We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older But Nice For Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Older But Nice For Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is your classic Florida beach hotel. Its not sexy/new, but for a family of 4, we really enjoyed it. Actually stayed at a higher rated one down the street for 2 more nights and like the Alden better for our family. Two teen boys, the beach is wide white sand, really nice, hotel has a basketball court, tennis courts, shuffle board, corn hole pit, and our kids kit them all. Room was older, not fancy, but clean, front room and waterfront room with terrace, decent size bathroom in middle with efficiency kitchen. Can walk to restaurants (Skidders had a great breakfast).
St. Pete beach is one of the widest and best in Florida, really liked it. We upgraded for waterfront 4th floor and it was worth it if you like to read the paper on terrace, etc. Just depends on your taste, we sometimes stay 5 star, sometimes just want a casual spot in a good location and don't mind an older hotel in that mode.

Room Tip: Go for the waterfront and upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    353
    109
    47
    41
See reviews for
350
227
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 3/20 and had a beach front suite. It was large and as advertised, but years of people coming and going have left it run down. The property outside was great, plenty of chairs and areas to sit. Beach was only steps away and enjoyed our stay. On site store was fair priced for needed items.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

From Feb 6 to Feb 10, 2012, we stayed in a Cayman Suite in Building 1 on Floor 5 and it was wonderful - spacious and clean. We loved it. Our maid cleaned our room each day round 11 or noon and we had no complaints. We liked having the kitchen/living room/dining room and balcony separate from the sleeping room. The views from this suite were gorgeous - perfect sunsets. We enjoyed walking the beach. There are many restaurants to choose from in this area. Walgreen's is close by - we went there 3 times for various items. McDonald's is also not too far away and they have free wifi there. We enjoyed having flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and living room. The refrigerator, stove, sink, microwave were all up-to-date as were all of the furnishings.

We also had a great time at Fort DeSoto State park and beach. We called ahead to a Segway guy (advertises in the local coupon booklet available at the hotel) and he met us out at the park and taught us to use the Segway then took us on trip around the park for an hour. It was fantastic. Best $45 (per person) we ever spent. Anyone can operate the Segway -- please try this at Fort DeSoto. There is a terrific beach and fishing pier at the Fort, also.

The best place to view manatees from Dec to March is the TECO electric plant south of Tampa at Apollo Beach. We were stunned at how close we were to the wild manatees (and snook and tarpon).

The Dali Museum in downtown St. Petersburg (on the water) is a gorgeous art museum with lots of Dali works. You will be stunned by its architectural design and bowled over by all of the Dali works of art from periods throughout his life.

We really enjoyed our first trip to St. Pete Beach and hope to return there next year and stay at Alden Beach Resort. It is worth the extra money per day to get the Gulf Front Suite in Building 1. You will not be wasting your money - it was well worth it. We ended paying $50 extra per day. We are not rich people either - just average midwesterners who want to enjoy a nice vacation.

Room Tip: If you get a gulf front suite, check right away to see if it is on the north corner of Building 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
This reviewer could work for the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber of Commerce! You really got around to some of our best local attractions, like Ft. DeSoto, the Dali Museum, Manatee Heaven, to name a few. However, the pristine, white powder sand directly behind the Alden, coupled with the blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico is by far our number one attraction (voted # 1 beach in the USA, by Trip Advisor).

The comments about our hotel are flattering, to say the least...we try hard to make sure all guests have a burning desire to visit us again and again. We LOVE Mid Westerners!

Sincerely

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed in the lower beachfront building for five nights in Feb 2012 - top floor, with a wonderful view over the Gulf. Front desk staff was very accommodating in arranging for our friends to have the suite next door.

The whole property is kept very clean and any staff we encountered were friendly and efficient. Our housekeeper did a great job and there were always plenty of clean bath and pool towels available.

Bedroom area is entered through the exterior hallway door and as you walk in, approaching the living area, you're greeted by the sight of the blue waters and white sands of the Gulf...aaaah! Plus, a balcony with table and chairs to take advantage of it.......

In the passageway between the bedroom and the living room, there's an adequately kitted-out galley style kitchen (full stove with oven) and bathroom with plenty of under-the-counter storage space for toiletries etc. There's also a large closet with a safe. For more storage, there's also a large dresser in the bedroom.

Our living area had a sofa and table and chairs (with the requisite tv, of course!, as did the bedroom).

