We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely 4 stars!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina to your Saves list
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$5.00 BEST Rate Promise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Definitely 4 stars!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quaint, clean, close to almost everything and even tho it's on the main street...quiet. Well worth the money. Parking can be a challenge with all of the traffc..back in it will save you some time when it comes time to leave.Only spent one night there but would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    105
    25
    10
    9
See reviews for
152
179
31
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We returned to this group of resorts called Plaza Beach Resorts for our second visit in 2 months. This group consists of the Bay Palm, Bayview and Plaza Beach Resort. The Plaza is on the ocean front and the other 2 are side by side on the waterfront of the intercoastal. It is a small boutique resort that is very well maintained, comfortable, and relaxing. The best part is the huge deck area where you can enjoy the sun, shade under grass umbrellas, or even fish off the deck. There is one pool for both, but it is adequate enough. We stayed in the only 2 BD/ 2BA unit with kitchen and it was wonderful. It is on the second floor and has great views of the waterfront. We stayed at the Bayview in Sept and liked it so much we returned in Nov. Go to Rick's Reef about 2 miles north on Gulf Blvd for great food especially the burgers! All of the staff is very friendly and they even have a happy hour with free beer or wine. This is where many returning visitors find friends they met before here. Our only complaint was the beds. They were not comfortable - they need updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a late flight in and arrived after the office was closed. They left our key in an envelope and a letter with parking pass at the Main resort, not our resort we stayed at, in a drop box outside the office. The bed was like concrete. The key was just a standard house key not a card key that cannot be as easily duplicated. Over all the room was very clean but the couches were more comfortable than the bed. The water was labled wrong as to the hot and cold side. and nothing was offered to accomidate our original unhappy arrival. Not worth the 100+ per night we paid. could have stayed more comfortably in a cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize that our resort was not what you expected. St Pete Beach is a very safe area, and leaving a key in a drop box for late arrivals is very common here. Our office hours are 7:30am to 11:00pm seven days a week and then we provide a phone number to our afterhours manager on duty from during the night.

I apologize that you were not happy with the standard key that was issued. It's the same style key that 99% of homes in America use, however, I understand that you were expecting a card key. I am happy to let you know that in December of this year, we will be installing all new doors and RFID locks in all our rooms at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. These locks are so High-Tech, only Disney and a handful of other hotels even have them. We will be the first property on our island to have these locks.

I apologize that you did not find our bed comfortable and the water was labeled wrong, I will address these concerns with maintenance.

We are always improving our property and listening to guest comments and suggestions. If you read all our reviews, you will see that almost all of the review are Excellent or Very Good.
We are a family owned resort, I and the rest of the family are on property daily to ensure our guest have a enjoyable and memorable time. I welcome you back , especially after our new doors and locks are installed.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was fine. Beautiful view over the bay. The room was remodeled. It is a two floor hotel, so you might want on the ground floor because I don't know if there are stairs.

I stopped at the Florida Welcome Center and got their hotel coupon books. There was a coupon for $59 for 1-2 people at their sister property, Beach Plaza (and they put you here), but they let us have a room with double beds for that (and three people including my two year old). The only slight downside is that you have to back out onto Gulf Blvd from the parking spots, but honestly traffic is fine during the day so it wasn't as bad as I expected. Also, they have coffee 8-11 at the sister property for free in the morning.

They did give us a discount for paying cash, so the total bill was $62 for a night there. People are great there, and the cleaning woman even saved a sippy cup we forgot in the room. Go to Gigis a short, short walk away.

