We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise for me and my wife on our anniversary!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   6200 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
1 review
“Great surprise for me and my wife on our anniversary!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 via mobile

After reading all the previous reviews, I wasn't sure if our anniversary was going to go as well as I planned. What a wonderful surprise it was to find out it went better than planned! The Beachcomber is a great hotel with an excellent location. We were centrally located on the strip which made it convenient for beach and restaurant access. Food and drink prices were a little steep at Jimmy B's but the entertainment and relaxing vibe was worth it. Beer by the can was cheap but we opted for the Piña Coladas which were $6.95 a pop. The beach access was convenient and we just brought our loungers and a beach chair. Cabana rentals were $18 a day and didn't seem worth it. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room had a fridge, a coffee pot and a hairdryer. The room also had basic cable and wifi. All the staff from our front desk clerk, Amanda, to the barstaff (thanks Kelly!) to our cleaning lady were all pleasant and courteous. There is also a 7-11 right across the street for beer and wine. My only recommendations fir our 2 night stay would be to bring your own booze and beach chairs. People have complained earlier about the parking. It really wasn't bad. If you stay on the strip to eat your meals, be prepared to pay higher prices. We actually went off the strip and ate at the Outback in N St Pete and got 2 full dinners and 4 glasses if wine for $35 which was a steal compared to eating lunch at Agave for $30 with 2 sodas. The Beachcomber exceeded all expectations and provided a great anniversary staycation for me and my wife.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    280
    131
    66
    60
See reviews for
305
433
52
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

From a customer that oversaw the rebuild of the Beverly Hills Hotel in 1994 - 5 (and worked the Beverly Hills Four Season new - build previous to that) (among other monumental hotel builds in Southern California): I must say that our last - of - April five night stay was wonderful. The staff, great! St. Pete Beach grounds, glorious! Parking is a bit tight, but free. The peace and tranquility of our bedroom/kitchen, as good as it gets! My wife and I will be making that trek from Burbank to the Beachcomber again later this year, God willing.

Room Tip: We liked room 402. Upstairs, quiet, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for two nights and found the previous reviews to be spot-on. We're locals and booked a "super saver" room because we planned to spend the bulk of our time lounging in the sun and not hanging out in our room. As expected, our accomodations were not luxurious - the door was difficult to close, the curtains didn't cover the length of the windows and the dumpster was directly behind our room - but the beds were surprisingly comfortable (we bunked apart since the beds were just doubles), there was good water pressure in the shower, and the frig afforded us enough room to chill water, beer and leftovers from Jimmy B's. Having been forewarned about the threadbare towels, we brought our own. We also weren't disheartened about our room being at the front of the property (farthest from the beach) because we knew it meant we wouldn't have to listen to the live music until the wee hours of the morning. This allowed us to enjoy the bands during the day but still get a great night's sleep. While we dined at Jimmy B's one night (great bar food), the 7-11 across the street provided all the additional snacks and supplies we needed for the beach. We did rent a cabana and thought it good value for the money since we were out in the sun from 9:30am until sunset. And that's the BEST reason to stay at the Beachcomber, the beach access. You don't have to fight for parking at a public lot, you just leave your room, walk along a lovely landscaped path, through the bar and you're on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The front desk staff were so friendly and helpful, The room was very clean and nice size for the two of us. The location was perfect to restaurants and the beach. Great entertainment right at the resort. The caliber of people staying at the resort were very nice and family oriented. Jimmy B's was the happening night life which was located right at the resort as well as a great Sports Bar, The Players

Room Tip: Room 109 is conveniently located by the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We are seniors from Canada who have travelled extensively and spent 10 days of sun(aver 85 ) at this resort in April. It is an older resort but very r clean and well maintained. We had a small kitchen in our unit and it was adequately supplied with everything we needed except the fridge was a small one. The room and bathroom were fine, well furnished and very clean. A safe is available for 2.00 a day which was located in a small walk in closet. The the staff in this place are nice, especially the front desk girls and the managers. On several occasions, we asked for help in finding locations, cars etc and the girls went out of their way to give directions, maps etc. A beautiful beach is at the back of the property and there are two pools; one large and one small. One of the things we liked the best was the beautiful landscaped courtyard that all rooms face from two levels , with a big lighted fountain in the middle. Very nice at night. There are two bars, one full of TV sets near the front lobby showing all types of sports and two small active bars near the beach with both an inside and outside patio and a covered dancing area. Music starts at 3 every day at the beach bars and ends after midnight. This resort is a very active place and attracts a lot of local people . The noise levels did not bother us and we enjoyed going to the bar occasionally and had several meals there. There is really no separate restaurant, just tables in the bar areas and on the patio. It is pub food but very good . There are numerous restaurants in the area. This resort is central to everything. I will not rent a car at the airport next time; a car rental agency is one block away and I would rent if needed.The trolly bus and open air taxis (tips only) are at the front door. The liquor store is one block, the food market is one mile and it is five miles to a major shopping center. There is a PC in the front lobby ($5.00 for your stay) and a coin operated laundromat Only complaint is the parking area is very tight. Bring a small car and a wine opener is you are a wine drinker. Great family or single place . People should be also aware that the covered beach lounges on the beach cost $18.00 a day. We bought our own beach chairs at a local store for $13.00 each and left them in the room. Certainly would stay at this place again . Had a good time and really enjoyed the beach every day.

Room Tip: Take a room on the second floor away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great location on the beach. Room was a little outdated but was clean, quiet and comfortable. Hotel grounds were landscaped very nicely. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Sports bar and beach bar are on site with live bands every night.. Outdoor seating at the beach bar provides a great view of the beautiful sunsets. Overall a great value for a beach vacation. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Fountain View rooms are quieter and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We were going to spend a few days on the beach before we headed north to home. The hotel id old and in need on up dating. The room was small and dark, not real clean and the patio door was locked with a bolt drilled through the metal frame, wet carpet around the in room refrigerator. We were right next to the bar and the loud music started in the afternoon and went till well after midnight. Then other guests of the hotel shouting and drinking into the wee hours and these were not spring break people. Parking is not good, you can drive in, but have to back out.Hotel personal were most unfriendly and never asked how asked how we enjoyed our stay. For the price, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.