We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great crab legs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oyster Shucker

The Oyster Shucker
650 Corey Avenue, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
727-363-4464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great crab legs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We wanted to try "all you can eat crab legs." the wait to be seated wasn't long. Salad bar was excellent. Once crab legs started, it was all good. Will deFinitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    21
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must stop and enjoy AYCE crab legs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

All the food we have ever had here is very good. The crab legs are awesome and are replenished frequently with another batch of piping hot crab legs. No waiting for refills. Fried okra here is very good too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Alicia is the BEST!! Crab legs are great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Ask for Alicia when you go!! She is the epitome a great server!! Very personable and friendly!! You don't see that very often these days. She actually looks and acts like she enjoys serving you....what a concept!! Crab legs are plentiful and cooked right. Another plus is that the owner is always very visible which I feel explains their success!! Got an issue? (Which you shouldn't.) Address it. She isn't hiding in the back. No need to dress up....just bring your appetite!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Drive an hour to eat here once a month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful view, friendly staff, Delicious crab legs. Most all you can eat places are very slow at refreshing your Crab Legs. Not here they keep them coming, before your done they will be right there with another serving. In all the times I have been here, I have not even once had to ask for more or sat with an empty plate. The owner is usually there over seeing everything. My husband and I drive an hour just to eat here. The crab is so delicious you don't need the butter sauce. Last night we were there and I ordered a glass of wine with dinner and they didn't skimp, the glass was full! And for wine drinkers you know this is rare. For $26.95 all you can eat tasty, delicious crab across the street from the beach, its a don't miss. One tip they don't open till four! We made the mistake of going for lunch to find out they are only open for Dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not necessarily family-friendly on a Saturday night :-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The food was okay, the servers were nice, and the crab legs just kept coming. In that regard, it was a nice seafood place and not too badly priced for what you get. Unfortunately, I won't return. The clientele seemed to be on the rather "seedy" side.

Sadly, there seemed to be quite a few loud-mouthed drunks dining there. There was a large table celebrating a birthday who for whatever reason often hooted and hollered and loudly expressed they didn't care if they were bothering anyone else in the restaurant because it was "all about them" as they put it. Then, as the place was clearing out a little, another diner, a tall, old, ignorantly racist drunk who seemed to be a regular (he knew servers by name and treated the place as if it were his own private dining room), had the gall to loudly share with the whole restaurant a disgusting, racist "joke" (nothing funny about it) using the "N-word". They should have kicked the disgusting old fool out, but instead there were hugs all around when he was finally leaving (by his appearance, it looked like he was probably a local who had money, and of course money talks).

At any rate, my search for a regular place to enjoy great seafood in St. Pete Beach will have to continue -- I won't be returning to "The Oyster Shucker.".

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Shucker also viewed

Saint Pete Beach, FL
 
Saint Pete Beach, FL
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to The Oyster Shucker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oyster Shucker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.