We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in St. Pete Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Save Saved
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Gulf front Suite
Ranked #15 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Mahwah, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay in St. Pete Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My fiancée and I enjoyed a very nice 3-night stay at the Alden Suites Resort Hotel. Although the room was a bit old, it was maintained in nice condition and we felt very comfortable and relaxed. The closeness to the beach was convenient and the two pools provided an alternative to the beach. Some of the front desk personnel were exceedingly helpful in finding neighboring restaurants. We also enjoyed walking to the nearby shops on the main drag. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and would like to return some day.

Room Tip: Some of the less expensive rooms are still not far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    302
    86
    40
    34
See reviews for
294
182
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Took our family of 4 to St.Pete Beach for a beach vacation. The good: The hotel is in a great location, has wonderful views of the Gulf from some of the rooms. The staff was very friendly. The cabana bar has a good view of the Gulf for sunsets. Free parking.

The not so good: This website and others point out that the hotel has 2 of everything. Unfortunately, they failed to mention that the larger of the 2 spas was under construction in the courtyard, which could be seen and heard from most of the rooms not facing the Gulf. The laundry room, which is next to the shallower, more kid friendly pool, was also under construction and could be seen and heard from the pool area and the small functioning hot tub. That job was completed during our stay, so the laundry has a new floor for your enjoyment.lol. The Beach cannot be seen from either pool. The rooms, although clean, are dated and show some signs of wear. There is a charge for in-room wifi but you can connect to an open network from adjacent resorts from the pool areas and beach. The beach chairs and cabanas are rented by a vendor not associated with the hotel. Their employees are NOT friendly. They are quick to chase you off the chairs if you are not renting them, which includes propping up the sun shade and supplying the tattered cushions, even if only 3 or 4 of the several dozen of them are in use.

I'm sure a few months from now a stay should be much nicer when the upgrades are complete, but a call to the resort you are looking at might be a good idea. We might have booked elsewhere if we had known about them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

First let me say if your wanting beach modern built hotel, this isn't it. The property has been there for some time. Think of it as personality.
Which is something their AWESOME staff has! I really can't say enough about every aspect of our recent visit (Family of 5).
From the front desk staff at check in, and throughout our visit, to the rooms size, and the 50 feet walk down to the beach this was a terrific experience!
Housekeeping is attentive without being intrusive, the staff in all aspects was super friendly and extremely helpful (Even when I had an issue with my car, there was a staff member to give me a hand). The Cabana Bar staff is fantastic (Ask Cali for her excellent "mistake" drink. ), the lounge chairs are extremely reasonable on the beach (Not owned by the hotel, but definitely not at all a gouge), the little store was surprisingly reasonable for soda and snack type drinks.
While the hotel doesn't have it's own eatery, the staff is on the ball with several suggestions depending on what your in the mood for that are all a 5 minute walk away.
VERY child friendly, and imagine this (TAKE NOTE LARGE HOTEL CHAINS)....PARKING IS INCLUDED in your room rental.
Overall, I had one of the best stay's I've had anywhere in a number of years. A fantastic place to bring a loved one, or the whole family! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Bigger families definitely want to choose the double queen option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Wow! What a fantastic review!

I could not have said it any better, and it makes me proud of our hotel and exceptional staff.

Just like Avis (if you're old enough to remember their old slogan) "We Try Harder"...

Thanks for taking the time to compose such a flattering review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been staying at the Alden Beach Resort annually for many years. All the accommodations are suites offering varying layouts and proximity to the beach. The staff has always been incredibly helpful whether the request relates to vacation plans, housekeeping or resolving a maintenance problem in our suite. New additions including free access to a computer and printer, a recently enlarged hot tub or refurbished laundry room are appreciated. The two heated pools are at the heart of the resort. Our favorite features of the Alden, however, are the lounge chairs on the grassy area over-looking the wide gulf beach. The vision for our Florida vacation is walking for miles on the beach and then sitting on the loungers reading or just watching the sun glitter off the gulf waters. The Alden effectively provides for all our needs.

Stan Shaw
Connecticut

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I sometimes take for granted what a beautiful beach we have (Trip Advisor ranked St. Pete Beach as the NUMBER 1 beach the U.S.A)

We are happy that you enjoyed all our amenities (with more to come!)

