We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Beachcomber is an amazing place to stay! The staff here are so friendly and helpful. The hotel grounds are gorgeous and well kept. The two pools are so warm and very clean. So fun to swim and listen to the live music from Jimmy b's! The location to the beach cannot be beat!!! I would reccomend Beachcomber to anybody and i will be coming back!!!! Loved loved loved The Beachcomber!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    330
    146
    76
    62
See reviews for
342
487
62
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There were 14 gals who decided to do a quick get a way to St. Pete beach and the Beachcomber was to be our accomadation for the weekend. From the moment we checked in and our room wasnt ready yet and the porter took our belongings and said when our rooms were ready he would bring our things up - just go to the pool - that was perfect and the beginning of a great weekend. The staff from the maids to the ladies at the desk, the porter even the pool guys were so nice and pleasent. The grounds were beautiful, the music rocked at the tiki bar all day and night. We really had the best time at the Beachcomber and look forward to going back very soon.

Room Tip: 222 great views from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute, and were really just looking for an inexpensive one-night getaway. We are actually from St. Pete, and were just looking to get to the beach for the night from some R&R. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel! From the ease of booking through their internet site, to the check-in, to the cleanliness of the grounds and room, and the easy check-out; we had a very pleasant stay! The room came with a spacious kitchenette that included fridge, sink, small stove/oven, microwave as well as a dinette table; which was a nice suprise. Every one of the employees we came in contact with from the desk staff to the cleaning staff to the wait staff at Jimmy-B's went out of their way to be friendly and say hello – we had terrific customer service from all. I can tell that they are truly trying to make this a resort experience for the guests. I can see where parking could get a little tricky, but we did not have any issues. Additional cars are instructed to park in a lot across the street. We did not expereince any of the noise issues that have been mentioned in other reviews, and we were on the bottom floor. The location is great with many stores and restaraunts within easy walking distance. I will definitely be staying again!

Room Tip: I would suggest a first floor room on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Beachcomber for a Family Reunion. I had a normal uneventful checkin. I met up with an elder family member who required help moving around the spacious grounds. I called the front desk to see if a wheelchair was available & within 20 minutes there was a wheelchair. I have stayed at this property 3 or 4 times in the past, and my stays have gotten better & better every time. The lobby is usually staffed in the morning by Briana, who has an awesome attitude, who starts your day off on the right foot with her positive attitude and awesome smile. My room was clean as a whistle. The pool was clean, plenty of chairs, tables & umbrellas, with poolside food & beverage service. Our Reunion was the best one yet. This hotel has it all, a self contained resort style hotel. The food at Players was excellent and well priced. The entertainment at Jimmy's Beach Bar nightly was perfect. My checkout was very good with Debbie making sure that all was well. Was it ever!!! I will be staying at the Beachcomber every time I am in the Tampa Bay Area. Their focus on giving their guests a great time shows. Their Customer Service is fantastic.

Room Tip: It is a closed, secure courtyard area. Most rooms are pretty much the same. The Kitchen Rooms are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our second visit at the Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel and we loved staying there again.

The Beachcomber is located directly at the Gulf of Mexico and it's only a short walk to the beach across the boardwalk. We stayed in one of the rooms upstairs across from one of the 2 pools. The room was small, not much bigger than a standard motel room, and a bit dated (maybe 1990s style) but it was comfortable, clean, and honestly, we didn't spend a lot of time in the room as we came for the beach and the ocean. The room came with a small kitchenette which had a sink, 4-burner stove, small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker in addition to a small round table and 3 chairs. We really liked having the small kitchenette as we were able to prepare some meals and didn't have to go out to eat all the time.

The entire property is clean and very nicely landscaped. All the staff at the Beachcomber was very nice. Parking though was a little tricky. There is not a lot of parking but we managed to get a parking spot in the back, and once we parked, we didn't move the car until we checked out, and really there was no need to drive anywhere since everything (bars, restaurants, shops, etc) is within walking distance.

