We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on St Pete Beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on St Pete Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel was totally awesome. The beach bar Jimmy B's has live music 7 days a week! The staff was super friendly and attentive to your needs. I highly reccomend this resort for your next visit to St Pete Beach!!! 5 Stars!

Room Tip: If you like the live music request the room close to the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    260
    125
    64
    58
See reviews for
290
410
50
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Ive been going to St Pete Beach for Easter for the last 15 Years. Usually stay at the Sirata but that Hotel has become too expensive for what you get. The Beachcomber was great! The rooms were clean and the entire Hotel staff was friendly. We stayed on the ground level. The courtyard is beautiful and very peaceful in the morning. One thing we got at this hotel that we didnt get at the Sirata was a kitchenette, where we ate breakfast almost every morning. Went to the sports bar in the front called Players each night for a night cap and the nightime bartenders rock! Hadley was one of the nightime bartenders and he was great. We also visited Jimmy B's that is behind the Hotel directly on the Beach. Great bar except for the Bartender named Torre. It was the Sunday final round of the Masters Tournament and some ladies and I asked the other bartender if he would turn it on a TV we could see, which he did happily. Well when Torre got back he changed it to Baseball, which no one asked him to change it to, he wanted to watch Baseball. I asked him if he could turn it back to golf since we were all watching it and it was the only TV we could see. He changed it back and then threw the remote at the back bar knocking a bunch of stuff over. Against my better judgement, I apologized and explained to Torre we couldnt see the other TV's from where we were sitting. He told me "WELL THERES GOLF ON BOTH TVS AND HE CANT PLEASE EVERYBODY." We had one more drink and left cause after that he made my girlfriends drink really bad. We avoided Torre the rest of the vacation. PCI and Splash are bars that are just steps away and just as good. All in all, we will definately stay here again. Had a great experience except for the bartender at Jimmy B's (Torre). Beware! He's not looking to please everybody!! I also read some reviews about it being noisy because Jimmy B's has a band every night. We never heard a thing. They have doors that they shut and unless your the room right behind the bar, we never heard anything once we were in our room. Go see St. Pete Beach if you've never been there. It's BEAUTIFUL!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front of the Hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed for 5 days during our 12 day vacation. I wish we stayed the whole time. A few negatives are totally out weighed by the positive. The internet did not work at all. This was a problem for the kids. Yes, the bathroom and rooms were tight and do need to be updated. But really how much time are you really spending in the room.

We stayed in a ground floor patio room. It was awesome! The music at Jimmy B's really isn't as disturbing as some make it seem. We had a room in the closest proximity to the bar. The bands did play tlll 1 on fri and sat night. 11:30 on other nights. Once you closed the door and with air on you couldn't hear the music. We loved the location, I could see how some might want a room change. The pools were clean and extremely warm. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained.

The food and drinks were great from Jimmy B's. Before your trip, call the resort to get an application for the Players card, The card gets you 10% of your food bill and discounts on drinks, even happy hour. It takes a week or so to process.,. do before you get to the beachcomber and pick up when you get there. Parking was not an issue during our trip. I would recommend the Beachcomber and will stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just got back from the Beachcomber, and I don't understand all the rave reviews. I am definitely not picky, but this place in on par with a Motel 6 for three times the price. Our room was very dated and in need of some tlc. The bathroom was TINY. It was clean though. The air conditioner was very loud, but at least drowned out any outside noises. I just looked back over the professional photos on this sight, and they definitely distort the sizes of the room and the pool area. Jimmy B's was fun and definitely had a 'diverse' group of customers. On that point, I would not bring my kids here. There were a lot of college age kids and lots of drinking. I will say the location is very nice and the beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our 5th year on St. Pete's Beach. We have stayed in much pricier hotels but we will always come bck to the Beachcomber from now on. We loved the courtyard and that everyroom faced it. We were on he ground floor and it was so convenient. The staff was wonderful, always so helpful and cheerful. Our housekeeper, Mona, was so nice and made us feel so comfortable. We loved having Players, they serve the best burgers, a few steps from our door. Also loved Jimmy B's on the beach...live music everyday and into the night. The drinks are reasonably priced too. Love the 2 pools...we stayed in the smaller one...met so many nice people our age. We also liked that there were no anemities attached...most hotels in the area charge an additional $25 for parking and a cabana on the beach...which is ok if you plan to use it everyday...we don't...we had no problem with parking, there was an attendant watching the lot so just hotel patrons could park there and the parking was free. We always stay a week or 2 at St. Pete's Beach and will always stay at the Beachcomber. Great accomodations, great food and drink and great staff. What more could you want...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber for 2 nights the first week of April. For the amount of money we paid to stay here, I expected more...

I will start with the pros:
The hotel is right on the beach, and the beach is beautiful. The hotel also has an outdoor restaurant and bar which was a nice touch. The food at the restaurant was average. The chicken sandwich was barely edible, but the wings were great. The bar (Jimmy B's) was a lot of fun. There was an interesting mix of people and the drinks were delicious!

The cons:
The room! The room we stayed in very pretty small and very dated. I have stayed in nicer rooms at the Days Inn! The hot water in the bathroom was inconsistent at best. The hotel had free internet, but we couldn't connect while we were inside the room. If we sat outside the room, we were able to connect just fine.

I guess to sum up the trip, the hotel was not awful, but could use some updates. I wouldn't recommend going visiting during busy season as I think the prices were raised quite a bit and you pay a lot of money for an average hotel. I think if we had visited at a less busy time and had not spent quite so much money I would have been a lot less disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel for many many years, and it just keeps getting better, we were last there in October 2011. We were originally going to stay for one week and then tour around Florida, but once there we could not bear to leave and decided that there was no better place to spend our second week. The hotel is right on the beach, the rooms are very comfortable and always kept spotlessly clean. Rooms were getting new furnishing whilst we were there and were looking very nice. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully kept. There is live music daily so you can sit around the pool and listening to the music from the beach bar. All of the staff are really nice and work hard to make sure that you have a great stay, nothing is EVER too much trouble. I love the friendiness of this hotel. And cannot wait to return again this year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.