We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PJ's Oyster Bar Is Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PJ's Oyster Bar

PJ's Oyster Bar
7500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
+1 727-367-3309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 123 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: American, Oyster Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: PJ's St. Pete Beach is a family friendly seafood restaurant that serves fresh local seafood. Along with seafood we have the best ribs this side of St. Louis, awesome burgers, salads and chicken entrees. PJ's has a full bar with over 60 bottle beers and 8 beers on tap. We can accommodate large parties and have a private room available for meetings, rehearsal dinners and social gatherings. Please call for details.
Plant City, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“PJ's Oyster Bar Is Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I stopped in here for lunch this afternoon and we were glad to find this Mom & Pop type restaurant. Great selection of apps and entrees....something going on for just about every want. We started off w a dozen on the half shell. Spot on fresh and super ice cold! A squirt of fresh lemon along with a dab of the horseradish.... Mmmmmmm good. My wife had the fish n chips which was cod and I had the Grouper (Red & local) sandwich fried. We ordered fries and slaw with both. I normally don't get Red Grouper (personal preference to Black) but this sandwich was excellent & quite a large portion on a Kaiser roll. The Fish n Chips my wife had was comparable to some sold in The UK. Overall, PJ's is very good and we would return. Good food at very fair pricing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    162
    63
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riviere-du-Loup, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“On Vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Wow! If you are a raw oysters lover, that's the place. Good clam chowder too. We went four times in four weeks. You can eat inside or outside as it was in July we preferred being inside. People are all very courteous with us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Crammed into a warehouse atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am rating the new PJ's building in this review. The new building is nicer, newer, and larger... which means they can cram more people into one space. It is one big massive dinning hall, where you are less than a foot away from the table next to you. Waiters had to take a long way around to get to our table. There are no booths, no privacy, no intimacy. The sound echos and reverberates in the large warehouse dinning room, so you have to yell to talk. The food is fine, but it's not good enough to go back to this atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food and great service - it's where the locals go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This restaurant was highly recommended by a local while we were vacationing in the St. Pete's Beach area and we weren't disappointed. We had gator bites as an appetizer, grilled shrimp, and Grouper. All was cooked very well and had great flavor. There was a steady crowd that comes and goes. The paper towels hung from the ceiling for easy access. The service and staff were very attentive. I would definitely recommend this seafood restaurant. The menu was extensive and suited all tastes.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Gumbo and cheapest oysters on beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Every trip to St. Pete starts with a ceremonial trip to PJ's. They have the cheapest oysters on the half shell on the beach (under $10/doz.) and the best seafood gumbo! The gumbo is crammed with chunks of delicious fish, shrimp, and veggies. It is so thick you could eat it with a fork, but don't, you'll want to taste every drop. The also have a large selection of bottled beers from domestics to quality imports. The folks at PJ's are friendly and the casual atmosphere makes it family friendly and affordable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ's Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to PJ's Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ's Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.