As mentioned in other reports, there's plenty of communal areas for recreation, the beach Tiki bar being our particular favourite:):)

It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but a friendly, comfortable, clean and pleasant place for a beach holiday.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Wow! I couldn't have said it any better...Thanks VERY much for the kind comments...hope to see you again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Alden Beach Resort. We stayed in a Lanai Suite with a superb view of the beach and Gulf. The room was very clean as was the Resort property. There is a lot to do at the Alden...2 swimming pools, tennis, ping pong, 2 whirlpool spas and a BBQ patio area to enjoy. It is directly on the Gulf of Mexico and is close to many restaurants and shops.

While we were staying there we discovered Direct Air had suspended their operations leaving us with no flight back to Niagara Falls during the busy March Break week. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us. Special thanks to Alden desk staff Alex and Tameka who were not only sympathetic to our plight, but also allowed us use of one of their computers to book a return flight with another airlines. What could have ruined our vacation was quickly resolved (in about 2 hours) and we enjoyed the rest of our stay at the resort. A big 2 thumbs up to the employees at the Alden Beach Resort. They are quick to please their guests!

On another note...I learned a valuable lesson. It's not always best to book the cheapest flight, especially when they decide to suspend or close their operations stranding their customers far from home. Shame on Direct Air!

Room Tip: Can't beat the Gulf Front Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks very much for the nice review. The comments about our staff are greatly appreciated!

Gary Renfrow
President & Part Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I read all the great reviews and agree that the rooms are clean, it's just unfortunate that you have to wait until 5pm or later to have your room cleaned.
One of the few hotels on the beach that actually charge for wifi....and their connection is terrible ($50/wk I kind of expect that it will work all the time).
The front desk staff is not always so friendly.....when we arrived in the afternoon of our first day and our room wasn't ready the man at the front was a little rude saying "we don't have to have it ready until 4pm". We had a problem with our flight home (Our airline went under and left us scrambling for a way home). We asked if there was a way to get another room for one more night under the circumstances.....we were told by 3 different people at the front desk 3 different stories. One guy said he would look and see....the next man said he had 6 similar rooms available, the 3rd man said he had nothing similar but could give us another room for more money! Not that he was trying to gouge us (his words lol). We were finally given another room...we vacated our original room by 11am and the new room was not ready until after 5pm....a long day sitting there with no room.
Will definitely not stay here again unfortunately. There are many hotels along this strip that I would try first.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We run 95-100% occupancy during the month of March, which sometimes means that the check in time of 4:00 PM really means 4:00 PM. We try like crazy to get all guests checked into their suites BEFORE 4 PM, but sometimes it is physically impossible to get all checked out suites cleaned and inspected twice before the next arrival. It is very rare that we do not meet the minimum of a 4PM check in.

We offer FREE parking, FREE daily newspaper, FREE recreational amenities, FREE in room coffee, buy one get one FREE drinks at the beach bar, and NO RESORT fees, like some of the neighboring hotels charge (up to $25 per day), so we believe the internet charge is a small price to pay when compared to the other FREE services and amenities that we offer. The WI-FI is run by a 3rd party that charges us a daily rate. We could start offering free internet, but then we would have for charge for parking (many local hotels charge $10-15 per day). We believe that most guest s would prefer the free parking versus free internet, but to each his own!

I don't understand the confusion at the front desk...that, too, is very rare, as we have been told by the majority of reviewers on Trip Advisor that we have the most friendly and professional front desk staff.

We are sorry that you encountered some minor frustrations during your stay, but they are very rare, to say the least. Please review the previous 20-30 Trip Advisor reviews to see that 99% of our guests do not experience the difficulties outline in this review.

Thanks for your comments,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardinal, On
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Had a great time at the Alden Beach Resort. Friendly staff, nice rooms, 2 nice pools and great view of the Gulf. Would definitely go back again.

The only complaint I have is there is no free wi-fi. To use internet was very expensive.
This would be the only reason I would hesitate on going back.

Room Tip: I loved the view on the Gulf side and especially liked being off the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thanks for the review....the internet charge is a tough one for us @ $9.95 per day or $49 per week. We do, however, offer many free services and amenities that most local hotels do not offer, such as:

1) FREE parking (many St Pete Beach hotels charge $8-15 per day
2) FREE daily newspaper, including Sunday Tampa Bay Times ($1.50 on Sunday, $.50 on weekdays)
3) FREE recreational amenities (some hotels charge for tennis court time and other recreation)
4) FREE in room coffee
5) NO RESORT FEES: Several local hotels charge up to $25 per day whether you use the resort amenities or not!

Our internet is provided by a third party who charges us, thus the charge passed on to the guests....we could raise rates or charge for parking to somewhat off set the internet charge, but we believe most guest would prefer the FREE parking over free use of the internet, especially in this age of smart phones

Thanks again for the nice review

Gary Renfrow
President & Part Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.