We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We will be back!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My 13 year old son and I just got home from the Alden after a 10 day stay. It is such a great location on the ocean. We stayed in a bachelor type suite which was perfect for 2 people. We were on the main floor so we were steps away from the 2 pools, the hot tub, snack bar, cabana bar, the laundry room and the parking lot. I was worried about my son getting bored hanging out with me for 10 days but he met several kids that were his age so he had a lot of fun.
The fitness centre is off site but just a few blocks away. It was very nice with great equipment.
We will definitely be back to the Alden Beach Resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
I am so pleased to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and thanks for the kind review.

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    379
    123
    50
    45
See reviews for
382
258
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Huron
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for 7 days and had a newly updated room; it had a nice king size bed, a queen size pull out sofa; a kitchenette, with stove, large dorm size frigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, dishes, pans and silverware; all the comforts of home; daily newspaper; beautiful grounds and nicely placed on the beach; what a bargain for your dollar!!! Would gladly stay again and refer to family and friends.

Room Tip: We had a lower level room by the pool; nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Another great review of our great price value at Alden Suites:

1) Get a SUITE for the price of a room
2) Many amenities and family fun
3) The nicest quality beach in the country

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful little getaway at the Alden. We had a Gulf front suite with a great balcony and view. Spring Break was over so it wasn't too crowded. Very relaxing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Everything you need within walking distance. You can get a day-pass for the local shuttle for $4.50. Resort is a little dated, but everything is down there. I wouldn't want them to tear it down and re-build just to be 'newer'. No complaints about the room. Weather was perfect

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful time(we just got back). Some people say you need a certain room to enjoy your stay but really how much time do you spend in your room when your on vacation.If you want to see the most beautiful sunset walk out by the cabana bar or the beach,you will have a great view.Met a lot of nice people that have been coming back here for yrs.The staff was their to help your every need and were very friendly.Were already planning our trip for next year and were bringing our 3 grandkids,daughter and son in-law.Thanks again for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: I'm sure if you come during spring break it can get pretty noisy(we came right after) but we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have just returned from a family trip to St Pete Beach and also from visiting the Alden again after ten years. I'm pleased to report we were very impressed. We love St Pete beach and have been coming here for years.We've stayed at various properties over the past few years (Tradewinds Resort, Don Cesar Beach Suites) but decided to re-visit the Alden again. The rooms are great for a beach based holiday. We had a beach front Cayman suite on the fourth floor of Building 1 which was perfect for our needs. The kitchen area is quite small but well equipped with a microwave and large fridge.
The suites have twin queen beds and a sofa bed in the main living room. The balcony is large enough a two chairs and have splendid views.
There are two pools, a launderette and a cabana beach bar. There are also tennis courts, table tennis and other games for everyone to keep you active when not sunbathing.
Restaurants are plentiful and relatively inexpensive and one evening we had a a meal delivered to our room. We went to the Blue Fugu, Japanese Hibachi restaurant in the Dolphin shopping area (near Publix) which I recommend as the food and service were great.
The beach cabanas cost $20 per day and after one day we did as many other families and went to Publix to buy an umbrella and beach chairs for about the same price ...but of course these lasted us the rest of the trip and we then left them to another family on our departure.
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and the grounds very well maintained. There is a small shop on site for essentials otherwise Publix is about 1/2 mile down the road. Parking was relatively easy unless you wanted covered parking which was obviously very popular.
The Alden is not luxurious but as mentioned earlier, perfect for a beach holiday. Compared to the Don Cesar Beach suites I think it is a better equipped and better value. It was clean and well maintained so we will return.

Room Tip: Choose Cayman or Lanai for beach front views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments, I sincerely appreciate the positive notes about our "price / value" as compared to other local St. Pete Beach hotels. We pride ourselves on top notch service, coupled with a vast array of recreational and other amenities.

Thanks again!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Perfect Location...

We recently spent 10 days at the Alden and we were very pleased with our stay.

PROS: Stayed in a Cayman Suite – you pay a bit more but well worth it. Gulf front balcony was the perfect place to sit and enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink. We were on the 5th floor and had an amazing view. This resort is located directly on the beach and is close to everything – restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy, etc. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Beach Bar is a great spot to spend some time and meet folks from all over. Rooms were a bit dated but clean – housekeeping brings clean towels, etc, every day. Barbeque area very nice – we never had to wait to get a barbeque. Plenty of parking space. Laundry facilities on site.
CONS: No Free Wi-Fi. No ovens in rooms.

We will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was our third trip to St. Pete Beach and our second stay at the Alden. The suites are nicely decorated and very convenient when staying a week. The beach is beautiful and the hotel is located very conveniently for restaurants within walking distance. The tennis courts and basketball court were all in very good shape. Parking is free here, but wifi internet is not. It costs $50 for a week or $29 for three days. Room cleaning ran late several days (after 5 PM) and our room wasn't ready at 4:00 as promised, although they did compensate with a $10 gift card which was quite nice. All in all, a great visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.