We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Staff was good, room space good but, as other reviews have stated, place is dated. Decor not matching and TVs are older tube-type lacking vibrant color. Kitchenette serves purpose but short on dishes and had no utility knife. Many reviews list this as kid friendly so I must not know what that means. While a basketball was available at the desk, I expected some buckets and shovels for the beach, etc. Bar across street kept us awake. First time to this area and it appeared the Alden was like most of the hotels along here. You go for the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    353
    109
    47
    41
See reviews for
350
227
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you decide to book this hotel don't hesitate and book gulfview !
Wifi has to be paid ! And you have to take your towel from the room to the beach...THE seats there costs 20 $ à day ...
Last year we stayed in another hotel with 4 stars, all was free so all together it costed the same.

Room Tip: Take à suite on the seaside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
The WIFI will be free to all our guests, starting in April 2013, when our third party contract expires. The beach cabanas do not belong to the Alden, so we have no say-so in what is charged for them. We provide extra beach towels in all suites. We do not charge a "resort fee" like many of the local hotels charge, up to $25 per day per room. Our parking is free, newspaper is free, all recreational amenities are free, coffee and fruit for free in the lobby, etc....

Thanks

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and the setting was absolutely stunning. Mark in the gift shop and everyone at the front desk were among the nicest people we ever met. The ivory beach is a pleasant walk through tropical courtyards with swimming pools and impressive stone work supporting small lagoons and waterfalls. The Gulf sunsets were outrageous. The tiki bar was perfect with dual fire pits on the beach. Many thanks and hopefully a return in due time.

Room Tip: Pick beach or poolside. Either one rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so pleased that you had such a nice time on our beautiful beach!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Alden beach resort the last week of October after spending 5 days at Disney. The resort was very clean and the people were more than helpful. The suite that we stayed in was large enough for the four of us to be in without being on top of each other. The kitchenette was adequate and well supplied. the bathroom was large and clean. The balcony was large enough that 4 could sit on it in the evening. They were working on a new hot tub while we were there but they were not noisy or messy. The two pools were well kept. There was 3 barbeques that were CLEAN and free to use. The parking is free but the internet is 10 dollars a day, but the service charges an extra 3 dollars to upgrade the speed to a normal speed. I have read about the internet contract and understand that this will be a thing of the past.

The only real issue that i had was that the matresses were passed their prime.

I would definitely book again with this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for the nice review, and YES, we will offer free internet, staring in April-May 2013 (waiting for the third party contract to expire)

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Alden Beach Resort 11/8/12-11/13/12, and have stayed there several times before. The price is great, for a hotel with a beachfront room (the Lanai), kitchenette, and small living room. Our balcony looked right on to the Gulf of Mexico, which was beautiful. And the pool water still is very warm (as I remembered before), which was so nice. The room was clean, and housekeeping did a great job cleaning up after us every day. But, I don't think the rooms have been renovated since the last time I stayed there, which was 8-10 years ago. The room had a dingy kind of smell, also. The bed was comfortable, but the bed cover looked very old, and I worried about bugs. The kitchen appliances were very outdated, but they worked well. And, the overall decor-from the carpeting to the curtains could use some updating. As there were 3 of us, I had the luxury of sleeping on the pull-out bed. I know these beds generally are not very comfortable, but the springs on this one were bulging and pitting throughout the entire mattress. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well most of the nights. There are no restaurants on site, but they do have a nice beach bar with great drinks and entertainment. You can go to resorts next door or across the street for meals (Skidders is great). You do have the convenience, though of having the kitchen, as well as gas barbeques outside. The resort also didn't provide a business center, which even on vacation, is convenient to have. So, I honestly have to rate this resort a 3/5. I gave it a 3 based on price and that it was a gulf front room, with excellent views. I would stay here again, but that would be a while, and I hope it has some renovations then. When they update the rooms and beds, and add a business center, this hotel will be given a 5/5.

Room Tip: I don't know if any of the rooms have been updated, so you may want to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to compose a review. We appreciate the positive comments. The "Lanai Suite" that you stayed in, was TOTALLY RENOVATED IN THE FALL OF 2011. Renovations included: New carpet, new drapes, 2 new thin screen TV's, new bedding, new linens, all new furniture and lighting, new artwork, all repainted interior, new sofa sleeper, and more! I don't understand why the reviewer seems to think the last renovation was "8-10 years ago" when it was leas than 12 months ago. The photos on our website were shot just 11 months ago, so please see www.aldenbeachresort.com

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

1980's style, but clean and freshly painted. Older but well enough cared for, decent beds. Balconies for most suites face the back of a tall hotel next door. If you make reservations after 7 PM, what they tell you does not match and can cost you. We were told that if we called back during the day, we would get the wedding block pricing - which they confirmed was available. When we called, the wedding block pricing (about 30% less) was not available. Also, we said we had a pet. We were told at the time of making reservations that it was a pet-friendly property and that we would be assigned a room that allowed pets. There was no mention of the additional pet fee costs. In short, the reservaton cost was twice what was discussed. The front desk discussion provided no options and was not too converned about the cost being so much more. Could have enjoyed other options with better facilities for the cost.

Room Tip: Some rooms are much larger; balcony views are often nothing enjoyable; can be noisy anywhere near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from our annual stay at the Alden, 9 stays so far, and will be back next year. The rooms have been recently renovated, Good news as they were beginning to look a bit dated and reception redecoration finished whilst we were there and looks lovely, ongoing with the construction of new, bigger, better hot tub, which should be finished next month, personally I missed the one they are replacing as I prefer it to the remaining tub but maybe that's just me. We stay in the bigger suites with balcony overlooking the pool, large, clean with all we need. Now on to the best bits that make us keep coming back.....the staff are fantastic, Alex on reception, what a lovely man, from cashing my daily travellers cheque to making sure grandson collected the daily newspaper always happy and helpful, Chuck remembering us every year catching up with family news, and Kitty not only remembering us but also what we drank, not sure what this says about us though, they can not be beaten, we have stayed in lots of places and front facing staff make all the difference and these are among the best, looking forward to seeing you all in 49 weeks and 5 days

Room Tip: Pool view suites are the largest, the gulf view have varying styles and sizes but smaller and more e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks very much for the nice review. The new "back to the walls" renovation of the lobby has come out beautiful, with new features, such as a "refreshment station" with fresh fruits, coffee, flavor infused water, and more. A new Computer / Printer / Workstation, new artwork, new everything! The new state of the art 12-person in-ground hot tub will be completed by mid December and will be outstanding...sorry that you missed on on the new hot tub...Most importantly, I sincerely appreciate the very kind comment about our staff (the best on the beach), and I will make sure to pass your comments onto them. They are so loyal and dedicated, and it shows!

Thanks again, and see you in 49 weeks!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.