We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good...a little bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mostly good...a little bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2005

We stayed at the Alden for a week (Feb. 13-20/05). There were five of us:Mom and Dad and three young women (2 daughters and a friend) ages 17-19. We stayed in a Lanai suite, gulf front with a good-sized balcony. The room was a little smaller than we thought it would be, but not a trip ruiner. Strongly recommend gulf front. Sunsets are beautiful.

Check-in was quick and hassle-free. Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Cleaning was a little iffy. A couple of days we returned to our room to find chip crumbs, etc. still on the floor and hairs in the sink. Our first morning, our daughter and her friend found a pair of underwear in the hide-a-bed. I took them to the office staff who were very apologetic and changed the sheets right away.

Three of the six dresser drawers were stuck and difficult to open. The front came off one of them the day we checked out. These were minor problems in that we were seldom in the room...too much beach and sun and golfing and parasailing, etc. to do.

The two pools are a good size and nicely heated, with lots of lounge chairs. We found the hot tub on the BBQ deck to be dirtier than the garden one.

Cabana bar was fun and the resort gave us a couple of buy-one-get-one coupons. Beer was cold and scenery was great. Bartender was delightful. The beach is great, with white sand and gentle breezes. Two of us actually went into the gulf our first day there, which garnered some strange looks as the weather had been cool and so was the water. To us crazy Canucks from the Great White North it was lukewarm.

The resort is within walking distance of lots of restaurants, stores, etc., but so is every other place on St. Pete beach. Be careful crossing Gulf Boulevard as it's 4 lanes and traffic lights/crosswalks are a ways apart.

Overall, the resort was above-average, and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    354
    109
    47
    41
See reviews for
350
227
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2005

We stayed at the Alden last October (yes, I know, why during hurricane season!) and absolutely loved it. The staff was wonderful-so friendly and helpful. The pools were great and my kids (8 and 10) loved the shuffleboard. Great being able to walk right out to beach and so many good restaurants close by. We stayed in the Bermuda suite-the kids slept on the sofa sleeper. When we first got there I was a little disappointed in the room-not exactly what I had expected but it turned out fine-how much are you actually in the room? Kitchen saved us so much $-we did breakfast and lunch in the room and ate out most dinners, although we did use the cookout deck twice-that is one of their best features. I also loved the chairs and table outside each room. We were two doors down from the pool and I would sit in front of the room and read and still be able to watch the kids.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2005

We stayed in a 2 room suite, excellent view of the gulf. The check in process was painless - with the exception of them giving me keys to a room already occupied - this was quickly taken care of. Nice decor, comfortable beds - clean. It's reasonable and nice. Close walking to other beach bars, restaurants etc. I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence, ks
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

we just returned from here and we went with worry about what we would really find...we were so pleased..we took grandughter and friend...we had a suite in the lanai bldg. and although it is not really big it was nicely furnished and very clean...we faced the ocean and the pool and hot tub were very clean and nice...the white sand was great...the staff were so friendly..we highly recommend ALDEN to anyone..there was an excellent restaurant across the street and the girls loved bongos just a few steps away...it was a nice mixture of ages as well...no loud noises..slept with the patio doors open..could hear the ocean....go and enjoy..

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2005

We stayed 5 days in Jan '05. Two adults two small children. As long as you know that this is St. Pete Beach and it's a beach hotel, you will enjoy it. For 140 a night you could probably get a room at a Hyatt. This hotel is 35 for the room and 105 for the location.
It was clean, great location, friendly, affordable restaurants close by, kitchen to keep things for a meal or two daily. Plenty of room for 4 people. Everyone staying there seemed to be happy.
We stayed right next door last year at Tradewinds or Sandpiper and it was disgustingly dirty. If you don't need a living room/kitchen stay at Dolphin Beach .69 miles down the way. Don Cesar did not look worth $340/night.
For a much nicer, cleaner, newer location...choose Sheratin Sand Key 15-20 miles up the way near Clearwater. It was the same cost but much newer. Everything in St. Pete Beach is very old.
If you need to watch local ball games, college sports etc., Ferg's Sports Bar carries them all.

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

We spent 4 days at the Alden (Jan. 20-24, 05) and had a great time! The rooms were all clean and very updated. We choose the Caymen room because it had a gulf view with a balcony. The balcony has two chairs and a lounge. The Alden has two hot tubs and two pools which are very nice. One of the hot tub decks has gas grills. The beach is very nice at this location. Try Caddys for lunch or dinner it is right on the beach. We had a great lunch at the Mangrove Grill also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2005

Stayed at the Alden for 3 nights 1/18/05 - 1/20/05. What a beautiful and serene place. Our first thought was wow !!! Right on the ocean. We were on the second floor with an ocean view (ocean view is a must). The sunsets we watched were well worth the little bit extra that they charge for the ocean view. Be weary of the balcony sizes, some are very, very, very small.

The pools were clean, warm and well maintained, as were the two hot tubs. The beach was perfect. The cabana bar was very quiet (just the way we like it) and they also supply gas B-B-Q grills for everyone to use (which we did). The staff was beyond helpful and very friendly.

Print off coupons for the Alden at roomsavers and although the coupons aren't for the ocean view rooms they are willing to wheel and deal with you.

The only thing we'd do different next time is go up to the 5th or 6th floor and stay for the whole week instead of a couple of days.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.