Having a beach bar (Johnny B's) right on the property was a nice touch, and we liked that. The food there was very good and reasonably priced but the drinks were quite pricey. We also enjoyed their nightly free sunset shooters and the daily live entertainment.

Overall, it's a great place to stay directly on the beach for a reasonable price, and we loved staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, but actually checked out after two nights because of constant noise.
The main problem is the beach bar Jimmy Bs. This is located on the beach and has live music every night. Unfortunately, the only way in and out of the bar is along the hotel path, right outside the guest rooms. The bar is also open to non residents, this means a pretty much constant stream of people between about 9pm and 3am, getting louder as the night goes on and the punters get more and more drunk.
If you want to stay and party, then this is an ideal place, but, if you have kids, they will not sleep well, and neither will you.
The floors also seem paper thin, and I actually had to bang on the ceiling with an ironing board at midnight on the last night as the people above seemed to be tunnelling down to us.
I love a drink and a party as much, if not more, than the next man, but if you want a relaxing hotel where you will sleep, this is NOT it.
The staff were very friendly, and looked genuinely horrified when I told them we were checking out on our honeymoon, however, no compensation or refund was offered.
Not a hotel I will be returning to.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djollimore, General Manager at Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are so sad to see a wonderful forum like Trip Advisor used for a situation that is not the case. The reason this guest is making the statements is because of an incident that took place at our popular beach bar called Jimmy B’s Beach Bar. Because we would not allow this guest to have their 5 year old child at our beach bar they became very upset and as a result very critical of the hotel due that incident.
Our Management Response to their postings for Jimmy B’s Beach Bar is:
I apologize that this guest did not enjoy their visit to Jimmy B’s Beach Bar. We do have certain guidelines in place as to where children are permitted to be while at Jimmy B’s Beach Bar. These guidelines are in place for the safety and welfare of children who are at our establishment. It would not be in the best interest of this guest to allow their 5 year old child to be in the middle of a packed bar with live entertainment late into the evening. The guest was nicely informed by our security staff that children were not permitted in the immediate bar area, but they would be welcome to enjoy themselves in the family friendly area at a table on the deck, in which the live entertainment could still be heard. This guest verbally attacked our security staff and demanded that his 5 year old child be permitted in the bar area.
Jimmy B’s Beach Bar is located directly on the white sandy beach with a fantastic view of the Gulf of Mexico. Jimmy B’s Beach Bar was voted the #1 beach bar in the state of Florida 2 years in a row. Jimmy B’s features daily live entertainment with 2 live bands every day. There is never a cover charge! Jimmy B’s is open from 11 AM- 3 AM daily and serves lunch and dinner from 11 AM – 11 PM daily. Jimmy B’s also has flat screen televisions throughout featuring all major sports packages and offers free wireless internet access for all guests. Watch our spectacular sunsets with a free sunset shooter! We do not charge any additional fees for these amenities. Jimmy B’s features the best drink prices on the beach.
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, DVD player, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, 32" color TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, and complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The fabulous location of the beachcomber was our first positive comment. From the moment we walked in we were so impressed with the fantastic staff at the front desk and the immediate availability of our room, as we arrived a few hours before check in. Once inside the resort you would think you were in the middle of a secluded island resort. Between the immaculate landscape, constant live music in the background, amazing beach, and a friendly staff, we were in complete heaven. Once you were steps outside the resort everything we needed was at out fingertips. A 7 eleven, subway, normans liquors and plenty of restautants. Dee was so pleasant and We were sure to commend her on the cleanliness of our room. The staff, food and drinks were fabulous at Jimmy B's beach bar. Kelly and kris were great and we enjoyed the nightlife. If you are looking for an ultimate relaxing tropical vacation, or bustling nightlife the beachcomber has it all for remarkable value! We are both avid travelers, and the beachcomber provided the perfect environment for effortless relaxation and fun! We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#24 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#26 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#7 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.