We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Gulf front Suite
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here with family for 4 nights.
Pros: Nice beach view and beach, Nice pool,Bathroom appeared recently updated, Liked our housekeeper.
Cons: Was told by front desk that we would get a room away from the noise but, in fact, our balcony was right over the bar and the front of our room was right above the pool.The message light on our phones was flashing but there was no message. Was told someone would come up to reprogram the phones but they never came. Covered up the one in the bedroom with a towel so we could sleep.Never received a newspaper as advertised and on the one day I called for one, the desk clerk said they were at the front desk but he would try to find someone to bring one up. Back hurts from old saggy bed and the linens were threadbare. Upon checking my bank account after arriving home, saw that I had been charged $60.00 more than motel total. When I called, the lady said the charge was for "incidentals" and it would be taken off of my account in 2 to 3 days. This was out of the blue as there was no mention of this verbally or in the motel literature.
Won't stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    346
    105
    46
    40
See reviews for
343
216
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mokena
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. No housekeeping. Took our own garbage out. Bathrooms with mold and mildew around tubs . No lock on patio door. Very noisy with people who were not guests using the facilities. Never again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days for our vacation. Great place. We loved it for the location and price. The room was clean and spacious.....not out dated. The only 2 down falls we really had was: 1.)housekeeping did a great job keeping up with cleaning and restocking our towels but never changed the linens of our bed. So by the 2nd or 3rd night you felt sandy from the beach all over again. Next time we will be requesting new linens instead of trying to clean it every night ourselves. 2.) Our last night (Thursday night) in town we wanted to walk the beach and check out the night life scene. Almost every hotel had a lively scene going but when we decided to go back and hang at our bar a little after 10pm it was closed?!?! All and all though it was a nice place to stay. We would recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MFS0416
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here in May for a long weekend over Memorial Day. We got a great deal on our flight with Southwest Airlines and decided to "splurge" on a room! Awful! Don't do it! The pictures they post online are a lie. The room was just okay - nothing to write home about and certainly not worth $200 a night! I was afraid to walk barefoot in the room because the carpets didn't appear to be very clean. I noticed a dark piece of lint in the corner on the bathroom floor when we arrived on Wednesday - it was still there at checkout on Sunday.

There is a charge of $5.99 for one hour of wireless service. The little convenience store was a joke, my closet is bigger! Although I must say that the store clerk was very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

sorry Alden but you are just not up to scratch !!
We were checked in by very pleasant young man, then went to our 'suite'.
The room was dark and dingy. Beds were as soon as you walk through the door, living area afterwards.
the bedding looked cheap old and uninviting. there was a gap of at least an inch under the room door. pool view was the boiler room roof. pool small and crowded. not for us at all :(
Tennis courts looked good, lots of parking. location great on a beautiful beach.
We went to a newer hotel next door.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Everything was fine at the resort EXCEPT housekeeping. When we checked in our room, there was mold and mildew in the tub. The sheets had balls on them. I slept on the sofa because I could not sleep on such sheets! When housekeeping finally made it to our room around 4 each day they would leave 1 towel for a group of 5. EVERYDAY we had to walk to the office to get more towels. They NEVER cleaned the tub! It would have been a great place to stay for the price if the rooms would have been cleaned and if they had better sheets. The other staff was always willing and happy to help in anyway!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I booked this hotel on Orbitz. I called the hotel to check on the wording of "Run of the House" as was assured that it would be an excellent room. They told me that they could not match the Orbitz price so I hung up and booked the hotel right away. When I checked in and went to the room I noticed that we had what they called a "short porch" balcony. I called down to see if I could switch to a room with a balcony I could sit on. I was told that I could for an up charge. I thought that I had already booked a room with a sit on balcony so I didn't think that I should have to pay the up charge. The manager on duty, Chris, said that they needed the up charge because they were already losing money on our room. I had booked it below their usual price and they needed the up charge to offset their loss. I kept the room and decided that it wasn't going to spoil my vacation. Unfortunately it rained and we found out that our room had an added bonus of an indoor waterfall. The sliding door leaked into the room. Maintenance came right away but it wasn't a quick fix and they told us to just put a towel down.

The bed linens didn't have a very high thread count because they were rough and were covered with fabric pulls. It felt like some of the sand was stuck to the sheets. The two pools were nice but the hot tubs were dirty and had brown foam floating on top.

Aside from these negatives the hotel had an excellent location and the view of the ocean couldn't be beat. It had a ping pong table, beach volleyball, tennis courts, shuffleboard, corn hole, gas grills and a cabana bar. If they could have offered a restaurant and a live band for entertainment it would have been better. St Pete Beach is nice but for more night life Clearwater Beach or Maderia Beach with the John's Pass Boardwalk would be a better choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a balcony you can sit on. Otherwise, you won't be able to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.