We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Extremely clean and charming small hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Extremely clean and charming small hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This group of charming small hotels have rooms right on the ocean and across the street bayside - so no matter where you stay you're close to the water! All the rooms have been recently remodeled and are spotlessly clean. Most have their own private balconies or outdoor patio area, and there are many extra amenities such as several laundry rooms - which can really come in handy when you're on the road for a while! Extremely friendly front desk service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your Excellent Review of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina on St Pete Beach. You are well-traveled, and an excellent review from you really means a lot to me. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms spotless. You are absolutely right about all three of our small hotels, they are all waterfront both beachside and bayside, and you are a guest of all three hotels. We recommend that all our quest explore all three properties, “Stay at One Resort, Play at All Three Resorts”

We have even more great ideas planned for 2013 so I hope to see you back again soon.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts – St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    92
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
133
161
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sebring, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife came for a teachers conference where the price to stay was not in our price range.
We found The Bay Palms Waterfront Resort to be a VERY NICE place to stay.
The price to me was very reasonable,the Entire staff were ALWAYS SO NICE, and happy to be of help with anything we needed.
The rooms were Super clean and well appointed, And the property very clean and well kept!
We will be back for weekend getaways!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zgierz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were out of luck this season for getting the suite in Bayview Plaza next door, where we spent a wonderful vacation the year before, but we got one in Bay Palms instead. Hooked on the breathtaking vistas through the huge balcony door, we were not convinced, but instead of the huge window we were greeted to more modern appointments, 2 huge flatscreen TV's, three separate rooms, a comfy sofa and a well equipped kitchenette. (Actually, we have found out that the suite in Bayview has since been refurbished with some fresh equipment as well, but we didn't care so much anymore). And we soaked the view of the bayou and its wildlife from the patio instead, which is pleasantly shaded in the afternoon. Everything was kept tidy non-stop, and the room service ladies and maintenance people went out of their way to make sure we had the towels etc., always with a kind word and a smile. The owners themselves can often be seen busy making improvements in their several hotels and making sure the guests are OK, without making a fuss about it, either. Nice, friendly people who take good care of the place.

The swimming pool is not something an avid swimmer or a water polo party could knock themselves out in, but it is clean, pretty, and not a sweaty hot soup as pools tend to be in other hotels in Florida.
The parking lot is on the small side, too, but if occasionally there was no spot left, the bigger parking lot of Bayview is literally a few steps away.
There is no proper reception in the hotel open in the late afternoon, but that has never been a problem with us, the reception in the hotel half a block away can be called anytime.
All in all, we loved the place. Next year, however, we will try and make sure we get the suite in Bayview, as nothing beats the little bay's sunrise tickling your feet in the morning :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our third year in a row to one of the Plaza Beach Resorts. We had a nice spacious one bedroom suite, with a huge living area, a kitchen, and two outside seating areas. Ask for a room overlooking the marina, rather than the main road for a little more privacy. Two of the Plaza Beach resorts allow dogs which was critical for us. There is a small area to bring your dog, plus a little fenced-in dog park. There are also plenty of side streets to walk down right around the corner between Walgreens and GiGi's. The grounds at the Bay Palms were beautifully kept and all pet owners were respectful of everyone.
The Proprieter and GM, Robert, could be seen out and about working along side the rest of the staff. Katie in the office was extremely helpful upgrading us to a nicer room. I had made my reservation using a travel site instead of directly with the hotel. Big mistake. The travel site did not communicate properly to the hotel our special requests. However, Katie took the time to be sure we had everything we needed. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COROLLA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

First of all it is "pet friendly". The room was very clean and comfortable with a full kitchenette and table. Nice view of the water and very quiet. Spent 2 nites while visiting grandkids. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Adk for room overlooking water
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, General Manager at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your Wonderful review. I am so happy that you enjoyed the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina with your pet. Since we made a few of the rooms pet friendly, those few rooms have been a big hit. I'm so glad you discovered us and I look forward to see you your pet again when visiting the grandkids again.

Thank you for also mentioning that the staff was friendly and helpful, I will be sure to share your comment with them.

Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you in 2013

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

One of the best dog friendly hotels we stayed in. We had a great time and so did the dog. The hotel is well maintained. We stayed on the intercoastal Bay Palms which is connected to the Bayview and share the property. We stayed in the one bedroom deluxe that was large and clean. The floors are all tile. The Decor theme is definitely old Florida style but all new furniture.There is two docks for fishing or just lounging around watching the pelicans diving for fish. There is a big patio with a heated pool and barbecue grills. This is a family hotel so quiet hours are at 9 P.M. which we found great. If you like the nightlife there is plenty of places in walking distance for that. Fort Desoto park is only a couple of miles away and they have a great dog beach where Fido can play in the water or if your dog is not good with voice command they have 2 big fenced areas in the grass. One for small dogs and one for large dogs. Fort Desoto definitely is the best dog beach I have found so far. On the hotel property they have a smal grassy area for dog pottie and a little enclosed area on the patio for the dog to play. My dog didn't like either one but she loved the family park that is one block away. They have poop bags at the entrance so you don't have to bring your own. Pinellas county is real strict about cleaning up after Fido. There was two minor cons I found about the Bay Palms. One was the parking since it is right on Gulf Blvd and parking can be a challenge. But if you back into the space it makes it alot easier to get out. The second is the office isn't open 24 hours, but they do have an emergency number and they will take care of you promptly when you call. The bottom line this is great place to stay even if you aren't bringing Fido. But if you do bring Fido, then this place is a must.

David R

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside have a better view if you don't mind not having you car parked outside of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quaint, clean, close to almost everything and even tho it's on the main street...quiet. Well worth the money. Parking can be a challenge with all of the traffc..back in it will save you some time when it comes time to leave.Only spent one night there but would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay, which boasts one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.