We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Gate Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Gate Resort
Save
You added Gulf Gate Resort to your Saves list
111 Fiftieth Avenue West, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here for 14 nights with our young kids. We found the unit to be excellent. The staff are wonderful, so nice and very welcoming. We have stayed in several places along St Pete but Gulf Gate really shines for us. Its ideal for families with small kids, quiet and great access to the beach. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
29
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Syrcause, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I spent 4 nights here with my wife and two girls (ages 11, 14) without a drop of rain and temps in the high 80s everyday. This was such a nice vacation after a long hard winter in upstate NY. The room #507 and resort was accurately described. This bay view room had great sunrise view. We enjoyed being right on the beach and used the pool a lot too. Being on the 5th floor was a little inconvenient if you had to make a few trips to the room but the view was good from the balcony. Besides the beach, highlights of our trip included Skidder's restaurant and parasailing on the "Air Force One" at Captain Mike's (just south on the beach). Both were within walking distance. Also within walking distance was a Publix, Village Inn (great pie & coffee), and the Beach Mart. We also took the car to Siesta Key one day and to "The Pier" in St Petersburg one evening. I'd definitely consider staying here again if in St. Pete Beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Stayed in room #502 found it clean with everything we needed and a great view of the gulf.This resort is what I would call a "sleeper". It doesn't jump right out at you when you drive by, it is very laid back and our room was quiet and peaceful we did not here any noise from other units. Had a reserved private covered parking spot.Modern kitchen with marble counter tops,three flat screen tv's,nice balcony overlooking the beach.My contact with the staff was always pleasant. You basically check in and do your thing.You can walk to several shops,places to eat.Lots to do just a short drive away.Baseball,museums,shopping,etc..If you want wild and crazy this is not for you.If you want a peaceful,quiet vacation this is your place.

Room Tip: Peaceful,casual,great beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed for 7 days in March in apartment 503 (top floor, one bedroom, beach view). The apartments are old but modifiactions have been made in the apartment we occupied. A modern fridge/freezer, stove and microwave have been installed in the kitchen. Kitchen and bathroom cabinet doors need replacing as most were chipped at the bottom. Fittings in bathroom (1 1/2 baths) also need replacing. However on the plus side, the living room and the bedroom were both large and well furnished. The balcony provided great views of St. Pete's Beach. Flat screen TV in living room and older TV in bedroom. Decoration clean and bright. Hallways a bit dingy and entrance has a 'musty' smell. On arrival I thought what have we let ourselves in for, but overall cannot have any complaint with the apartment and would stay there again. Publix supermarket within walking distance as are a number of restaurants. A trolly bus runs frequently up the Clearwater and a day tickets costs only $4.50 - great value for money!
I

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

A very old property- our condo has seen better days. For the money, it is overpriced. Very noisy, thin walls. Very poor sleep quality, noise from road and other people. Crummy blinds do nothing to block out the outside lights at night. Would not recommend. There is nothing major wrong, but it would be better to look elsewhere. The hot tub will only hold 2 people comfortably. The pool is tiny.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at condo 507 and it is such a nice place. Everything you need is there
and the view from the balcony over the Boca Ciega Bay is stunning. The resort itself is really laid back and the people are very nice and helpful. It attracts people who are looking for peace and quiet and that creates the pleasant atmosphere. The pool/spa area is great, nice beds a room for everybody and the beach is so close by, clean and quiet.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We really had a nice stay at your lovely condo 507 It' nicely decorated and had everything we needed. The king size bed slept comfortably.
We really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The fireworks were awesome .The parking place was perfect. Anna Marie at Gulf Gate Resort was so nice and friendly .We hope to come back again. Maybe next year as the weather was beautiful and so was looking out at the Bay. Thank you so much for letting us stay there.

Thanks again,
J & H

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Gate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Gate Resort

Address: 111 Fiftieth Avenue West, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, Gulf Gate Resort features large balconies which allow each guest to bask in the Florida sun and witness the spectacular sunsets that our area is known for.Amenities include a swimming pool, jacuzzi, exercise room, billiards room and a pavilion area for Bar-B-Qs and gatherings. No streets to cross, just walk out your door and enjoy the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Gate Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Gulf Gate Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Gate Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.