise and sunsets. Whether you're in an oceanfront room, or bay view, you certainly are steps away from some of the most awesome sights you'll ever see.

Thanks for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Happy Holidays,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

It is eleven years since we last stayed at this hotel but it was exactly as we remembered it. Lovely clean, quiet rooms and comfortable beds. We stayed for 5 nights with my daughter and her family. They had never stayed here before and the loved the experience as much as we did. The staff were amazing, everyone went out of their way to speak to you and made you feel welcome. The only downside for me was the resort fee and having to pay for car parking, however we were advised about this in advance so we accepted it. We hope to return again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Love the title of your review!

Thanks for returning to the Pink Palace after 11 years! I'm happy to hear that your experience this visit was up to your expectations! Glad you and your family enjoyed your visit!

Don't wait another 11 years to come visit! We hope we can see you all again in the near future!

Happy Holidays,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Based on reviews I had expected something more in line w/ the Breakers or Biltmore. Not so-nothing outstanding if you are celebrating an occasion, just routine card w/strawberies. Nickel and dime you to death as well

Room Tip: You either get small room or a view - beware of "bay" views they are parking lots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments about your recent visit to The Loews Don Cesar.

We appreciate your business, and apologize that we did not meet your expectations. One of our goals is to provide all guests an experience that's authentically local and genuinely delivered, while I'm not sure what you were expecting, I do apologize that we did not provide you the experience you were hoping to remember for a lifetime.

The St. Pete Beach area, as well as downtown St. Pete has so much to offer. Should you decide to give us a second chance, please contact our concierge and I'm confident they will do what they can to make your stay one that you will want to share with friends and family.

Happy Holidays!

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spent a few days at this lovely hotel in early November and was very impressed with the outstanding service which I feel is a direct result of the excellent management. Such customer service has to start at the top and work it's way down the ladder. Every person who served us from the ones who met us at the entrance to the ones who served us in securing our rooms and in the Sea Porch and Maritana Grill were very gracious and very natural in their desire to do everything possible to make sure we had an outstanding stay. I noticed Justin Stern appeared to work 24 hours a day as he appeared all over the hotel no matter what hour or what part we were in. With that kind of dedication it's no wonder the hotel is such a delight to it's guests. We did not have children with us but I noticed (as a grandmother) what wonderful activities they have for all ages and think it would be a wonderful place to take ours. I am especially pleased they do acknowledge the history of this lovely old hotel and it's founders and various functions it has served over the years. We do enjoy the historical background when we stay in one of these hotels. We lacked nothing as far as amenities were concerned and the time was just too short and we hope to return in the future. The Spa provided every service one could desire and the people performing the duties were outstanding. I would say for us, the most impressive of our stay was the outstanding service provided by the staff and with such enthusiasm as we haven't seen in some time. I think Loews stresses that quality thoughout their properties and it is very
apparent in the ones we have stayed in. Even the people in the billing department were wondeful to deal with after we returned home as we were mistakenly charged for a few items and had to phone to clear them up. Lavette handled them very promptly and courteously. Hope to return in the future as it was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: we prefer the upper floors for the view is lovely
See more room tips
Green Features: I think they make every effort to carry out the environmentally friendly ways possible by making sure rooms are well ventilated, insulated and kept clean.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Delia,

It really makes my day when I read comments like yours. I am so happy to hear about what a fantastic and memorable experience you had.

We place a high importance in providing everyone, from our guests, to our own employees, the best in everything we do - and I'm glad it shows!

It's fun when you have such a wonderful "physical" property to work with, one with so much character like our "Pink Palace." Take that, and mix in our awesome employees, a great spa and incredible food and it's a home run!

Thanks again for the kind words and Happy Holidays!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Impressive hotel pool with excellent service. Fish tacos were excellent. The extras like lotion, samples of shakes, cucumbers were surprise and delight! Pool view is amazing. Singer at pool was also very nice.
Worth the spend! St Pete's Beach is a great area for vacation!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Don CeSar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Don CeSar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," the Loews Don CeSar Hotel, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Don CeSar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
Loews Don CeSar Hotel Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Don CeSar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.