We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crawley Reds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Beach Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Crawley, West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Crawley Reds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We loved this hotel. Staff really friendly and always very helpful. Lovely pool, right on the beach and handy for supermarket & other shopping. Restaurants close by. It provided all that we needed and expected for a 3 star and we'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking the pool or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    168
    104
    57
    88
See reviews for
149
119
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Overall the hotel is decent enough. Just stayed one night but the room was adequate, not perfect but it was clean. The bathroom could do with updating and things repaired correctly rather than just painted over. The pool area was very nice with a tiki bar and adjacent restaurant (didn't use). It's right on the beach so that was very handy and surrounded by many bars and other restaurants.

HOWEVER, if I had been a drop in enquiry I would have ran away - Larry on the front desk was just not pleasant - certainly not who I would choose to be greeting guests. The other front desk staff weren't much better. Staff overall were not too professional looking either at front desk or in the bar/restaurant area.

I would consider it again if there was nothing else available but won't be choosing to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had lunch outside at the Dolphin Beach Resort on St. Pete Beach Fl. Great atmosphere with the beach behind us and the pool beside us sitting under a tikki hut. It was a glorious sunny (hot) day and we didn't have a care in the world. That's how good this place made us feel. I highly recommend it if you want to impress your visitors to Florida Beaches.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was there to pay condolences to an old family friend. We chose The Dolphin because her daughter was married there 3 years ago. My friend made the reservations before she passed away. Sadly, only her ashes made the trip.

When I made my reservation I told them I would be arriving with a service dog. I made sure they knew this ahead of my arrival. When we checked in there was no mention of a designated dog walking area. The Dolphin is right on Gulf Blvd; a main thoroughfare and the only grass we saw was by the pool so that's where I walked my dog. I ALWAYS clean up after my dog.

The first night we were there, after the front desk shift change, I was walking back to my room with my dog when my dog started to alert. There was a male staff member chasing me down the hall yelling at me, saying the resort had a no pet policy. My dog had her vest on and was clearly marked as a service dog. I responded to him by telling him she was a service dog. Then he wanted to know if I had informed the front desk at check-in and he wanted to know my room number.

I was trying to get away from him as quickly as possible. Just because he was dressed in a staff shirt didn't necessarily make him one. I'm a disabled Veteran with PTSD and I don't trust strangers, especially men. That's one of the reasons I have a service dog.

The next morning while I was walking the dog in the grass by the pool, the front desk called my room and told my wife that they had received complaints from other guests and told her I could no longer walk my dog by the pool. She asked where we were supposed to walk her and they directed us to another area on the opposite side of the Resort.

I posted what happened on Facebook and our friends quickly got involved. They reported the incident to the area Representative, the St Pete Pride Committee, the St Pete Chamber of Commerce but I stopped them from calling local media. Even my service dog school got involved. The Resort said they would post signs for a designated dog walk area but that never happened and we were there for five days. They also did not call me to tell me where the designated area was. I had to find it on my own. An apology would have been nice for the way the night staff treated me but I didn't get that either.

The room cost us almost $100 each night. We all could've gotten much nicer rooms elsewhere for that price but we were locked in because that's where Julie wanted her ashes scattered.

You can bet we won't stay there again. It's just not worth the money or the way I was treated and humiliated.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Yes, this hotel is only a few yards from the beach, fantastic. But, the pool closes at dusk. Every hotel I've ever stayed at the pool is open until at LEAST 10. The pool was also pretty crowded because it's so small. The decor was tacky and distasteful, and our room smelled damp. The cleaning people didn't even show up til 4 pm. We were told we would have a beach front room, and out our window we see parking lot. The bets are HARD and the linens are so scratchy. I just don't have many good things to say about this hotel. Wish I would of read the reviews before booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were looking for a cheap place to spend 24 hours on the beach. This was the perfect place! The rooms are outdated, but who cares? You are just sleeping there. The lobby and halls also have terrible decor, but........did you see those beach pictures!!?? That is what we went there for. The beach and the pool and both are exceptional at this hotel. The beach is beautiful and the pool was clean and very warm. I love that the chairs are secured, as not to have people dragging them to the beach. We did eat lunch at the Tiki Bar and the food was delicious and affordable. If I were staying for a week, I may not stay in this hotel because I do prefer luxury, but for a quick stop in St. Pete to enjoy the ocean, this was a perfect match!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I don't want to be a totally negative person so I will start this review by saying the pool, courtyard and outside bars are lovely and you can catch beautiful sunsets here. Now the gross part, we stayed here on 06/17/12, and thankfully only the one night becuase the rooms are filthy! The carpets and furniture are stained, the bathroom was so dirty and gross, there was someone elses hair on the soap holder in the shower and be sure to check out the picture for the lovely thing growing on the outside of the tub! When you turned on the water in the shower, more water continued to run out of the faucet than the shower head.

My in-laws were in the adjoining room to ours and they ended up getting a new room because theirs smelled like a dirty diaper, even after asking 2 times for someone to get up there and try to fix the smell. We are going to make a family tradition of spending the father's day weekend on St. Pete Beach but it certainly won't be at this place! YUCK!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Resort St Pete
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.