We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Name Says it All” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wharf

The Wharf
2001 Pass A Grille Way, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4149
(727) 367-9469
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 123 Restaurants in St. Pete Beach
Price range: $1 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Waterfront Restaurant & Bar, Local Hangout, Open Air Bar, A/C dining room, Casual Attire, Daily Specials, AM & PM Happy Hours,Family Friendly, Friendly staff. Kid's Menu, There is not a lot of Old Florida left. You can get to us by boat, car or trolley. We offer a variety of items on our menu that can be fried, blackened or grilled. We have a variety of seafood, chicken, steak, ribs and the best burgers on the beach.Our menu can be found online. We have 13 flatscreens to watch your favorite sports. NFL/College/Big Ten/ SEC/ MLB. We have bucket and pitcher specials during all football games.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“The Name Says it All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This one was hard to rate. The place is rustic with a capital R, and we found that a very good thing. A fun place to go with another couple, which is what we did. You can sit outside (we did), they have gas heaters that will make it tolerable in December, but wear a windbreaker and you'll be comfy. The quaters are extremely tight and the seating minimalistic and rather uncomfortable. The seafood is fresh and the wait staff friendly and attentive. The problem was that the chef has evidently watched too much Food Network TV where the so-called pros scream for more salt; the food here was way too salty for everyone's taste, and that was too bad, because it would have otherwise been delicious. This is great place to go when you want something authentic (sans salt). Looks like a dump from the outside (part of its ultimate charm) and parking is oh-so tight and extremely limited. Sits right over the water like the name suggests and is a very good value over-all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    174
    57
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not our favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This restaurant/tavern came recommended to us, and we saw there were always cars parked in the lot at all hours, so we ate dinner here about halfway through our week in Pass-a-Grille. The food was heavy, bland, and not very tasty compared to other places we had eaten. We wished we had gone again to the restaurant just down from this one, Sea Critters, where the food was special and delicious. If you like "greasy spoon" local diners, you might prefer this one--but we can find those at home. Sea Critters, Dave's Dockside Grill, Sea Hag's were all much better in our opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Wayne, In
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I tried reviewing Wharf a few weeks ago but it did not post ? Food was bland, service was slow. This seems like more of a locals place, very dingy. Grouper was way better at Docksdie Daves Grill further up the beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Wharf in Pass A Grille is a pretty good restaurant. The food was good and plentiful, the prices were all right, but what made it stand out was the service Brandyn gave us. He was just super-friendly and really accommodating.

We sat inside because we had a group of 7 and I guess there isn't space outside for that number. It was nice enough inside, but nothing spectacular. The saltwater fish tank did impress us, though, because two of us have marine biology degrees but didn't recognize some of the fish, which were really cool looking. I do think it would have been nicer to be looking at the water.

We'll eat there again if we're in the area, and I'll recommend it to others.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Seafood by the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The food and service are excellent. The restaurant is on the intercoastal so you are right on the water. An excellent selection of seafood and also a nice selection of non seafood items for those who are not into seafood. Restaurant is a little tight inside but still comfortable. Parking can be an issue when they are busy but it is not a show stopper. Recommended to us by locals and we were not disappointed. Prices are reasonable, portion sizes are large and the quality is excellent. Servers are friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wharf also viewed

 

Been to The Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.