We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, but just a few things....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good stay, but just a few things....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bay Palms for 5 nights. This bay side complex for the most part has been upgraded with many obvious improvements and the unit we stayed in was very clean. We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe unit & while our stay was quite comfortable there were just a couple of things we do wish we'd known ahead of time or that could have enhanced our vacation. We had read on their website that our unit offered a full kitchen & use of barbeques. We did our grocery shopping prior to check in since we were early. Unfortunately their full kitchen did not include an oven & their cook-top range was only a small 3 burner unit. I had to try to cook our lasagna as well as chicken fingers & fries in either a small microwave or a single frying pan. Really not full cooking facilities for a family of 5 or 6 if you are hoping to do all of your own cooking to minimize eating out. We had also purchased hamburgers we had hoped to barbeque but found out later that the barbeques are charcoal burning which we were not prepared for. Again a frying pan dinner, which was a bit of a let down when you are anticipating a barbequed hamburger. We were not alone in our disappointment with this discovery as other guests had also thought to have read about gas grills on the website. To add to our cooking challenges, our smoke detector was found in the entry way hall, which doubled as our kitchen. This alarm went off every time we cooked on the stove top or made toast in the toaster on the kitchen counter. We took to toasting our bagels on the living room floor to try to avoid disturbing our neighbors with the alarm. Also would like to note that the pest control service came & sprayed our unit while my husband and I as well as 3 children were in the unit. I came out of the bathroom to see him finishing up & promptly suggested we all go out for awhile as I was concerned about of the safety of this.
I also just wanted to mention that it was a little inconvenient that the office at this complex never seemed to be open. We had read that fishing poles were available for use but were never able to find anyone to obtain the fishing poles from even though we could see them leaning against the glass window within the office. I realize we could have made the trek down the road to the main office to try to find someone who could help us, but you get a little weary of that after a few trips down the road to obtain & then return beach/pool towels at the main resort.
On the plus side, the 3 children with us did enjoy watching other guests, who had brought their own fishing rods, catching fish. The underwater lights at night really do attract a lot of fish and a fellow guest told us that he had seen a dolphin chasing some of these fish by the pier late 1 evening. The deck was a peaceful, quiet area for relaxing. Our unit was very spacious with convenient dispensers for soap/shampoo/conditioner. I have no doubt that a lot of these issues will eventually be addressed as they appear to be working hard at improving their amenities & facilities. However, if I had read about a few of these issues ahead of time, I may have arrived a little better prepared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your recent stay. We have undergone several upgrades throughout the property – thank you for noticing. I'm also happy that you found our property peaceful, quiet and restful. However, I do apologize that you had a few issues that were not communicated to you. You did mentioned our rooms not having ovens. Yes, that is correct, none of our rooms have ovens, it's just too big of a liability. Our website shows that we do have “full kitchen with full size refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, ceramic glass top cook top, microwave oven and all utensils”, but we don't have ovens. As for pest control it is done monthly as a prevention and is safe for adults, children and pets. If it were not safe, we would not be able to do it while guests were currently occupying a room. You are correct about the office at Bay Palms never being open. That is because that office is permanently closed and all needs are handled at our beachfront resort, which is just 100 yards away. This issue has already been mentioned many times in prior reviews, however as I have mentioned, it's not feasible at this time. We do have staff present at the Bay Palms daily and if you called the main office we would have been more than happy to provide you with specific information or had our staff assist you at the Bay Palms. I believe that overall you had a great overall stay, with the exception of a few minor inconveniences that you were not aware of. I again apologize for that and we will work on providing more explanations to guest.

We hope to see your family again and remember you can “Stay at One Resort, Play at all Three Resorts”. Our family has been in the hotel business for since 1988 and strives to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again for your review and I welcome you back for another visit to beautiful St Pete Beach.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    102
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
143
175
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Once again there were more improvements to the entire complex. We were delighted with the blue ceilings and crown molding and the larger bedroom. The new walkway to the Bayview was another added feature that we liked and especially the "Pet Pottie" that made our walking of the dog much more pleasurable.

The maid service is excellent and we can't praise Inga enough. We also felt that "Z", her sub, was very good.

Room Tip: Staying by the bay gives one the chance to see manatees and the water is right at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for giving the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina a 5-star review! We have made many changes around the property since your last visit. We’re fortunate to have GREAT repeat guests come back year after year, many like yourself who get the same room each time. As Bay Palms Waterfront Resort – Hotel and Marina does have pet friendly rooms, we are always trying to improve and enhance stays for all of our guests, even the four-legged ones. Thank you for mentioning our great housekeeping staff. I’ll be sure to pass on your praises.

You are absolutely right, It is wonderful to be able to see dolphins and manatees right outside your door!

See you next year!

