We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for St Petes Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sunrise Resorts to your Saves list
Sunrise Resorts
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5445 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Good choice for St Petes Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Enjoyed our brief stay here. Situated across the busy Gulf Blvd from the Tradewinds complex the resort seems well run and a good place to stay. Our unit, 408, was nicely furnished and decorated. Everything was clean and worked well. Looking east you have views out over the pool and bay with perfect sunrises. Just outside the front doors you have a small table and chairs to watch the sunset, although that’s marred by the busy road. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance and a Publix supermarket just down the road.
The unit was one of the few with a dedicated undercover parking space although there didn’t seem to be any shortage of regular parking spots.
We had to leave earlier than expected but would think about coming back if we ever get to St Petes again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We really enjoyed this resort. Very clean and friendly. We really loved the fact that you can use all the facilities at the Tradewinds across the street. We have stayed at the TW before and all the things you had to pay for. Staying at Sunrise resorts it's either free (big slide) or you get a discount. We really enjoyed having a washer/dryer in the room. Having a full kitchen to cook a few meals too was fabulous. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a great view of the sunset on front balcony and sunrise on the back balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoyed our stay- our unit was completely renovated and very clean!! We enjoyed being able to use the amenities at the larger resort across the street. The kids loved the large slide at TradeWinds! We enjoyed being able to use the grills outside at the pools to cook a couple meals. We enjoyed our stay and would stay in 207 again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We try to stay at The Gulf Beach complex right on the beach but they were full so we decided to try The Sunrise Resort on a recommendation. We stayed in room 405 the last week of February, and room 606 for the 1st two weeks of March. Room 405 was not as nice as 606 even though it had a new kitchen - 606 had more amenities and was more functional. Overall our stay was very pleasant. The following are our pros and cons for this resort condo complex.

PROS: (1) Beautiful sunrises, and waterfront bay views from the balcony which can also accommodate outdoor dining. (2) Amenities for young families - large pool, tennis courts, and the use of The Tradewinds group of resorts, which include cabanas, gym, towels + 10% discount on restaurants and stores. (3) Two bedroom units accommodate 4 and the PH units sleep 6. (4) The complex is well maintained, is sheltered from the wind chill of the gulf and the rooms are clean.

CONS: (1) Noise from Gulf Boulevard affects the unit front bedroom and sunset view is blocked by buildings across the street from complex. (2) There are more families and children who like to use the pool a lot (we like children), but perhaps an adult only swim time frame for an hour would be appropriate.(3) There is a big inconsistency between unit amenities. Some have better towels and linen, more dishes, flat panel tv's and room renovations.(4) Internet is EXTREMELY slow and drops signal constantly - this was experienced by many other guests (5) Two keys are required for access and it's easy for the key ring to fall apart - there is a fee if you lose a key. (6) Management is OK but can be aloof about guest concerns, i.e., slow internet (they said it was just updated), key ring problem (safer option needs to be put in place).They didn't care about this or that the front buzzer did not work, the newspaper machine was jammed - no one posted any out of order signs even though they were aware of the problems. They could easily improve on these shortcomings.

To be fair they do correct inaccuracies, unfortunately for an advertised luxury resort they come short on service. It would also be nicer if the office staff was a bit more friendly. Overall....I would consider returning to this complex.

Room Tip: Try to get higher level room - 6th floor is best. Be aware that the 2 bedroom units sometimes have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great place to stay and plenty of things to do for any age. From just walking the beach to hanging out at the condo at the pool or playing shuffle board or tennis. Plenty of shops & restaurants, around as well as grocery store down the road which we found very convenient so when we wanted to grill there at the condo or just have a sandwich or make our own little specialty dish we could do just that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed with our best friends for a couple of weeks in early October 2013. The view from our 4th floor suite was brilliant. The resort is well maintained and in a perfect position for the beaches, restaurants and shopping nearby. Nice pool, barbecue area and dock for fishing.
This would be a good weeks break following a hectic time in Orlando.I would have no hesitation in coming back again.

Room Tip: Looking for a nice bottle of wine, try Norms about 400 yards down the road - fantastic choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in Room 409 which has been updated throughout. Lovely view of the bay. Resort is directly across from Tradewinds and access card allows use of the Tradewinds beach chairs and pool. Kids (6&8) were happy to play in the large pool at Sunrise as well. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Skidders Restaurant is a great nearby family restaurant that was able to accommodate my daughter's milk, egg and nut allergies. Will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resorts

Address: 5445 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Resorts Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.