We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly, and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabal Palms Inn
1301 Gulfway, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
North aurora, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly, and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I usually stay at the Coconut Inn, their other place in Pass-A-Grill, which is also a great place to stay. We thought we would try The Sabal Palms Inn this year, specially the rooms that face the Gulf. We stayed in room 2. We were not disappointed. The view was great! We could see the beautiful sunset every night just out side our door. The room was all what we needed. Not fancy, but very comfortable and supper clean. Like the other rooms at both places, there is a kitchen with a 4 burner stove, a full size fridge, cabinets with all kitchen utensils, pots and pan, sand table ware. Udi was terrific, what a hard worker! She keep the whole place spotless,(even did our dishes), gave us helpful tips about the place and area, and made us fell welcome. Eddie, the manager, a very out going guy is always fun to talk to. Both would bend over backwards to help you. Most of the time, there would be no one in the office - both of them are always busy working between both places- BUT, there is a phone by the office, and if you call, they will be there right away. Can't wait until next year when we will return to the Sabal Palms or the Coconut Inn for another relaxing, pleasant, and scenic stay.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the rooms that face the beach (1-3). Talked to others who enjoyed room 10, and any room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    73
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
157
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After researching every hotel on St. Pete Beach, I was in quite a panic to get something secured for my daughter and I over spring break. Getting a late start meant most places were booked, including Sabal Palms and Coconut Inn. I put out a number of phone calls and e-mails. Very few people called me back, and most of those who did just left messages saying they were booked... except for Eddie of Sabal Palms. He returned my phone call and e-mail. He offered us an off-site condo and offered to put us on a waiting list in case he had a cancellation. It's that kind of generosity and customer service that earns repeat customers. Thanks, Eddie!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, MS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was attending a conference in St. Pete's Beach but fell in love when I drove down to Pass-A-Grille. I knew THIS was where I wanted to spend a couple of days before I had to return home. However, I quickly learned that hotels in this part of town are quite pricey and can be hard to get. I was delighted to find the Sabal Palms and get a gulf view room for less than I had been paying up on the Strip.

It's not fancy but The Sabal Palms has lots of little extras that make it a great value. We loved The Sabal Palm and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Unit 2 has a great view of the gulf and we did not hear a sound from our neighbors ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came to Pass a Grille to attend a beach wedding and stayed at Sabal Palms.The moment we walked into the courtyard, we were warmly greeted by Eddie, the manager. He showed us to our spotlessly clean gulf-front room, and gave us some great tips on local places to eat. (The grilled grouper sandwich at Sea Critters...you were spot on with that one, Eddie! Yum!)
Later in our stay, Eddie went above and beyond by walking the two blocks to the Sabal Palms' sister hotel, The Coconut Inn, with me to help me print off a document I needed on the Coconut's printer. Our housekeeper, Yudith, was every bit as helpful and friendly.
The room itself was roomy, sunny, and airy with a great view of the gulf. This charming little inn is literally steps from the beach - the extras like free use of beach chairs, bicycles, grill, and a complimentary parking pass for Pass A Grille were icing on the cake. Having a kitchen and bringing in a few groceries from a local market saved lots of $$$ on breakfast and lunches. Some reviewers have commented on the lower level rooms. I got a chance to see them because after visiting us at the inn, my mother and sister were so taken by the place, they decided to leave their hotel and stay at the Sabal Palms. It's true, the ceilings are lower than the upstairs rooms, but unless you are well over six feet tall, I don't think it would matter. In closing, I would say, if you are looking for luxury, look elsewhere. That's not the vibe here. If you want clean, quiet, comfy, cozy, and beachy, the Sabal Palms is the place. We loved it, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just left Pass A Grille and the Sabal Palms. Quaint lovely little place to getaway for a long weekend. Perfect if you want to avoid the commercial skyscraper type of hotels but yet close enough to drive to for nightlife. The Sabal Inn is a no frills place, but also absolutely charming. Will definitely stay there again if I'm in that area and recommend it highly. Unit 2 was right perfect with perfect view and steps from the beach.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with a gulf view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been visiting Sabal Palms Inn for a dozen years now and still find it the best place on the beach. It is very relaxing, clean, convenient and quiet. The staff is the best - Yudit, Emigdio, Eddie, Anna and Miguel take good care of the guests and keep the place immaculate. Breakfast on the balcony is the best but there are great restaurants in the area if you don't feel like cooking in the full-size kitchen or kitchenette. There are beach chairs and bikes for you to use during your stay and lots of places to explore. I would highly recommend Sabal Palms and the Coconut Inn to anyone heading to St. Pete's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time this past weekend at Sabal Palms Inn at Pass a Grille Beach. The Inn itself is spotless, charming, well-tended, lovely and quiet. Our housekeepers, Yudith and her husband were beyond hospitable and caring. Just a charming gem. Can't wait to go back, the area is just as unique and quaint as it was 35 years ago when we got married in the area.
Sandy and Rob Lynn

Room Tip: Room 8, in the back, up in the palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Hotel
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Address: 1301 Gulfway, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2013 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabal Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sabal Palms Inn to your Saves list