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts
“Traditions Start Here”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from 7 glorious days at Bay Palms Resort. This makes 3 years in a row that we've enjoyed their hospitality. And every year, there's something new which has been added to make the stay even more enjoyable. This year it was the comfort of knowing that the new security doors with the digital passkey entry will assure everyone of a good night's sleep - not that there was ever a concern about security, but it's nice to know that the management is always looking out for the best for their guests. As in the past, our stay was peaceful and quiet (OK, there was the German "oom-pah" music that someone liked to listen to); the deluxe one bedroom suite we had was very comfortable and overlooked the pool but was the quietest room we've had yet and everyone is determined to make sure you have the best possible stay. Ewa at the front desk and the housekeeper, Inga, were two of the wonderful staff who always had a smile on their faces; and, of course, Robert is always around to check on something or say "hi". It was delightful to see his two young children help him close up the pool one evening!

If you're looking for a serene and comfortable inn that's "near the action" but "far from the madding crowd", I would highly recommend Bay Palms Resort. The suites provide a well-equipped eating area (bring your own food, tho), updated bathroom and spotlessly clean sitting area and bedroom(s). Sunning on the large deck is terrific; the pool is small but spotless. There are just too, too many great things to write down about Bay Palms - you have to actually experience them all for yourself! Make your reservation, then sit back and relax!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This group of charming small hotels have rooms right on the ocean and across the street bayside - so no matter where you stay you're close to the water! All the rooms have been recently remodeled and are spotlessly clean. Most have their own private balconies or outdoor patio area, and there are many extra amenities such as several laundry rooms - which can really come in handy when you're on the road for a while! Extremely friendly front desk service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your Excellent Review of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina on St Pete Beach. You are well-traveled, and an excellent review from you really means a lot to me. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spotless. You are absolutely right about all three of our small hotels, they are all waterfront both beachside and bayside, and you are a guest of all three hotels. We recommend that all our quest explore all three properties, “Stay at One Resort, Play at All Three Resorts”

We have even more great ideas planned for 2013 so I hope to see you back again soon.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife came for a teachers conference where the price to stay was not in our price range.
We found The Bay Palms Waterfront Resort to be a VERY NICE place to stay.
The price to me was very reasonable,the Entire staff were ALWAYS SO NICE, and happy to be of help with anything we needed.
The rooms were Super clean and well appointed, And the property very clean and well kept!
We will be back for weekend getaways!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zgierz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were out of luck this season for getting the suite in Bayview Plaza next door, where we spent a wonderful vacation the year before, but we got one in Bay Palms instead. Hooked on the breathtaking vistas through the huge balcony door, we were not convinced, but instead of the huge window we were greeted to more modern appointments, 2 huge flatscreen TV's, three separate rooms, a comfy sofa and a well equipped kitchenette. (Actually, we have found out that the suite in Bayview has since been refurbished with some fresh equipment as well, but we didn't care so much anymore). And we soaked the view of the bayou and its wildlife from the patio instead, which is pleasantly shaded in the afternoon. Everything was kept tidy non-stop, and the room service ladies and maintenance people went out of their way to make sure we had the towels etc., always with a kind word and a smile. The owners themselves can often be seen busy making improvements in their several hotels and making sure the guests are OK, without making a fuss about it, either. Nice, friendly people who take good care of the place.

The swimming pool is not something an avid swimmer or a water polo party could knock themselves out in, but it is clean, pretty, and not a sweaty hot soup as pools tend to be in other hotels in Florida.
The parking lot is on the small side, too, but if occasionally there was no spot left, the bigger parking lot of Bayview is literally a few steps away.
There is no proper reception in the hotel open in the late afternoon, but that has never been a problem with us, the reception in the hotel half a block away can be called anytime.
All in all, we loved the place. Next year, however, we will try and make sure we get the suite in Bayview, as nothing beats the little bay's sunrise tickling your feet in the morning :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our third year in a row to one of the Plaza Beach Resorts. We had a nice spacious one bedroom suite, with a huge living area, a kitchen, and two outside seating areas. Ask for a room overlooking the marina, rather than the main road for a little more privacy. Two of the Plaza Beach resorts allow dogs which was critical for us. There is a small area to bring your dog, plus a little fenced-in dog park. There are also plenty of side streets to walk down right around the corner between Walgreens and GiGi's. The grounds at the Bay Palms were beautifully kept and all pet owners were respectful of everyone.
The Proprieter and GM, Robert, could be seen out and about working along side the rest of the staff. Katie in the office was extremely helpful upgrading us to a nicer room. I had made my reservation using a travel site instead of directly with the hotel. Big mistake. The travel site did not communicate properly to the hotel our special requests. However, Katie took the time to be sure we had everything we needed. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.