We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springboard Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Tides Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Tides Inn
Save
You added Gulf Tides Inn to your Saves list
600 68th Ave, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Maumee, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Springboard Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hospitality of the owner/innkeeping cannot be matched by a concierge in an expensive hotel. Dave's restaurant recommendations ranged from the high end to the local grouper fish joint down the road. We are most grateful that he told us about Mazzaro's, the authentic Italian market, a few miles away. It which like revisiting Italy which I have traveled to in May.
We liked the proximity to the beach for walking as well as the central location for driving north to Tarpon Springs (with a delightful Greek history) to the Art Museum in downtown St Pete's.
It seems that a majority of the guests return year after year which lends to a certain camaraderie around the perfectly clean pool.

Room Tip: The bedroom in Room 10 backs up to a small, sort of seedy motel that places a table for smoking and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
133
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Recently returned from a week at the Gulf Tides Inn. The reviews are to be trusted. Location is great. Just a short walk to the beautiful beach. Accomodation is excellent. Rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. Swimming pool and surrounding facilities are spot on. Dave makes everyone feel at home and is a great guide for the area. Easy both to feel part of a community and also more than possible to have a quiet time too. Would recommend this establishment to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We go to FL to relax so Saint Pete's beach is perfect b/c it isn't too touristy. My husband and I really enjoy our one-week vacations here in late August. Dave and family are always extremely friendly, accommodating and genuinely concerned that we enjoy our stay. Rooms are simple but very clean and come with everything you need. Pool area has swings, plenty of tables and chairs. Beach is a block or two away. We pull our things in a wagon and stay at the beach all day. Good restaurants around we walk to or we drive a short ways to Clearwater or John's Pass if we need more action. All this and a great price seals the deal for us each year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

And yes, Dave is great and so are the rooms! Heated pools and a block from the beach which is beautiful. Very relaxing trip and all of Dave's restaurant recommendations were good. Nice new bathroom was a plus!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We're just back from our first stay at Gulf Tides. It's a very relaxing place, with a nice pool or a short walk to Upham Beach, very clean, great rates, and Dave is always available. He had really good suggestions for local restaurants. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Gulf Tides Inn is an absolute gem of a place in St. Pete Beach. Having never been to St. Pete before all I had to go on were the Trip Advisor reviews....I'm glad I listened. I thought it perhaps such a small place could rank so high, however I took a chance and am thankful for that. There aren't many units so book early but they are spacious, extremely clean, and modern and up-to-date. The proprietor, Dave, is the real deal...whether it is advice where to eat (he batted 1000 with us) or where to go he can hook you up. He is an absolute delight and is genuinely interested in not only your well-being and comfort but that you have an enjoyable time at his establishment and in St. Pete. I cannot recommend it highly enough....you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coley's Point
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We arrived October 30,2012 after a long flight and was greeted by a smiling face and a big welcoming "Come on in..so nice to see you again"...yes this would be Dave!!...We had some close friends with us this year and we planned on staying for two weeks instead of the three days we spent here last year. We were not disappointed ! Our friends (first timers at Dave's) could not believe how well they were treated and the beautiful place this was..they will be returning in the future. Keep up the good work Dave ..your the "Best On The Beach" !!

Room Tip: Get the One Bedroom With A Bathtub....that's the only thing that our friends wished they had bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Tides Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides Inn

Address: 600 68th Ave, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gulf Tides Inn. We are a family owned and operated inn located on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. We offer beautiful apartment suites and efficiencies for your comfort during your stay in Florida. Come and enjoy our wonderful amenities, our large heated pool, free wireless internet, BBQ grill, laundry facilities, free in room safes, hairdryers, complimentary toiletries welcome set and many, many more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Tides Motel
Gulf Tides Inn Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Tides Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.