We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and dirty with layers upon layers of paint but great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
1 review
“Smelly and dirty with layers upon layers of paint but great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I lowered my expectations based on reviews I had read prior to visiting so I wasn't too surprised by what we saw. Rust on all door hinges, musty smell in room, leaky air conditioning in hallway (dripped on my head), bed was dreadful but I suppose some may consider it to be okay. I definitely would never stay there again nor would I recommend it to others. The saving grace was the view and proximity to the beach. That part was great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    158
    99
    57
    86
See reviews for
142
112
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Dolphin for a week in an ocean front room. The rooms are perfect for a family with microwave and refrigerator, large flat screen tv, comfortable beds, and direct access to the beautiful beach. Everything was in great and like new condition. The pool has plenty of shade and seating and is well maintained. The pool bar is an excellent and convenient place for drinks and lunch or dinner. I think we ate there everyday because we did not want to leave! The indoor restaurant is also excellent, especially for breakfast. We swam in the ocean often as well and the water was amazing. All of the staff was very accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone, but especially a family, who wants an affordable and relaxing beach location.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice overall no major complaints just little things not worth mentioning,nice walk to beach,rooms are not bad at all,they have fridges and microwaves,3rd time staying there,parking little cramp when hotel is full but not bad will stay again Definetly

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice and clean spacious rooms. Even though the hotel is right on Gulf Blvd, we didn't hear the traffic noise on the South-facing rooms. Very nice staff and great bar to catch a nice sunset.
Some people expect more for the price, but we've stayed a couple of time here and always has been great

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed at Dolphin Beach for 9 days in July, and, once again, we loved it! We had decided ahead of time to try somewhere different, but, after driving down Gulf Blvd. from Indian Rocks to St. Pete Beach, we turned right in to the same place we stayed at in 2011. After stopping at the tourism office and seeing Charlie again, we had an idea of the price and even a coupon for Dolphin Beach, and we were not disappointed. We had read several negative reviews of this resort prior to going back, but we saw improvements from the first time we stayed there. Is it a 5 star resort with lots of amenities? No, but we had everything we wanted- a clean room with friendly and accommodating maid service, a maintenance team that took care of an issue within a few minutes notice, a front desk staff and their manager who were very generous to us when the problem occurred in our room, a clean pool with attendants maintaining it daily, visible security in the evenings, a restaurant and beach bar and grill available for our convenience, but most importantly to us, a BEAUTIFUL, CLEAN beach with many things available if you choose. That's what we were there for and it did not disappoint and neither did Dolphin Beach Resort! We even had dolphins swim within a foot of us on one occasion and saw them daily in the water as we swam and from our room as we ate breakfast and lunch! What more could we have asked for? It was the vacation we were needing and felt like we deserved. It was a quiet, restful stay at Dolphin Beach. It is a family hotel, and even though we were there by ourselves, we definitely enjoyed it and would definitely go back. In fact, we stayed an extra day because we didn't want to leave. Thanks to the entire staff for making our stay a wonderful vacation! Just an added note about its convenience to many restaurants and stores. Publix, CVS, Dollar Tree are in a shopping center across the street, as well as Buonas Pizza. Do yourself a favor and try the best pizza ever! It was recommended to us by the Dolphin Beach staff the first time and I think it was even better than before. Some other favorite local restaurants are Crabby Bill's(get there in time to eat on the outside deck and watch sunset), Dockside Dave's( our personal favorite for dinner), Sea Critters in Pass-a-grille, and for breakfast, Beverly's. These will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBeachResort, Owner at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Dolphin again! We also appreciate you taking note of some of our renovations, notably the lobby, the bedding, and the carpet. Last but not least, it seems you have a pretty good handle for the beach as Dockside Dave's and Buona Pizza are two of my favorites as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The hotel rooms themselves were not so great however the location and family atmosphere outweighs any imperfections. The sunsets on the beach are absolutely beautiful. Also, crab hunting at night was a blast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel walked the line between really nice and kinda run down in a very odd way. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the rates were low. Best of all, it's directly on the beach, what more do you need. They also have very reasonably priced room service. I just wish they had a hot tub!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort St Pete
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.