We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing Stay for an Exceptional Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Tides Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Tides Inn
Save
You added Gulf Tides Inn to your Saves list
600 68th Ave, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and Relaxing Stay for an Exceptional Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked this hotel based on all of the reviews, and I'm so glad we did. Everyone kept writing about Dave, the owner, and how accommodating and friendly he was - and they were all correct. He was happy to provide recommendations on everything in the area from activities to restaurants. We saw him each day and he was always sure to ask how everything was going and wasn't shy to strike up a conversation. He also let us preview our room before we paid to make sure everything was adequate.

We booked an efficiency room and it was more than enough space for just the two of us. The small kitchen was great for making a few of our own meals and we did use the outdoor grill once for dinner. The only negative thing about the room was the water pressure in the shower - it was pretty low. Oh well....just a longer, more relaxing shower!

The pool was fantastic. There were more than enough chairs for all of the guests. Very quiet and relaxing - all you could hear were the swaying palm trees. Most of the rooms were booked while we were there, but there still weren't more than a few people around the pool whenever we were laying out. The beach was very close by - it didn't take more than 3 minutes to walk there. There were also a lot of great restaurants to walk to. We enjoyed quick meals and drinks at Rick's Reef a few times, which is right behind Gulf Tides. You're right in the heart of St. Pete and close to everything. There is even a free shuttle that will take you anywhere you need to go that's a little further away. We barely used our rental car.

Overall, Gulf Tides is an exceptional value for the service you receive here. I would take this place over any of those bigger resort properties that could care less about customer service. Hopefully we can return again next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
133
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chadderton Lancs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our first visit to Florida did not disappoint. Dave told us lots of places to go to eat and visit.The acommodation was like home from home and there were some very helpful and friendly returning guests staying which made our holiday.
Everything you could have wanted was there, even chairs and unbrellas for the beach.
Its also amazing value for money. It was sheer luck we got a cancellation.
We really enjoyed our time there and would have no hesitation in recommending it although I am tempted to keep this little gem to ourselves!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I'm almost nine months late writing this review so my exact memories are fuzzy, but let me just say that Gulf Tides is an amazing value if you are visiting St. Pete Beach. My partner and I visited for a wedding in May 2012 and, while our relatives stayed at the fancy hotels up the street, the only advantage they had was being right on the beach. Their rooms, though twice the price, were mediocre at best. Our rooms were perfectly clean, had kitchenware, a nice, hot shower, and everything we needed.

Dave went above and beyond his duty in helping us get around St. Pete and, embarrassingly, showed up in timely fashion despite being awoken late one night when we looked ourselves out of our room.

If you visit St. Pete Beach and are willing to drive two minutes to the ocean, this is the hotel for you. You will not get better service anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hospitality of the owner/innkeeping cannot be matched by a concierge in an expensive hotel. Dave's restaurant recommendations ranged from the high end to the local grouper fish joint down the road. We are most grateful that he told us about Mazzaro's, the authentic Italian market, a few miles away. It which like revisiting Italy which I have traveled to in May.
We liked the proximity to the beach for walking as well as the central location for driving north to Tarpon Springs (with a delightful Greek history) to the Art Museum in downtown St Pete's.
It seems that a majority of the guests return year after year which lends to a certain camaraderie around the perfectly clean pool.

Room Tip: The bedroom in Room 10 backs up to a small, sort of seedy motel that places a table for smoking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Recently returned from a week at the Gulf Tides Inn. The reviews are to be trusted. Location is great. Just a short walk to the beautiful beach. Accomodation is excellent. Rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. Swimming pool and surrounding facilities are spot on. Dave makes everyone feel at home and is a great guide for the area. Easy both to feel part of a community and also more than possible to have a quiet time too. Would recommend this establishment to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We go to FL to relax so Saint Pete's beach is perfect b/c it isn't too touristy. My husband and I really enjoy our one-week vacations here in late August. Dave and family are always extremely friendly, accommodating and genuinely concerned that we enjoy our stay. Rooms are simple but very clean and come with everything you need. Pool area has swings, plenty of tables and chairs. Beach is a block or two away. We pull our things in a wagon and stay at the beach all day. Good restaurants around we walk to or we drive a short ways to Clearwater or John's Pass if we need more action. All this and a great price seals the deal for us each year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

And yes, Dave is great and so are the rooms! Heated pools and a block from the beach which is beautiful. Very relaxing trip and all of Dave's restaurant recommendations were good. Nice new bathroom was a plus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides Inn

Address: 600 68th Ave, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gulf Tides Inn. We are a family owned and operated inn located on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. We offer beautiful apartment suites and efficiencies for your comfort during your stay in Florida. Come and enjoy our wonderful amenities, our large heated pool, free wireless internet, BBQ grill, laundry facilities, free in room safes, hairdryers, complimentary toiletries welcome set and many, many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Tides Motel
Gulf Tides Inn Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.