We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hold a family reunion!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Orange, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to hold a family reunion!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We're a large group and make it a point to get together once a year for a long weekend. This year we chose the Guy Harvey Resort and it was wonderful. Every staff member employed at the resort went out of their way to make our stay pleasent and most enjoyable. There are 3 generations within our party and I was quite impressed at how we all felt the hotel met all out needs. Very kid friendly with all the amenities adults look for while on vacation! I highly recommend the Tradewinds/Guy Harvey Resort. We're looking forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: For families with children, I would suggest a ground floor room over looking the kiddie pool. I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello Donna M,
Thank you for bringing the whole family with you to stay at Guy Harvey Outpost! It was really neat to get to know the three different generations in your family - we felt like we were a part of your family by the time you left our resort. It's exciting to hear that you plan to come back to stay with us again for your reunion next year. See you then!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    492
    200
    72
    55
See reviews for
674
582
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I brought my two daughters and two grandchildren to your resort. The kids especially really loved the slides. They all are really crazy about Guy Harvey, so they enjoyed everything about him.
We were there just before you opened the newest restaurant and the aquarium. They are eager to return and see that. They loved the Gift Shop too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello JBP7953,
How cool that your daughters and grandchildren got to spend some time with us to learn more about Guy Harvey and everything wonderful he is doing for marine life. We love being able to teach others about ocean conservation. We can't wait for you to bring them back to see our beautiful new aquariums at RumFish Grill. They will LOVE it! Uh oh... and wait until they see the new Guy Harvey shop, too... :)
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Everything was better than expected. Can't wait to go back.Do a lot or do nothing. Eat pizza or fine dining. The most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen.Catch fish in the morning and have them for lunch. Walk the beach anytime. Busch Gardens is fun and so pretty. Staff was so kind and made us feel Royal. My husband and I were there for our 20 th wedding anniversary. Can't wait to take our girls, next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello sparl,
It's wonderful to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! It sounds like you truly had a Florida vacation to remember and we're happy we got to be a part of your 20th wedding anniversary celebration. When you're here, you can truly do as much or as little as you want. Please bring the girls back with you next time - we think they will have a ball, too.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here after a week in Orlando and it was brilliant from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. Diane, who greeted us at reception, was lovely and found us a room with a sunset view and balcony. We sat out there every morning and night and yes, there was music from the bar next door, but the bedroom is at the back and it didn't disturb!

Our boys, aged 11 and 13, were also made to feel very welcome, having great fun on the beach slide and the surf boards. They even watched a film in the evening, with complimentary s'mores laid on too!

The beach is beautiful, and being able to reserve a cabana online the previous day is a great touch - seeing our names on it every morning is a little thing but all goes a long way to make you feel special!

We were always greeted by a smile from every staff member, and again, not just us adults but the kids too!

Thoroughly, thoroughly recommend and really, really want to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello Suzy M,
How wonderful that you got to spend some time at the beach after the go-go-go of Orlando. It's really nice to hear our little 'extra-touches' went a long way to make you feel special. The fire-side s'mores and dive-in movie are one of our most popular family activities! Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for deciding to stay with us. We hope you'll come back the next time you're in Florida.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

made a last minute reservation and the process was very smooth. Lady at front desk was nice and was able to get me a room upgrade at a discount. Overall the resort is nice and great being able to use the tradewinds amenities. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello SanCap Travel,
Glad to hear you had a wonderful visit to Guy Harvey Outpost and that everything went very smoothly. Our goal is to help you relax and have fun, and it sounds like you were able to do so. We hope you'll make plans to visit us again sometime soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I went here for the weekend for my birthday. Has a beautiful location right on the beach, great newer hotel, wonderful accommodations, great staff, highly recommended. Paid extra for king size bed/suite, worth it, loved the adult pool and the resort fee was well worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello Paladintgk,
Please tell your wife THANK YOU on our behalf for deciding to bring you to Guy Harvey Outpost for your special birthday getaway! We're so glad you had a nice time enjoying our beautiful location on St. Pete Beach. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the adult-only pool and that you found value in our resort amenity fee, which includes a beach cabana, parking, wifi and more. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the time you walk in the door until your departure, the guy harvey staff will take care of all your needs with a smile on their face. By far some of the best customer service we've received from a hotel staff!! Guy harvey is the perfect mixture of fun and relaxation. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.