We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school charm, new updates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alden Suites to your Saves list
Alden Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Old school charm, new updates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Our family has been coming here for years. The newly updated rooms are quite refreshing. This is an old school family resort. If you're looking for five star amenities and room service this is not your place. However if your looking for super clean family friendly beach accommodations then look no further. We always get a ocean view room and the views are great. The new tv's shower heads, beds and appliances are great. The staff is alway friendly. Great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
What a nice way of describing Alden Suites: "Old School Charm"

We take great pride in our history of superior guest service, family friendly facilities, and the nicest suites on St. Pete Beach!

Thanks for the "suite" review,

R. Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    353
    109
    47
    41
See reviews for
350
227
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

To escape Indianapolis during Super Bowl Weekend, my wife and I decided to try the Alden Beach Resort. We have passed the property many times during our yearly trips to the Gulf Coast, but never stayed there. We are glad we did this time down! The property is pristine, as is the beach. The grounds are well maintained, the service excellent. There is plenty of off-street parking, some covered. Two large, heated pools and two hot tubs are available. There is a tiki bar, and several barbeque grills available to guests. We found lots of chaise lounges and plenty of shade on the manicured lawn. We chose a gulf-view room and although this suite was a bit more expensive, it was worth the extra cost. Nicely laid out, with a kitchenette and two double beds. Our suite was on the second floor, near the ice machine, hot tub, and barbeques. Another nice thing about the Alden is its location near several nice restaurants within walking distance. We are planning another visit to the Alden in the fall.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars to get a gulf view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thanks very much for the nice review!

Looking forward to seeing you again this fall,

Sincerely,

R. Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My family stayed at the Alden for 3 nights in late Jan 2012. It was nice -- the Nassau Suite was large enough for 2 adults and 3 teens. We got a room on the 6th floor which gave us a bit of a Gulf view from the balcony and meant we heard less pool area noise. The balcony faced south so I had breakfast on the balcony in the sunshine several mornings. They had a nice whirlpool, decent pools, a2 tennis courts (in process of undergoing renovation) and of course a very nice beach. The room was well stocked with a full size fridge, dishes, sink, and a dishwasher. The staff there was very friendly, and the hotel is across the street from some excellent restaurants. It not the Ritz or even the Hyatt but it was nice and we would return.

Room Tip: If you don't stay beachfront, ask for the 6th floor. We could see the Gulf and the balcony prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks very much for the nice review!

The Poolside Nassau Suite is perfect for families, in that it is our largest suite, very affordable, and has a full size kitchen.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please come see us again soon!

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow, President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zelienople
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Alden offers none of the services and amenities that a real resort has. The place doesn't even have a restaurant on site. I've stayed all over St Pete Beach and I would rank Alden near the bottom. And the outside of the property looks dated and weathered. You will not get a good return on the money you spend here. And I don't mean St Pete Beach, which is always wonderful, I mean specifically the Alden. Avoid it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Jim:

I am very sorry that yo did not enjoy your recent stay at the Alden. However, I need for you to help me understand why you posted such a negative review.

You state that "The Alden offers none of the services and amenities that a real resort has" Let me refresh your memory as to our included amenities and services:

2 beautifully maintained pools
2 hot tubs
2 tennis courts
Basketball court (what other hotels have this amenity?)
2 Shuffleboard courts
Ping pong
Corn Hole court
Beach volleyball court
Beach Cabanas
Para sailing
Boat excursions
Water trikes
3 BBQ gas grills for use by guests
Guest Laundry
Grab & Go Gift Shop / Convenience Store (with meals available)
Cabana Beach Bar
Conference Room (with a kitchen)
Award winning landscaping
Almost 5 acres of pristine white sand beaches
140 fully equipped SUITES (not rooms) with large private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico)
Tropical music playing around the pools and hot tubs

I guess that not having a full service restaurant on property is you main concern of why the Alden should not be classified as a "resort". There are 70+ restaurants on St. Pete Beach, many within a 3-5 minute walk from the property.

We have spent over $3 million in renovations over the past 10 years, including painting of the entire exterior of the hotel about four years ago. We may be an older hotel, but in no means are we "weathered" as you state in your review.

If you review the previous 10-20 Trip Advisor Reviews, prior to your 2/4/12 posting, you will see that the vast majority of other Alden guests see the property in a different light, so to speak.

Besides adding a on-site restaurant, what are you suggestions and recommendations for us to improve our property?

Please feel free to e mail me at garyrenfrow@verizon.net or call my office 727 867 3960 with any further comments or suggestions.

Thanks for taking the time to follow up,

R. Gary Renfrow
President and part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

we spent 2 weeks at the resort and loved the location. You can't beat right on the beach! The staff was exceptional...Kitty and Glen and our room attendant. We were well taken care of..spoiled.

Room Tip: higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind remarks, I will pass them on to Kitty & Glen

Gary Renfrow, President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

As most of the hotels along Ocean Blvd on St Pete beach, The Alden is an older property but nicely well kept with ongoing improvements. The location is directly on the beach and the rooms facing the golf are nice. There is plenty of room for two and addition sleeping space with the pull out couch. Two tvs, one in the bedroom and the other in the "living room area along with a full (read small) kitchen area. Beds were adaquate in size and comfort and the bedroom afforded plenty of closet and storage space.The propery has two pools and a large hot tub with lots of deck space and plenty of chairs and tables to use. There is an additional deck area on the second floor with three (well kept) gas grills to use for no additional charge. There is a patio bar directly on the beach serving decent sized cocktails, wine and beers and a happy hour daily. The property has a small store with some microwave food, beach stuff and the usual tourist needs. Good restaurants, grocery stores, etc are all a short walk or drive. The beach, (what we all go there for) is great- wide, long and powdery sand. If daily viewing of dolphins and sea birds are on your list, your in the right place. Sports venues are less than an hour' drive, Busch gardens 45 minutes, factory outlets are 15 miles, Orlando for a day is 1 1/2 hours.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are an upgrade with the best views, pool side rooms are the next lower upgrade and stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Jim:

Thanks very much for the kind review...you are correct that we are an older property, but we complete renovations every year...2011: The 20 Gulf front Lanai suites, 2010: the 27 Bermuda Suites, etc...We are pleased that you were happy with all the various amenities and services that we offer on site and the 70+ restaurants within a short distance of the Alden...Lastly, the BEACH is our main attraction and your comments were spot on: "great, wide, powdery sand"

Thanks again, and please come stay with us again soon.

Sincerely

Gary Renfrow, President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zelienople
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My family has vacationed in St Pete Beach since 1974; first with my parents and brothers, now with my wife and daughters. Based on some nice reviews here, I booked us into this place for a January holiday. Without food service, without activities, no frills, calling themselves a resort is a bit of a stretch. It has no personality; with a listless, no smiles staff and bland property features. Now when I read the past reviews I discern its the view that prompts high marks for this place, which can be had in other motels for half the price. St Pete Beach may not have many, but Treasure Island, about 7 miles north, has many charming motels, all with the same gulf view, for 59-79 a nite. We left the Alden after a week and had our choice of places in T.I., all within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants, and pubs with more lively atmosphere than anything we could find in SPB. From Mon-Thurs, there wasn't more than a dozen rooms in use at the Alden, and the restaurants were empty, not like oh-good-we-can-get-a-table empty but we're-uncomfortable-sitting-alone empty. I guess word is about about its unimpressiveness. So please avoid the Alden...it isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.