We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He swings and it's back, back, oh it went foul.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
GreenLeadersGold level
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
“He swings and it's back, back, oh it went foul.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

SOOOO close to a home run. The property itself is in great shape, newly remodeled and a very large room. Granite kitchen, new large tile floors, kitchen table for a larger family. Modern TV's, great location next to Walgreens and close to Publix. It's great having the use of the other beachside facilities. They spent a great deal of attention to detail to so many things except for a few.......sigh

The furniture and the bedding were terrible. I just could never get a good nights sleep. The beds were so springy and the linens just uncomfortable. The tiny pull out couch bed was terrible and the couch itself was also terrible.

EVERYTHING else was spectacular. Hottest shower in town, relaxing doc out back with fishing, very clear water in the pool. But please don't forget the most important thing a hotel should be, a good nights sleep. My groom actually had a crook in his neck for his wedding day. Fail

Please know, I so badly want to give it a five out of five.

Room Tip: bring your own pillows and something to lay on top of the bed.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. They even rec'd a reward for that.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you found the large room updated and modern, and enjoyed our location and beach access. I do apologize if the beds did not allow for restful sleep. I want to assure everyone that we are getting all new bedding and linens in December. I welcome you to come back and give us another “at-bat” so we can hit a “grand slam” with you!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    92
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
134
161
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A well-established, hidden gem of a resort right in the middle of everything on St. Pete Beach! This hotel and sister properties next door and across the main drag certainly provide all the amenities to make a vacation to this area complete. Quiet fishing and marine life on the bay side, relaxing, clear water beach on the Gulf side. Two pools, pet fun area, putting green, laundry room, waterfront decks, "tiki" tables, bbq pits, hammocks, sand volleyball, Gulf beach, complimentary social hour. How cool is that? The quaintness, charm and old-fashioned attention to details found here give the newer, "big name" neighboring resorts a true run for their money, and, not to mention, our stay proved to be a great value. The friendly, personable and professional staff we encountered ensured a comfortable and enjoyable stay. There are many shops, restaurants, convenience and grocery stores within walking distance, including an Italian bakery and eatery right next door! We had the opportunity to share a few accolades about this hotel with other guests - some who have made this resort their number one destination each year for over fifteen years! If we have the chance to return to St. Pete Beach again, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort will definitely be on our radar of number one places to stay too!

Room Tip: We were given a surprisingly unexpected room upgrade to an apartment-style (living room/kitchen/bedr...
See more room tips
Green Features: While the room we stayed in had various signage boasting about the resort's environmentally-friendly practices, the words were humble and "quiet" enough to not shift responsibility to guests who might expect the luxuries of a inclusive, care-free stay. And, I appreciated this, thanks!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your detailed FIVE Star review of your stay at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. I’m glad you appreciated the overall value of staying with us vs. some of the other local hotels. With all of the things included absolutely free, without pesky extra charges, we truly do offer the best value on St Pete Beach for your hard earned dollars. I look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you back here!

Robert Czyszczon, General Manger
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the first time and we were impressed how clean our room was. Everyone from the front desk personnel to housekeeper with big smile (Inga, I think her name was) was very friendly and professional. Thank you, guys! We'll come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenstein, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

St. Pete Florida has some of the best beaches in the world with great sunsets! Fine sugar sand and warm clear water, whole family had a great time swimming, fishing and sunbathing. The weather was perfect, in the 80's daytime, and in the 60's at night. The Bay Palms Resort is on the bay side of the island so we fished off the pier, sunbathed on the deck, swam in the pool when not playing at the beach. Manatees swim up to the deck with their babes which the kids loved. This is not a cookie cutter resort where your one in a million, but a small family run place with a local flavor. Office staff is nice and our house keeper Inga kept, our rooms very clean and well stocked. Shopping is wonderful with food stores, bakery and pharmacy within walking distance. Over all a great relaxing vacation with the family in the sun. Can't wait till next year.

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are much better, parking is one car only.
See more room tips
Green Features: We recycled all of our recyclables with the hotel, housekeeping cleans it all every day but sunday
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked the room a couple months in advance. I had requested a beach view, but didn't realize that was their hotel across the street. They gave me the bay view room--which was absolutely beautiful! Waking up and walking outside and seeing that breathtaking view was amazing! Room was super clean, nice deck area to sit outside and socialize! Very friendly staff! I hope to return again!

Room Tip: ground level room 10, beautiful view
See more room tips
Green Features: Bay palms provides you with a bag if you need to go shopping or take things to the beach as opposed to using plastic bags
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Bay Palms Waterfront resort
The staff were really helpful The rooms were spacious with a modern kitchenette and cleaned well every day
Pool towels were readily available and changed as often as we needed
We preferred being on the Bay Side. Loads of shade when needed and a lovely view of the creek and plenty of marine life to watch Gorgeous sunrise each morning and we had the Bay Palms pool to ourselves for almost all the two weeks we were there The pool was warm too !
The main hotel was easily reached where we could access the beach the bigger pool and a lovely sunset A nice touch was free wine and beer for guests every day between 4-5pm
Loads of shops and places to eat nearby and no need to hire a car with the Central Avenue and Suncoast trolleys running so often Seniors get a discount on the trolleys - really good value for an all day ticket
The whole complex is excellent value We would definitely go again

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Liz,

Thank you very much for an excellent Five Star review for the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina. Our exclusive boutique resort is very private, so much that we were sold out nearly your entire stay, yet you still felt as if you were the only ones here. I’m glad you found our resorts to be an excellent value. I welcome you back the next time you cross the pond!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was traveling with my mother, my friend and my 3 small children and we loved it here. It was so beautiful and tranquil. The view from our terrace was amazing. We were able to see a pod of dolphins swimming across the bay after they frolicked below the neighboring dock for a few minutes.

We were upgraded to the suite on the second level and the room was very clean and modern. We ate our meals on the terrace and just enjoyed the outdoor space. It is a small hotel so there were not many people around so it felt very private.

It the morning we walked across the street to find a beautiful beach that was not crowded at all and this was Saturday. Also, we were allowed to leave our car for the day after we checked out so that we could spend more time on the beach!

We can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We had the bay-side upstairs suite which I would say would have the nicest views but there is a larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay, which boasts one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.