We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato

Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato
6595 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2153
727-360-4259
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 123 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Pizza, Dessert, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Larry's Ice Cream & Gelatos is a family owned and operated ice cream parlor established on ST.Pete Beach in 1984. We are known for our homemade waffle cones , premium ice cream, and authentic Gelato in an olde fashioned parlor atmosphere. We offer glutten free and dairy free items. Larry's is famous for serving a delectable array of fresh gourmet pastries, ice cream sundaes, and olde fashioned milkshakes, and more. From the smell of freshly made waffle cones invigorating the air, to the hot fudge sundaes with a cherry on top- Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelatos brings back the ambiance and nostalgia of a true ice cream parlor. - Over 80 flavors of Ice cream - Over 30 flavors of 94% fat free all natural Gelato - Over 20 choice of ice cream toppings - Sundaes, specialty sundaes,& Parfaits - Soft serve olde fashioned custard available in 20 flavors (90% fat free), Low-fat frozen yogurt available in 20 flavors (97%fat-free), Homemade pastries & cakes - Hot dogs, burgers, pizza , sandwiches & more.
Davenport, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best ice cream on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I remember when Larry's opened, at least 25 years ago when I was a kid. They still have fantastic ice cream and comparably priced to the chain places. You can tell it's good because it's always packed. And it stays open later than a lot of the other places around so you can go at the end of the day. I think they try to overdo it with the menu, though. Stick to the ice cream and the basics...you don't need to do snacks and coffee drinks and all that other stuff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison6595, Owner at Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for stopping by Larry's . It's always a pleasure to see customers that have been coming into our shop for years. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. . However we try to satsify all of our customers ,so we expanded our menu to accomodate all customers that visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    56
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Lots of ice cream flavors, including several candy bar type concoctions! Service was quick and friendly even though they were busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe,KS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Gelato”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I went to Larry's twice over our stay in St. Pete Beach. We both had two scoops of Gelato that came with a free waffle cone. It definitely hit the spot after a day on the beach. Larry's was in a great location close to the hotel we stayed at, and was a very popular spot . As soon as you walk in, you could smell the waffle cones that are made fresh at the front counter. They have plenty to chose from, with 60 choices you can't go wrong. The service was great without any pressure to hurry up and chose, and getting a few samples to try helped narrow our selection. The only complaint was that it's a fairly small place with little room to maneuver. If they got rid of the arcade games, a few of the tables and cleaned up the product being stored in the dining area there would be a lot more room. Would we go back? In a heartbeat. It was DeeeLicous!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Everything we had was great! We visited Larry's 3 nights on our trip. My mango gelato was the best I've ever eaten!!! There are several ice cream shops along the street, don't settle for those, Larry's is a MUST!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison6595, Owner at Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for visiting Larry's. We are glad you enjoyed your Gelato. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach County, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best out of three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Larry's and two other ice cream places in St. Pete Beach are within a stone's throw of each other. Not knowing which one to pick, we figured the one that was packed with people had to be the best. Great flavor selections and lots of friendly staff who -- despite the crowds -- serve you quickly. I'm a butter-pecan freak, and Larry's version was delicious.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison6595, Owner at Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for visiting us. We are glad you selected us and that you enjoyed your ice creams !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Larry's Olde Fashioned Ice Cream & Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.