We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Don CeSar Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This part of Florida is stunning, so enjoying your stay no matter where you go is easy to do! Don CeSar is a beautiful hotel, but overpriced.Food at the hotel is 7/10 stars. We rented the cabana for 1 day and that was unforgettable (but with a hefty $125/day price tag). We sat close to the beach and enjoyed the ocean while reading our favorite books. The most memorable part of the trip was yoga on the beach, so make sure you try it--it is included in your resort fee!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    480
    211
    112
    114
See reviews for
530
729
57
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After our 4 night stay at the Don Cesar, it is clearly the only place in St. Pete Beach to stay. The hotel itself is beautiful, the service is unbelievable and has all the touches you'd expect at a 4 star hotel.

The Room: We opted for a one bedroom gulfview suite and it was well worth it. It was very spacious, completely renovated and modern. The view from our ample balcony was amazing (see photos) - with both the ocean and the gorgeous hotel gardens. The balcony was big enough for a table and 2 chairs. The room had a Keurig coffee maker, new furnishings and a beautiful bathroom. The suites don't have a fridge but we asked for one at check in and it was brought up to our room within minutes - total of $15 charge for the entire stay.

Service: From the moment we pulled in the drive, the service at the Don was the best I've experienced. Fast check in and the bellhop had our luggage arranged so our 3 year old could ride the cart up to our room. Anything we asked for we received promptly. The maid service was fast and discreet, both morning and evening services. The only time the service was less than great was at the poolside lunch restaurant and the breakfast buffet - very slow.

Pool/Beach: The hotel has two pools (one is 4 feet and the other goes from 3.5' to 7 feet), both are heated and always very clean. There's a little bit of protocol with getting a pool chair. You can "save" chairs by telling the pool guys and they'll set it up with towels for you and it's saved for an hour max. If you find a chair you want make sure it just has the blue cushion (no towels) and ask the pool guys to set it up for you with a white towel cover and the striped towels.
We never had issues finding a chair, including at 2pm on a Friday afternoon.

The beach was lovely -very clean and the softest sand. There's a little area set up by the hotel with umbrellas and a wooden toy ship where they have sand toys, buckets, etc for kids to play with, there are even a few chairs for the parents. However if you want a lounge chair or beach bed or cabana, you have to rent it. The bed/cabana is $100 a day, I think the chairs are $20 and up.

Hotel Restaurants: We dined at the poolside restaurant, the Sea Porch Cafe and Uncle Andy's Ice Cream while there. Our lunch at the poolside place was good and not too bad on prices, considering ($13-15 for a sandwich and surprisingly $4.50 for a draft FL Ave ale). Unless you have vouchers (we did) skip the breakfast buffet at Sea Porch - we've had better bkfst at Denny's. Uncle Andy's is cute and again pretty reasonable on the prices, $2 for a kid size which was a sizeable portion.

Overall I would recommend anyone going to St. Pete Beach to stay here. Judging from the other options on the beach (both online and what we drove by) this was by far the best. The hotel has a lot of history and is truly a landmark in the area. They treat you like royalty and it's a true luxury experience.

Room Tip: The gulfview suite was well worth the price, we had room 441 --- a king bed, separate bedroom and li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Indiana
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and elegant and our room was very nice with a lovely balcony, however, I wish these luxury hotels wouldn't surprise us with extra charges when we arrive. We were charged $22 a day for "resort charges" and $10 per day for parking on top of the $230 we paid for the room. I think they should include the extra charges in the room rate so you don't get a surprise when you arrive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Loews Don Cesar from September 27 to October 1 and it was one of the best vacations we have had since getting hitched. The pools and beach are where we spend most of the time when we go to Florida and the Don did not disappoint. Very clean establishment and staffed with real professionals. The Sea Porch was our go-to breakfast place and it was great. Diverse menu, tasty, and filling. We will definitely return and recommend this property while in St. Pete' s Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband took me to the Don Cesar for my birthday, what a gift! It was beautiful, the interior was gorgeous, the grounds were well manicured, the room was nice and comfortable. Nice outdoor dining at the Sea Porch all day. The beach is really nice right there, calm water, gorgeous sunsets every night, drinks and food delivered to your chairs. Very nice, accommodating staff. They do have the $22 per day resort fee, which is okay but does leave customers I believe with a bit of a sour taste. But I would still go back, I loved it there. The spa was nice; they have great happy hour spa deals Mon.-Thurs. from 4-6 so be sure to check that out! The food was good, the only downfall of that was that each place has pretty much the same menu, the Sea Porch, Tequila Bar and pool. We did go to nearby Pass a Grill for breakfast one day and dinner another, a nice quaint little area just south of the hotel. We also went to downtown St. Petersburg, which I would recommend it was real pretty. We had drinks at the Vinoy Hotel on the porch, which I would recommend as well, it is not too far.

As mentioned by others, there is a fee for chairs on the beach, but my husband and I sat right outside the pool area on a small deck right on the beach which was fine at no charge. They have two nice pools and a hot tub, all are great, the only downfall here is on the weekend there were quite a few kids in the hot tub which I don't think is a place for them.

The other really nice thing we did was on Wednesday afternoons they offer "classes" in the Lobby Lounge, we had a class on how to make Mojitos, which was really informative and fun, look for that if you go, each week is a different lesson. The Lobby Lounge is really nice, they have live music each night from 5-8, which is great.

The shops on the garden level are real nice but not very expensive. They have a nice work out room.

Overall I would highly recommend the Don Cesar, it was romantic and relaxing!

Room Tip: Our room did not face the ocean but it was fine we were not in there that much during the day anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Loved just about everything about this hotel except the lack of coffee makers in the room, the $22.00 resort fee and $10-$20.00 for parking. Go rent a jet ski on the beach. We were out for almost an hour and saw dolphins! Great for couples (saw many weddings on the beach), girls getaways and families. Was surprised at how early things got quiet on the weekend. I think kids will love the pool beach, ice cream shop and game areas! Saw a couple beautiful banquet rooms too, one with a balcony area overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms should choose higher floors to see over the adjoining roof to the ocean. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Fl
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from spending a quick getaway at the Don Cesar. We live in Tampa ( about 40 minutes away) and my daughter was attending a party there on Saturday night so we decided to make a weekend of it.
I did think twice as the rates for just a random Novenber weekend were on the pricey side ( even with AAA discount) but decided to go for iit and I was not disappointed. First location is perfect...steps from the beautiful white sandy beach. Beach rentals make it easy to relax on the beach which this weekend was not at all crowded. Moving between the beach and the beautiful resort style pool is easy. There were multiple staff memebers at the pool eager to set you up with a lounge chair. A nice perk at all Loew's pools is the periodic poolside treat like a small cool smoothie or milk shake. There were also hourly activities that my 7 year old loved to partake in pool or beachside.

The hotle is gorgeous. Arrived at 1pm check in was a breeze and room ready to go.As common wiht older hotels rooms are small bu today's standards, but very well appointed and recently renovated and modernized. Robes are awesome quality and comfort.

Restaurantes and room service were all quite good.

This visit the thing which stood out the most was the staff. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everywhere we were staff members would come by, say hello and ask how we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do fo us...This happened everywhere...It really made you feel welcomed and pampered.

I truly can not wait to return to the Don Cesar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Don CeSar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Don CeSar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," the Loews Don CeSar Hotel, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Don CeSar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
Loews Don CeSar Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Don CeSar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.