We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant

The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant
809 Gulf Way, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
(727) 360-9558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I expected to like the Hurricane because it's always busy, but I was disappointed in the quality of the food, especially for the prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    185
    145
    99
    116
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went with my husband to Hurricanes when we first arrived in St. Pete Beach. I was not impressed! The balcony was okay but they served me wine in a plastic $1 cup. We tried to eat dinner in their 2nd floor dining area but it was closed..we had to eat in their "cafe" area which was a very small space. Food was okay and very high priced. I personally didn't think it was worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid the "Grouper Paradise" - overpriced, underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I thought about having the grouper sandwich--maybe that would have been a better choice. I got the "Grouper Paradise" - the waitress raved about it. They should be ashamed of themselves for charging $27 for such a mediocre meal. It's broiled grouper topped with a "Maryland" crabcake and a few garlic shrimp. I'll say this much, the garlic shrimp were very tasty--I'd rather have had a plate full of those than the flavorless grouper or bready crabcake. I'm from Maryland--don't tell me it's a Maryland crabcake if there are a few bits of crab surrounded by a ton of breading. Bottom line: save your money, order a sandwich if you're eating here.
Our 7-year-old had a burger and fries that were good...and much more reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grouper Sandwich with a view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Went here with friends for lunch on a weekday in May. Loved their Grouper sandwich and the place was so empty. We had the view from the balcony all to ourselves. Service was ok. Sides could be better. But that was the best grouper sandwich I have had in the Tampa area and I have been living here since 2007.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Lunch Stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I took a walk along the beach and got hungry! Thankfully, The Hurricane welcomes all beach goers no matter the attire or footware :) I am not a sea food person, so you'll have to trust my husband's review of their grouper tacos. He says they were really flavorful and he enjoyed the mango mojito. I had a club sandwich and a rum runner. Their drinks are full of flavor and fresh ingredients. My sandwich was a typical club. The service was just okay. It wasn't too busy the day we were their, but our waitress did not frequent our table. She brought drinks, brought us the food, and the bill. No stops in between. I did enjoy eating right on the beach and the weather the day we were there was ideal Florida.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Saint Pete Beach, FL
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 
Saint Pete Beach, FL
 

Been to The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hurricane Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.