We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge this restaurant from Gulf Blvd!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rick's Reef

Rick's Reef
6712 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
+1 727-826-0752
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A Casual Dining restaurant with a focus on fresh ingredients located on St. Pete Beach. Plenty of outdoor seating on the patio, and indoor seating, air conditioned in the summer and heated in the winter. Serving fresh seafood, and home-made chicken, pork and beef selections, all prepared fresh, by hand, specifically for you. Sauces, vegetables and mixed dishes prepared daily, in-house, and always from fresh ingredients. The friendly staff, and regular local crowd, make it a fun place to hang out. With a full-service bar, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating at the bar, there is something for everyone. The restaurant is family friendly, and dogs are welcome in the outdoor seating area.
Waterford, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge this restaurant from Gulf Blvd!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We come to St. Pete twice a year and just came to Ricks Reef for the first time...thought it looked like a dive from the street but the outdoor dining is a phenomenal atmosphere. The food was outstanding and we came on a Friday night when there was live music. Mashed potatoes were the best I've ever had! Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    89
    27
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
“Great freshly prepared food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I ate at Rick's Reef on May 29, 2014. Our server was Robin. She was great! She was helpful and attentive. I had the clam strip and fresh cut French fries special. It came with a miller lite draft for 8 bucks! It was delicious and incredibly well priced. We are from the Boston area, so we know good clams and we also know how expensive they can be! We also got amazing onion rings. My husband had the steak and cheese quesadilla which was amazing as well. It was cheap too! It is a shame that more people don't know it is there. Go eat there! You will be pleased!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have been to Rick's several times. Lunch two days ago and dinner tonight. Rick's has a nice patio..good for eating, drinking and watching sports. This place is hidden right on gulf blvd and if you blink you will miss it. The crab cakes and mahi mahi are amazing! I also recommend trying the fried corn for something different. Robyn C. was a great waitress, friendly and definitely will recommend what's good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went on a Friday night. They had a really good band playing. They also had $4 margaritas, that were very good. I had the fried alligator which was very good. One of my friends had the crab cakes and said they were really good. I would go back again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What service??? Where you at?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I went into Rick's last Thursday for dinner, we were (almost rudely) told to sit where we wanted to. ...and we waited, and waited, and waited and they didn't even seem that busy, and waited some more before we just decided to pack it up and go to Silas Dents where we had one of our best experiences ever.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritz_Kloepfel, Public Relations Manager at Rick's Reef, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, and for letting us know of the problem you experienced.

It is our policy to allow any patron to sit where they want. We have a wide variety of choices, outside patio dining, seating outside at the bar, lots of indoor seating, some well away from the bar, some near the TVs and more seating at the bar inside, which is all air conditioned. We can seat you right in the thick of the fun, or give you a little privacy. So, it only makes sense to suggest that the customer should feel free to select the location that works best for them.

However, we clearly had a problem, apparently some bad communication, if you sat more than one minute without being greeted by a server. We have a strict policy that each customer be welcomed to Rick's Reef as soon as is possible, and we try to take your drink order at that time.

So, I don't know how we dropped the ball on the night your were there, but I can tell you we have reiterated to the staff that a quick initial greeting is essential, and we don't expect to see that kind of a problem again!

We hope you'll give us another chance some time soon, and I assure you we'll provide the Excellent experience you were hoping for the first time.

Once again, thank you for making us aware of a problem, and allowing us to address it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick's Reef also viewed

 

Been to Rick's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick's Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.