We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Takoma Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family Reunion!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We are trying to have a family reunion each year in the summer at St. Pete's Beach. The hotel we used last year (Miramar) wasn't available so we tried this. While the rooms were more modern and bigger, the rest of the facility was average. It is much larger so the crowds are big. You need to get out there early if you'd like one of the Tiki huts for shade, there are only four. The pool was dominated by small children, very warm, and the chemicals seemed off -- maybe too many people. It was tough getting our rooms made up each day, they were slow and didn't replenish paper products quickly. On the plus side, they had a nice restaurant, that was inexpensive, good wait staff, and lots of room. We ate there for breakfast and dinner and found it quite good -- especially if you don't want to go anywhere. There wasn't anyplace outside where a large family gathering could bring food in and eat. We'll probably go back to Miramar next time.

Room Tip: We had a first floor patio with pool and gulf view. I liked that. Nice view, they did keep the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    165
    104
    57
    87
See reviews for
147
119
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is tired and run down, but with loads of potential..
We checked in and given our key- went to the room and it was not made up... This happened twice.
On the 3rd attempt we got a made up room over looking carpark- great advantage...loads of room.
We headed to the beach bar- really good but again in need of TLC. Pool was ok but never saw anyone checking PH levels or doing any cleaning. On the beach which was a bonus, free parking. Wifi was temperamental. No safety deposit boxes.Pool side bar food was I think brought in as we got in in plastic to go boxes with no real cutlery all plastic.
Hotel staff all pleasant - just don't expect too much with the decor..rooms spacious and ideally get a ground floor pool facing so you can step out to poolside or beach ...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. Beautiful large spacious room with heavenly pillows,super luxurious bed and European style duvet (comforter) I loved this hotel. Staff was super friendly and made me feel welcome. Hotel was smack dab on the most heavenly white sandy beach. I stayed from mon to Friday for some much needed relaxation and this hotel ticks all the boxes!!! I willl definetly be back!

Big bonus is its right across the stree from supermarket and drugstore where you can buy essentials and the hotel has a pretty large fridge and microwave

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet. No noise at all not even by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room and lobby needed serious updating and the ac vents needed to be cleaned. The ceiling and wall where the air vent was blowing was black and I'm glad we did not stay for more than 2 nights as my sinuses were being affected by the ac situation. It was nice to have a bar and restaurant although the food mediocre and it was closed by 9:30. For the most part the staff was very friendly especially the cabana rental guys. Loved the beach, location and the pool area was nice although the lounge chairs were bolted to the floor so you couldn't move into or out of the shade without moving to a different chair. I liked that we had a bottom floor room next to the pool however, you couldn't access your room from the pool unless you propped the door open. You had to walk through the hall and back down/up to get in from the interior. I wouldn't rate it as poor nor average, but somewhere in between.

Room Tip: Be sure to check your AC as soon as you check. Our friends had to change rooms and ours was dirty an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I've stay at this resort. I've stayed at several resorts in the Pinellas Beaches. I don't find any thing special about this one. I believe there are better places on the Pinellas Beaches. I know because I've stayed in them. The service staff was very helpful and friendly. The prices were just OK. Again this place is nothing special. I can't recommend this location. I don't plan on retiring.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have spent hundreds of dollars and stayed at luxury hotels. Never would I have guessed the BEST service, most polite staff ( all the way around ) and the cleanest rooms would have been found at this resort ! It is A+ and gets a 100% satisfaction rating from this guest and his family !
The room was spotless. The staff, all the way from the front desk,the excellent restaurant staff, housekeepers and maintenance were the most cordial I have ever encountered. Gracious and appreciative for you being a guest . They bend over backwards to make your stay carefree and worry free. And did I mention POLITE ? Every staff member that sees you gives a big smile and a "Hello". The price is unbelievably reasonable.
Our room was spotless as were the grounds, the hallways and the pool. Instant access to the well groomed and clean beach.
I could go on for hours pointing out the positives of this establishment. Just really the greatest vacation we have ever had. We were only going to stay two nights but enjoyed the hotel so much we extended our stay. We will be back and the Dolphin Beach Resort is our new "home away from home" when we head to the beach ! A special thanks to Joe (front desk), Brenda ( waitress ) and Sarah (housekeeping) just to name a few.
Joseph Maniscalco

Room Tip: We had first floor as to be able to walk right to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff was nice but the room needed updating in the bathroom area. There were spaces in the ceiling tiles where bugs could get in and yes we had a large roach on the wall when we checked in. I didn't see any bugs after the initial one but it kind of took the wind out of my sail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinBeachResort, Owner at Dolphin Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are disappointed that we couldn't satisfy your vacation needs. While it's most likely not much consolation, we are planning bathroom renovations as we speak, as we too believe this is an area of deficiency in comparison to the rest of our guestrooms. We hope we can convince you to stay with us again after we finish renovations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort St Pete
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.