We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shell Key Shuttle

Shell Key Shuttle
801 Pass-A-Grille Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
727.360.1348
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Trams, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Eco-friendly trip to unspoiled Shell Key for bird watching, shelling, dolphin watching.
Andover, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved our trip to Shell Key and found lots of shells!!! I recommend you be prepared, bring chairs, cooler, picnic food. The only con - no bathroom - but I guess that is what you can expect for a protected island. One of our best memories - Just wish we had gotten their a little bit earlier in the day.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    17
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“An awesome time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Even though we showed up the day of they made room and let us on. Very comfortable, would bring more food along next time as they give you lots of time on the island. Would do again

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Shell Key is Very Nice! A worthwhile trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Very much enjoyed our trip to Shell Key. There were shells a-plenty, lots to choose from and easy pickings.
Shell key shuttle did a nice job, they were courteous and professional, the boat is well maintained and clean, and the location is convenient and easy to find.
This could get expensive to take a family....the $25 each could add up quickly, but it is a wonderful couple outing and a great way to spend a nice quiet afternoon.
The $25 fare isn't excessive.....boats, gas, and insurance aren't cheap....would just think twice about taking it as a family outing since most kids seem to lack the appreciation of a quiet and peaceful excursion to a place filled with solitude and relaxation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shell Key Shuttle is AWESOME !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mark & I found Shell Key Shuttle on our "Leap Day Date", 29FEB12, Captain Kiven & Suzy had Wonderful information - Second time we visited it was Captain Kiven & Nancy - we saw a pod of bottle-nose dolphins playin' on the way over to the key -
It is a protected island - no facilities - no trash cans - It is imperative what-ever you take in you must take out! 1st trip over we stayed the entire day, took the 10a over and the 4:25p back - that's the way to go !!!!! We will make a point to make to take the Shell Key Shuttle every-time we are come back to visit ! Thank you so much for caring & taking care of Shell Key!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marceline, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love shelling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We took the shuttle out to the shell island/nature preserve and it was awesome! The couple who run the boat and shop are fantastic friendly people! We stayed out on the island for 4 hours...found plenty of shells and sand dollars and enjoyed the boat ride back. If you are looking for a few hours of peace and quiet, shelling and enjoying nature , then we would recommend this!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shell Key Shuttle also viewed

Saint Pete Beach, FL
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to Shell Key Shuttle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shell Key Shuttle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.