Thanks for the kind comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First, I would say that I was a resident of Pinellas County for over 30 years and came back to visit over the holidays. We arrived on Christmas night after flying the entire day. The guy who checked us in was very nice and helpful. He gave us our room keys and we were on our way. Yes, this property is dated. However, it is clean and in a great location and staff is friendly. We travel with our 5 pound yorkie so this makes it a perfect place for us. The rooms for pets are on the lower level pool side. With great lush grass right outside your door. It is very convenient. We were also very happy that the room had an oven because we arrived on Christmas nothing was open but 7eleven where we picked up a frozen pizza. This property is undergoing renovation as they are installing a 15 person hot tub which will be beautiful when it is done. The laundry was convenient and worked great, the front desk gave us quarters. There is also a little store where you can get snacks and drinks. The parking here is also free and no resort fees. It is next to another large hotel that charges for both of these things. I am looking for comfortable and clean not a five star hotel as the rates are reasonable at this hotel. The one thing that I would say that I didn't like is that the hotel maids start early and the carts rolling around are loud and they are loud as well. They may forget that people are sleeping while they are working. Also, place your do not disturb sign on your door and don't forget to take it off if you want your room serviced. As we did this, we went to the front desk and they came right over to service our room. The other thing is there is a restaurant next door called the Toasted Monkey and they have some really good food. The shrimp wrap was great and my husband loved the fish sandwich. They have a tiki bar in the back that is nice too. Overall, I would make this a destination for myself and my family the next time I travel home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Very thoughtful review, thanks!

We are proud to say that we are one of the few beach hotels that offers FREE parking and no RESORT FEES...up to $25 per day at other local hotels

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over the Xmas period for 19 nights and I must say it is very difficult to rate. It is "dated" as has already been stated and there does not seem to be any continuity with the facilities in the rooms i.e. You could get a full size oven and a small fridge and no dishwasher or an oven, large fridge/freezer and dishwasher or it appears any mix of the afore said !!
We were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to a "De-Luxe Sea facing room" but the only thing "De-Luxe" about it was the view and as we were on the 4th floor the AC units on the roof directly above our heads were so noisy sleep was not an option.
This said after complaining and a meeting with one of the Directors we were offered a larger, more modern facility but lacking the sea views we had actually paid for. We were ably assisted by Chuck for the transfer.Much appreciated.
We had a great cleaner and can certainly not complain about cleanliness and the number of towels available was amazing.
The gardens are really lovely and the two pools but the new hot tub did not get finished in time for our stay there.
We met people who have spent Xmas at the Alden for many, many years so it's obviously not that bad.
The plus side was also some lovely staff and some very cheeky squirrels that amused us every day for a monkey nut reward, shame one of them peed on our backgammon set to get some attention :-)
Would we stay again??? only if we could be sure of the standard of room as I hate "Russian Roulette"; though we did hear that rooms are getting refurbished all the time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for the comments, and yes, because we have 8 different suite types and configurations, it can be a bit confusing to guests who have not stayed with us before. However, all suites have been renovated within the last several years and all have fully equipped kitchens...some smaller appliances in some suites, based on the relative size of the kitchen.

I had never heard a complaint about the roof top AC units being "noisy"...we will check on the unit above the suite you occupied....

Thanks again for the comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I really liked the Alden! The welcome was friendly and we had a gulf front room as requested. At The Alden, Gulf front rooms are right on the beach, which is not always the case on St Pete. The beach bar is great and barman Chris was excellent! - funny, friendly and helpful with advice about local attractions. There was NO noise after about 10.00 (and hardly any before that actually apart from people enjoying themselves on holiday - not a problem at all). The room was comfortable and very clean and serviced well each day (beach towells available in the room). We returned to St Pete Beach for the last three nights of our holiday after touring Venice and Sanibel Island and the only reason we didn't come back to the Alden was because it was full! Not really surprising as this place is great value and a really good choice if you are coming to St Pete!

Room Tip: Gulf front is right on the beach and the balconies are big enough to sit comfortably and enjoy the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments, we appreciate it!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.