We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Busch Gardens Package
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Haven Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I brought my two daughters and two grandchildren to your resort. The kids especially really loved the slides. They all are really crazy about Guy Harvey, so they enjoyed everything about him.
We were there just before you opened the newest restaurant and the aquarium. They are eager to return and see that. They loved the Gift Shop too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello JBP7953,
How cool that your daughters and grandchildren got to spend some time with us to learn more about Guy Harvey and everything wonderful he is doing for marine life. We love being able to teach others about ocean conservation. We can't wait for you to bring them back to see our beautiful new aquariums at RumFish Grill. They will LOVE it! Uh oh... and wait until they see the new Guy Harvey shop, too... :)
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    516
    221
    77
    57
See reviews for
725
602
53
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Everything was better than expected. Can't wait to go back.Do a lot or do nothing. Eat pizza or fine dining. The most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen.Catch fish in the morning and have them for lunch. Walk the beach anytime. Busch Gardens is fun and so pretty. Staff was so kind and made us feel Royal. My husband and I were there for our 20 th wedding anniversary. Can't wait to take our girls, next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello sparl,
It's wonderful to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! It sounds like you truly had a Florida vacation to remember and we're happy we got to be a part of your 20th wedding anniversary celebration. When you're here, you can truly do as much or as little as you want. Please bring the girls back with you next time - we think they will have a ball, too.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here after a week in Orlando and it was brilliant from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. Diane, who greeted us at reception, was lovely and found us a room with a sunset view and balcony. We sat out there every morning and night and yes, there was music from the bar next door, but the bedroom is at the back and it didn't disturb!

Our boys, aged 11 and 13, were also made to feel very welcome, having great fun on the beach slide and the surf boards. They even watched a film in the evening, with complimentary s'mores laid on too!

The beach is beautiful, and being able to reserve a cabana online the previous day is a great touch - seeing our names on it every morning is a little thing but all goes a long way to make you feel special!

We were always greeted by a smile from every staff member, and again, not just us adults but the kids too!

Thoroughly, thoroughly recommend and really, really want to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello Suzy M,
How wonderful that you got to spend some time at the beach after the go-go-go of Orlando. It's really nice to hear our little 'extra-touches' went a long way to make you feel special. The fire-side s'mores and dive-in movie are one of our most popular family activities! Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for deciding to stay with us. We hope you'll come back the next time you're in Florida.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

made a last minute reservation and the process was very smooth. Lady at front desk was nice and was able to get me a room upgrade at a discount. Overall the resort is nice and great being able to use the tradewinds amenities. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello SanCap Travel,
Glad to hear you had a wonderful visit to Guy Harvey Outpost and that everything went very smoothly. Our goal is to help you relax and have fun, and it sounds like you were able to do so. We hope you'll make plans to visit us again sometime soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I went here for the weekend for my birthday. Has a beautiful location right on the beach, great newer hotel, wonderful accommodations, great staff, highly recommended. Paid extra for king size bed/suite, worth it, loved the adult pool and the resort fee was well worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Hello Paladintgk,
Please tell your wife THANK YOU on our behalf for deciding to bring you to Guy Harvey Outpost for your special birthday getaway! We're so glad you had a nice time enjoying our beautiful location on St. Pete Beach. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the adult-only pool and that you found value in our resort amenity fee, which includes a beach cabana, parking, wifi and more. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

From the time you walk in the door until your departure, the guy harvey staff will take care of all your needs with a smile on their face. By far some of the best customer service we've received from a hotel staff!! Guy harvey is the perfect mixture of fun and relaxation. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Supposed to stay here for 6 nights but managed to last 17 hours! Its not like me to quit but this place did nothing for me.
When we finally took possession of our key,believe the 4:00pm admission rule, our room "seemed" OK at first glance. Then the problems arose! The "patio" was minute and was totally adjacent to the outdoor bar complete with live man-and-guitar (at least this one could sing!). We were grateful for the net curtains as we were in a goldfish bowl otherwise! .Tables and chairs for the bar just the other side of a low "hedge'. While we were unpacking another resident came onto the patio and removed one of our supplied chairs for their own use!! 4 are supplied to each ground floor patio but they obviously needed more so simply helped themselves! It hadn't been returned before we checked out. When we went to put water into the refrigerator, we discovered three boxes of food "kindly" left by the cleaner. They contained a half-eaten burger and chips, pizza and chips and a leftover salad. My partner donated these to surprised receptionists on the tiny front desk.
By this time the singer had been replaced by one mentioned in another review. The heavy bass thumped into the room even with the doors closed as did his out-of-tune monotonous singing! By this time we had decided to don our delightful green advertising bracelets ( apparently associated with all-inclusive resorts but this was $384 room only!) and escape to the other Tradewinds part of the hotel. It was calmer here and there seemed to be more space per capita. it wasn't far between the two resorts,but it could have been a dozen miles in difference.
Returning to our hotel to await the arrival of our friends, we were optimistic of an improvement. The "singer" had finished to be replaced by the "party"in the next hotel-wow! This has also been commented on by other reviewers. Our friends arrived and the car park (multi-storey hiding the hotel from the road) was full so they had to simply leave their car outside reception despite complaints. They decided ,within 10 minutes, that this was not going to work. We planned our escape and departed the next morning.
The double beds are on the small side and one of ours was already occupied by bedtime! Ants!

I really hate to be negative about a place, preferring to find positives. The only positive that I could emphasise about this place is that the staff really do their best to smile and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. Its not their fault that you are being over-charged by the "management" and offered cramped mediocre accommodation that needs a serious update in accordance with the prices they charge.

Room Tip: Can't offer a suggestion as ours was bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#9 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#23 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#26 of 31 in St. Pete Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.