Room Tip: Get the hotel books at the Florida Welcome Center for a coupon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my fiancée stayed here for a night on a recent holiday in Florida. What a little gem of a place! Absolutely magnificent, the double room we had was spotless, air con, decent shower, flat screen tv....and the stunning bay the hotel looked onto. Honestly if your looking for a short stay in st. Petes this is your place. The staff could not have been nicer and so helpful. Special mention to the manger who gave us good travel advice and things to around st. Petes, was a great help and made our visit. I could go on but honestly this is an excellent hotel and will 100% be back on my next visit. Thanks. Andrew & Jacqueline from Scotland.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just LOVE this place! Clean, friendly, staff always will to help you out. Even the clientel is friendly...this was my second year staying there and I know I will be returning! The location is great; beach right accross the street, plenty of restaurants/clubs within walking distance, trolly runs right along Gulf Blvd. and then the awesome "golf cart guy" that takes you wherever you want and you just have to tip him!
The deck outside the room is wonderful in the morning to just sit with your coffee to plan your day, sunrise and sunset unbelievable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza-Resorts_Owner, Owner at Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your Wonderful review and your return visit to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. I am very happy to hear that you and the girls had a great time. There is always something to do, as you mentioned, plenty of restaurants and beach-bars in walking distance.

Thank you again and we'll see you next year.

Robert Czyszczon
General Manager
Plaza Beach Resorts - St Pete Beach, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Completely refurbished as stated, top to bottom, nice fixtures & flat screen TV, great deck over the water with BBQ grills & all utensils provided. Cleanest value hotel I've ever stayed in. We had their smallest hotel room due to our late booking but it was fine for two nights. We were told no kitchen but it had a cute little alcove with a mini fridge, microwave, toaster, full coffee maker, set of plates & silverware and REAL coffee mugs. We wanted on the bay to fish and we could fish from our door. Very peaceful & quiet with residential homes on opposite side of bay. The entire property was well kept. You can use the beach at their sister property a few blocks down, very nice location. Very close to restaurants and grocery stores. Gigi's Italian restaurant is right next to hotel and one of my favorites. The staff was very friendly and professional. The girl I booked with on the phone remembered we wanted to fish and pointed out the nearest bait shop at check-in. If you want to avoid the large overpopulated "beach resorts", this is it! We felt like we were sitting on the water in our own back yard (with a few extra friends)!

Room Tip: Just ask the reservation agent about the different rooms, our's was very helpful describing them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina

Address: 4237 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated this year, Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina is a Florida Tropical boutique resort situated directly on the Boca Ciega Bay. Boasting one of the largest privately owned fishing piers in St Petersburg at 1,500 square feet. You can enjoy great fishing, watch the Manatees and Dolphins, or dock your boat. With a beautiful pool overlooking the Boca Ciega Bay this makes Bay Palms Waterfront Resort a perfect destination for relaxation, and best of all, it is only 200 feet from the beach. Room types range from spacious studio apartments with Full Kitchens to large One bedroom apartment suites. Best of all we have No Surprise Resort Fees, Enjoy everything the Bay Palms has to offer at no additional cost. We really mean it: FREE Fitness Room, FREE Wireless Internet, FREE Parking, FREE BBQ Area, and FREE Private Fishing Pier use. Our resort is Family Owned and Operated, and has been since 2008. The family is very active in the day to day operations, on property daily, with a great friendly staff ready to assist you with a genuine Florida vacation. Members of Superior Small Lodging Association and Approved by AAA for Quality and Standards, our resort is one of only a handful of resorts in Florida that has received the Green Lodging seal from the State of Florida as well as greenleaders gold award from tripadvisor for our effort in conserving and recycling. St Pete Beach is a 6-mile island and the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort is directly in the center of the island. Everything is in walking distance, the grocery store, restaurants and shopping is just across the street. As well as Deep Sea Fishing, Parasailing, Jet Skiing, Dolphin Cruises, Sunset Cruises and many different island cruises visiting the nearby islands. Best of all we are only 30 minutes from Busch Gardens and 90 minutes from Disney and all the Orlando Parks. Also as a guest of the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort you will have full access to the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort which is owned by the same family. You will have FREE full use of all the amenities at the Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort including: the private beach, large heated pool overlooking the beach, FREE Beach Cabanas, FREE Beach Towels, FREE Parking and many more amenities. We look forward to hosting you at the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. Try us, and see for yourself why so many people return to the Bay Palms Waterfront Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palms Waterfront Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Bay Palm Resort
Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel And Marina St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Palms Waterfront Resort - Hotel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.