We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit & still loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabal Palms Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sabal Palms Inn
1301 Gulfway, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
delaware county, pa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our second visit & still loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We stayed for a week and had no complaints. This is the perfect place to get away from the the northeast. The Inn is very clean, friendly and a good location. Pass a grille is quiet and not crowded. Have already requested a week for next year.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    77
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
100
169
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fl
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We just decided to take a weekend away with the children but we did not want to travel to far. In talking to one of our neighbors they mention this placed on St. Petes Beach called Passa a Grille and come to find out their is only a few Inns on this beautiful strip of Beach we did some research found a website for the Sabal Palms Inn and booked a room for two nights. I have to tell you it is was the cleanest hotel we have ever been in and the view is magnificent not too mention the price was 90 dollar a night and a mile away in the heart of St. Petes Beach the rooms are 200 and up. I almost didnt want to tell anybody about this place never mind the Sabal Palms that was just the icing on the cake. Very Serene quite clean and all the amneites of home, refrigerator, microwave,coffee pot clean utensils we will be back over and over.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

I booked on-line for an October stay. This Inn is a historic property, which I discovered when touring the Historic Museum a few blocks to the south.
My fiance and I stayed in unit 8, which is on the back, over looking the pool. It is small, but quaint. One large room with a kitchen and bath. There is a sun porch as well. If you are picky and must have a 'chain hotel' experience, this is not for you.
If you enjoy getting away from the daily routine and experiencing a true, old-Florida beach community, this is THE place to stay. It is Gulf Front and quiet for under $100 a night! That is unheard of!
It is clean and quiet as well. While we were there a group of young people stayed around the corner from our unit. Even though we overlooked the pool, we were not kept awake by their mid-night swims.
Bicycles are available for free. I highly recommend this as transportation for the beach. Pass a Grille is only 32 blocks long and a bike is the best way to see it all. The Inn keeps provide you a parking pass as well since ALL beach parking is either by permit or by meter.
The Inn is across the street from the gulf, but has an unobstructed Gulf Front view. There are NO developments on the Gulf side because sea turtles nest there!
If you need a snack or want to cook in your room, go to Shaners Market on I believe 22nd st. It is near the Wharf and Genarros (two MUST VISIT) restaurants. The Sea Horse for breakfast is a must a well.
I am a St. Pete resident and Pass A grille is the ONLY beach I visit. I plan to return to the Sabal Palms this summer for a month!

  • Liked — It is quiet and out of the way.
  • Disliked — The room was small, but for a weekend it was fine.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

This is a nice place, right across the street from the Gulf in a very quiet section of St Pete Beach (Pass-A-Grille). It's not a great place, could be a little nicer (better furniture, art on walls, update kitchenette), but for $110 to be literally a stone's throw from the water, it's a great deal. Not sure why people are complaining about the price, living in the Northeast, city rooms in Boston and NYC are routinely $300 and up.

The pool, as others have posted, is a Spa Pool. It's small (about 16' x 10') and quite warm (85-90 degrees). Not for laps, but nice for relaxing.

Mgt/Staff was nice and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and would consider returning.

  • Liked — Across the street from the beach.
  • Disliked — Rooms could use a little updating/modernization.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2007

My son and I went for my birthday, we stayed at the Sabal Palms Inn, it was advertised as a Sears kit house. Well, our room was like a dungeon, if you turned on the air conditioner (which smelled like mold) and the microwave at the same time, it blew a fuse. We noticed a couple dead cockaroaches on the floor. The pool was so small only two people could fit in it. It was advertised as beachfront, but the beach was across the street where they were working 24/7 using oily, stinky machinery. It was the worst place I have ever stayed in. I had asked before we arrived for a room looking at the beach and they said they would let us know if one was available, but they never did. It was the vacation from hell.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SabalPalmsInn, Owner at Sabal Palms Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2008
We tried contacting this reviewer to clarify. We have never at any time advertised as a Sears kit house (not even sure what that is).

The air conditioners in all the rooms are all less than 2 years old and replaced consistently. There are no electrical problems and we have a monthly professional exterminator. We are extremely diligent about the cleansliness of the rooms.

Pass-a-Grille indisputably has one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida - completely undeveloped and natural. We do not recall any oily machinery on the beach at any time in recent history.

If there was a beachfront unit available we would have offered it but cannot offer something if it is not available.

We believe this reviewer may have us confused with another property but regardless we feel like our hundereds of guests who return time after time speaks for itself.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

Pass a Grille is a lovely area to visit. However...there aren't a whole lot of choices regarding places to stay. Sabal Palms is perfect in that it is steps away from fabulous beach. If only management would spend a few dollars upgrading for example, the bedding. This alone would make an enormous difference. Otherwise, an adequate accomodation.

  • Liked — location, beaches
  • Disliked — many items in the room needing upgrades
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

We happened upon this place on the internet. It is a moderatley priced, family friendly little motel with small but clean rooms, bikes to ride around the quaint town, and a gorgeous, basically unused beach. The bikes could use a tune up, but they were sufficient for our purpose. I have booked again for this Easter, and can't wait to stay again. The pool is small, but adequate for a quick dip. Joe, the innkeeper , was friendly and accommodating when booking for this year. I am not sure if the inn can accommodate families bigger than 4, as the rooms are small, but the 3 of us were comfortable. The No high rises here on Pass-a Grille, so its quiet. If you want jet skis and lots to do, stay further north on St Pete. But if you want a laid back little place where you can walk the beach or ride through the town, this is it!

  • Liked — proximity to beach, quaint quiet town
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabal Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabal Palms Inn

Address: 1301 Gulfway, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sabal Palms Inn is a family run inn directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. The only thing that separates you from the sandy white beach and the warm Gulf waters is a small two way utility road. Located in historic Pass-a-Grille where there is nothing growing on the beach except for nature. Proud member of the Tampa Bay Beaches Chamber or Commerce and the Superior Small Lodging Association. Winner of the 2013 SSL White Glove Award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sabal Palms Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Sabal Palms Motel
Sabal Palms Inn Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabal Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sabal Palms Inn to your Saves list