We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Afternoon at Shell Key!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Key Shuttle

Shell Key Shuttle
801 Pass-A-Grille Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
727.360.1348
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eco-friendly trip to unspoiled Shell Key for bird watching, shelling, dolphin watching.
Plainfield, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon at Shell Key!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I definitely recommend taking the Shell Key Shuttle over to Shell Key for the afternoon. Shell Key Shuttle leaves from Merry Pier. Found out the hard way, if you buy a shuttle ticket, you get a parking permit for the street. So, definitely get the permit before putting a bunch of change in a meter. The shuttle provides umbrellas, snorkels, and bags for shells.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    62
    18
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick & Easy Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in Treasure Island - the Shuttle was an easy drive and much better for us than some of the longer boat rides. Liked the flexibility of determining the length of our stay (we opted for 2 hrs).

The Captain & crew really have their act together! Efficient ticketing process and on-time departures/returns. We enjoyed the short boat ride out & free umbrella (we used our own snorkeling gear). Very reasonable price - excellent value.

The weather had been perfect & very calm - the shelling is generally better following a storm as it washes more "stuff" towards the island. But hey... what kind of jerk would complain about perfect weather :)

My 17 yr old daughter enjoyed as well - would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Shells Galore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We decided that a trip to Shell Island would be something we would enjoy according to the tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! As mentioned in other reviews, you can buy a parking pass for $2 and stay in the little village area all day. We were dealing with some possible weather conditions..ie...Tropical Storm Andrea...but we did get to go from 12-2:15. We would have liked more time, but we totally understood. The couple providing the ride were very sweet and answered all our questions. We got a very large conch shell, several sand dollars, dozens of cockle shells. We walked as far on the island as was allowed. It was great fun and worth the money! We would love to go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Had a great day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had a Great day on shell key. Boat ride is only 10 or 15 minutes so no big deal but the island is great and the shells are plentiful. Got some nice sand dollars and decent shells. Mostly scallops and clam shells but still a nice amount. Water was clear and we enjoyed a nice swim. Saw a baby manta ray right at the shoreline and saw a few dolphins on the ride over. Caught the 10 am boat over and came back on the 2:15 and that was just enough to enjoy the day. You can park right at the pier at any black meter and get an all day parking pass from the boat operators for $2. A great bargain since it is $1.50 an hour for parking. There are no facilities on the island, bathroom or food. You can take a cooler with you (they sell ice, beer soda and limited snacks at the pier) and there is a bathroom at the pier. They have umbrellas and snorkel gear ( no fins) for free but the umbrellas can run out fast so you can bring your own to be sure. Operators were very friendly

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
“Best part of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband, teenagers, and I had a great time at Shell Key today! On the boat ride over to the island, the captain spotted dolphins and went out of his way to make sure everyone had an opportunity to see them. The island was better than expected. We collected more shells, especially sand dollars than we could carry. They provided a mask and snorkel, but really, a good pair of goggles is all you need. It was the best part of our Clearwater vacation!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Key Shuttle also viewed

 

Been to Shell Key Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Key Shuttle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.