We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seared 1200 Chophouse

Seared 1200 Chophouse
5007 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
727-367-1300
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St Petes Beach
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the restaurant was full and we were told the wait would be 30min which we were happy to wait..we then waited outside for over 45min on a table which was free but was not offered to us...the hostess was far from helpfull and didnt seem to care if we ate there or didnt..we then tried to ask a waiter if there was a childrens menu which seemed to be to much trouble to answer (a simple yes or no would have been sufficient) Fortunately it was our only bad experience on the holiday, didnt get a chance to try the food but the service left a lot to be desired a real shame as this should be standard in any establishment were the main meals start at $25-$30

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    62
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME place to eat steak dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ate here on or trip and the ribeye steak was the best steak we've ever had! The searing they do on their 1200 degree grill makes such a difference. Soooooo good! If you want an awesome steak try this place out. Staff were very nice too. Small place so go early for dinner or call ahead.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"A must" while you're in St Pete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

For several years now, I have stayed on Gulf Blvd directly across from a small building that has seen several businesses come & go. We arrived last week to find a new steak house now inhabits this little dwelling. My son and I decided to walk over and try it for dinner and we both agreed that our experience far surpassed either of our expectations! The interior was far from spacious but the decor was warm and inviting. It was not busy at 5pm when we arrived so that helped to minimize the issue of space. We were greeted by Virgil, our waiter, who was extremely friendly and very helpful with his descriptions and suggestions of the menu items. We each ordered the filet and sat patiently as the chefs prepared our meals. After a few minutes I noted how much laughter and excitement seemed to be generating from the kitchen. We were the first patrons of the day and it was becoming clear that the staff was just as anxious to enjoy their shifts as we were to enjoy our dinner! The energy and atmosphere of the Seared 1200 Chophouse were truly amazing! Out meals were absolutely delicious! My son claimed his to be the very best steak he had ever eaten. The Marsala & Mushroom sauce was perfect and even the salads were delicious (& we are not noted to be salad-eaters! Ha). I will most definitely return to the Chophouse. I really hope it becomes the permanent inhabitant of the small dwelling across the street... And thanks again, Virgil! You were on your "A" game that evening, for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident and, wow, what a meal! We had to wait almost 45 minutes for a table and the dining room is not that big. We sat at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. Our meal was absolutely amazing! We ordered the truffle fries and scallop appetizers which were divine. Our salads were just as good with fresh ingredients. Our steaks were amazing! Cooked perfectly - they were able to do Pittsburgh style. If you are ever in the St Pete beach area again, we will return. One of the best meals while we were on vacation!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dining experience good vacations are made of.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

1200 Chophouse is a really small place, parking is tight. Our group of 4 had a 20 minute wait but it was worth it. We sat outside at a comfortable table and our server was on task and met every request flawlessly. We had bacon wrapped shrimp as appetizer and everyone loved it. The NY strip was very good , friends loved the bone- in pork chops. Average cost per diner was around $26.00. It was an unexpected find in our search for good meal on a Sunday evening. Putting it on our list for next year's vacation. Bern's steakhouse tomorrow night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seared 1200 Chophouse also viewed

 

Been to Seared 1200 Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seared 1200 Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.