We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bon Aire Resort Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bon Aire Resort Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4350 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old school charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Picked the Bon Aire as half of our party had stayed here 20 odd years earlier and after reading the many reviews on Trip Advisor. It really is a picture perfect, old style motel, right on the beach and straight out of a 50's or 60's movie set. Reception right out front and the rooms flanking either side of the central car parking area with the pool to the rear and the Tiki Bar, beach and the ocean beyond. The location is stunning, St Pete Beach really is incredible and although it blew a gale for the two days that we stayed there we still enjoyed strolling along the beach, even though we couldn't lay on it. Pool area is quite small but about average for the size of the property. The rooms that we had ( two adults in one and two adults and one teen in the other ) were clean and tidy but did seem old fashioned and in need of refurbishment. Having said that it did rather add to the charm of of the Bon Aire but it may not suit everybodys taste if they are used to staying in a more contemporary accomodation. A great stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    64
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
67
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's not a chain motel/resort, It's family owned. Very clean,fresh and updated rooms,friendliest staff I've come across in along time.Right on the beach,it's a short walk to the waters edge,and great seating for some Outstanding sunsets..There's a Tiki Bar beachside ,ice cold beer,great mixed drinks and sandwiches.Walking distance to some great local eateries..Usually stay bay-side ,in order to bring boat,will be leaving the boat home some and come here now.

Room Tip: Look at the room descriptions and map provided,on their site, this is an older facility, but you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Perfect hotel right on the beach! Great tiki bar that serves a very nice variety of food items, all good! Publix nearby, great Italian bakery across the street and Italian restaurant. Easy and relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We go to the Bon Aire every year. This year we brought 16 friends with us and they all loved it. This hotel is not a big chain hotel, it is family run. It is right on the beach and has a tiki bar on premises with good food and drinks! You really cannot find a better hotel on the beach for the price. We love the staff, especially Theresa, Jackie, Richard, Jenna, Leslie, and of course, Hot Alex.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beech grove,in
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We enjoy the Bon Aire year after year. The staff is great and we feel like family. The view of the beach is the best, and dont forget to try a burger at Sand Bar Bill's.

Buddy and Lori Templin
Beech Grove, IN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

After reading many good reviews about the Bon Aire, we decided to give it a try. It is an old place but has been kept up pretty well. Our room was clean and large, although not worth the money that was spent per night. You could see sunlight through the front door and the doors within the room didn't want to shut easily. The pools are nice and the hamburgers are really good at the bar. It is definitely a party place, so if you are looking for somewhere quiet, I wouldn't suggest staying here. But that didn't bother us at all. Here is why I would never stay here again. The customer service is atrocious. The only good service we encountered was the bartender during the day and the night time clerk. The day time clerks were rude and not helpful at all. It was as if we were bothering them and didn't care at all about anything we said. The hotel industry is a customer service industry. Apparently, the office people didn't get the memo. It is unfortunate, because I think this place would be a neat place to go back too - if you don't mind an older style motel and people who like to party.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have been frequenting the Bon Aire for years as a local. Now that we have moved away I cherish short visits back. I am never disappointed and hope to return again, as often as possible. This family-run business has several long-time staff, like Jackie & Leslie, who greet you like old friends. Since the passing of owner Bill, the Curotto family has been intently focused on keeping the hotel a welcoming spot on beautiful St. Pete Beach. I have brought many friends, and made dear friends along the way to this family owned and run locale. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. There is a reason visitors return year after year. -L.Eckart, Brooksville, FL

Room Tip: Any room is a short walk to the pool, beach or tiki bar. Choose what works for your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bon Aire Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Aire Resort Motel

Also Known As:
Bon Aire Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bon Aire Hotel
Hotel Bon Aire
Bon Aire Resort Motel Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Address: 4350 Gulf Boulevard, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bon Aire Resort Motel 3*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bon Aire Resort Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bon Aire Resort Motel to your Saves list