We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a friendly nice place to stay with clean and well maintained rooms. The coffee and news papers in the lobby are a nice touch. The hotel wifi is expensive at $50.00 and slow compared to many of the other hotels with free wifi. Compared to many of the other places on St Pete beach this one is one of the best for the money. Cali and Chris at the out door bar (where I spent a lot of time), are the best. The hot dog stand next to the bar isn't great and you can do much better at a few other places on the beach for a snack. We stayed in a beach front suite that was quiet and had a beautiful view of the sun set every night. We have stay in several places on the beach in this area and have found this place to stand out as the best for the money, many of the other places try hard to nickle and dime for the simplest request

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to compose this nice review. We pride ourselves on NOT "nickel and diming" our guests with resort fees. One correction and explanation: Our WIFI is $9.95 per day and $50 for a week...However, that fee will go away by late April of this year, as soon as our third party contract expires.

We offer FREE:

1) Parking
2) Daily newspaper (even Sunday)
3) Coffee and fresh fruit in the lobby
4) All recreational facilities

The hot dog stand mentioned is a "test" that just opened about one week ago. We may explore other food options at the bar in the near future.

Thanks again for commenting on the great "price / value" of Alden Suites, where you get a SUITE for the price of a room!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    354
    109
    47
    41
See reviews for
350
227
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Where should I start... It is the perfect place to stay. Great location on the Gulf, beautiful grounds. I found this resort on line so I was unsure checking into a Hotel I had never seen before. Very fussy on where I stay. I have no complaint's. My room was the best,great view of the Gulf, very roomy, very clean, comfortable beds, Kitchen had everything needed to cook & eat (except the food.). There is a grocery store within walking distance. Must also eat at Snappers Bar and Grill across the street. Two thumbs up. Alden staff was kind and helpful. Cabana Bar was a delight, located right on the beach. Lounge chairs to rent on the beach. I am already planning on another trip back to the Alden. Highly recommend if staying on the Gulf in St Petersburg. They have something to entertain any age, lots to do or just lay on the beach. Oh and watching the sunset from the Cabana Bar while having a drink was absolutely wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Tremendous review! Thank you very much, hope to see you soon

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow
President and part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

the suite we had was over looking the ocean and was clean and comfortable. the hotel was close to great restaurants and bars. the staff was very friendly and they had cofee and fruit in the lobby every day.they had music in the cabana bar that was very enjoyable.our only concern was little bugs in the room which was room 232.also we were promised 100.00worth of food and received only 50.00 worth. we were there from 01 25 13 to 02 02 13.

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My fiancée and I enjoyed a very nice 3-night stay at the Alden Suites Resort Hotel. Although the room was a bit old, it was maintained in nice condition and we felt very comfortable and relaxed. The closeness to the beach was convenient and the two pools provided an alternative to the beach. Some of the front desk personnel were exceedingly helpful in finding neighboring restaurants. We also enjoyed walking to the nearby shops on the main drag. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would like to return some day.

Room Tip: Some of the less expensive rooms are still not far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Took our family of 4 to St.Pete Beach for a beach vacation. The good: The hotel is in a great location, has wonderful views of the Gulf from some of the rooms. The staff was very friendly. The cabana bar has a good view of the Gulf for sunsets. Free parking.

The not so good: This website and others point out that the hotel has 2 of everything. Unfortunately, they failed to mention that the larger of the 2 spas was under construction in the courtyard, which could be seen and heard from most of the rooms not facing the Gulf. The laundry room, which is next to the shallower, more kid friendly pool, was also under construction and could be seen and heard from the pool area and the small functioning hot tub. That job was completed during our stay, so the laundry has a new floor for your enjoyment.lol. The Beach cannot be seen from either pool. The rooms, although clean, are dated and show some signs of wear. There is a charge for in-room wifi but you can connect to an open network from adjacent resorts from the pool areas and beach. The beach chairs and cabanas are rented by a vendor not associated with the hotel. Their employees are NOT friendly. They are quick to chase you off the chairs if you are not renting them, which includes propping up the sun shade and supplying the tattered cushions, even if only 3 or 4 of the several dozen of them are in use.

I'm sure a few months from now a stay should be much nicer when the upgrades are complete, but a call to the resort you are looking at might be a good idea. We might have booked elsewhere if we had known about them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First let me say if your wanting beach modern built hotel, this isn't it. The property has been there for some time. Think of it as personality.
Which is something their AWESOME staff has! I really can't say enough about every aspect of our recent visit (Family of 5).
From the front desk staff at check in, and throughout our visit, to the rooms size, and the 50 feet walk down to the beach this was a terrific experience!
Housekeeping is attentive without being intrusive, the staff in all aspects was super friendly and extremely helpful (Even when I had an issue with my car, there was a staff member to give me a hand). The Cabana Bar staff is fantastic (Ask Cali for her excellent "mistake" drink. ), the lounge chairs are extremely reasonable on the beach (Not owned by the hotel, but definitely not at all a gouge), the little store was surprisingly reasonable for soda and snack type drinks.
While the hotel doesn't have it's own eatery, the staff is on the ball with several suggestions depending on what your in the mood for that are all a 5 minute walk away.
VERY child friendly, and imagine this (TAKE NOTE LARGE HOTEL CHAINS)....PARKING IS INCLUDED in your room rental.
Overall, I had one of the best stay's I've had anywhere in a number of years. A fantastic place to bring a loved one, or the whole family! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bigger families definitely want to choose the double queen option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Wow! What a fantastic review!

I could not have said it any better, and it makes me proud of our hotel and exceptional staff.

Just like Avis (if you're old enough to remember their old slogan) "We Try Harder"...

Thanks for taking the time to compose such a flattering review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been staying at the Alden Beach Resort annually for many years. All the accommodations are suites offering varying layouts and proximity to the beach. The staff has always been incredibly helpful whether the request relates to vacation plans, housekeeping or resolving a maintenance problem in our suite. New additions including free access to a computer and printer, a recently enlarged hot tub or refurbished laundry room are appreciated. The two heated pools are at the heart of the resort. Our favorite features of the Alden, however, are the lounge chairs on the grassy area over-looking the wide gulf beach. The vision for our Florida vacation is walking for miles on the beach and then sitting on the loungers reading or just watching the sun glitter off the gulf waters. The Alden effectively provides for all our needs.

Stan Shaw
Connecticut

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I sometimes take for granted what a beautiful beach we have (Trip Advisor ranked St. Pete Beach as the NUMBER 1 beach the U.S.A)

We are happy that you enjoyed all our amenities (with more to come!)

Thanks for the kind comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.