We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Offers & Announcements
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Winter Haven Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful time!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I brought my two daughters and two grandchildren to your resort. The kids especially really loved the slides. They all are really crazy about Guy Harvey, so they enjoyed everything about him.
We were there just before you opened the newest restaurant and the aquarium. They are eager to return and see that. They loved the Gift Shop too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello JBP7953,
How cool that your daughters and grandchildren got to spend some time with us to learn more about Guy Harvey and everything wonderful he is doing for marine life. We love being able to teach others about ocean conservation. We can't wait for you to bring them back to see our beautiful new aquariums at RumFish Grill. They will LOVE it! Uh oh... and wait until they see the new Guy Harvey shop, too... :)
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    453
    175
    66
    51
See reviews for
620
545
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Everything was better than expected. Can't wait to go back.Do a lot or do nothing. Eat pizza or fine dining. The most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen.Catch fish in the morning and have them for lunch. Walk the beach anytime. Busch Gardens is fun and so pretty. Staff was so kind and made us feel Royal. My husband and I were there for our 20 th wedding anniversary. Can't wait to take our girls, next trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello sparl,
It's wonderful to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations! It sounds like you truly had a Florida vacation to remember and we're happy we got to be a part of your 20th wedding anniversary celebration. When you're here, you can truly do as much or as little as you want. Please bring the girls back with you next time - we think they will have a ball, too.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

We came here after a week in Orlando and it was brilliant from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. Diane, who greeted us at reception, was lovely and found us a room with a sunset view and balcony. We sat out there every morning and night and yes, there was music from the bar next door, but the bedroom is at the back and it didn't disturb!

Our boys, aged 11 and 13, were also made to feel very welcome, having great fun on the beach slide and the surf boards. They even watched a film in the evening, with complimentary s'mores laid on too!

The beach is beautiful, and being able to reserve a cabana online the previous day is a great touch - seeing our names on it every morning is a little thing but all goes a long way to make you feel special!

We were always greeted by a smile from every staff member, and again, not just us adults but the kids too!

Thoroughly, thoroughly recommend and really, really want to go back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Suzy M,
How wonderful that you got to spend some time at the beach after the go-go-go of Orlando. It's really nice to hear our little 'extra-touches' went a long way to make you feel special. The fire-side s'mores and dive-in movie are one of our most popular family activities! Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for deciding to stay with us. We hope you'll come back the next time you're in Florida.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

made a last minute reservation and the process was very smooth. Lady at front desk was nice and was able to get me a room upgrade at a discount. Overall the resort is nice and great being able to use the tradewinds amenities. No complaints.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello SanCap Travel,
Glad to hear you had a wonderful visit to Guy Harvey Outpost and that everything went very smoothly. Our goal is to help you relax and have fun, and it sounds like you were able to do so. We hope you'll make plans to visit us again sometime soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My wife and I went here for the weekend for my birthday. Has a beautiful location right on the beach, great newer hotel, wonderful accommodations, great staff, highly recommended. Paid extra for king size bed/suite, worth it, loved the adult pool and the resort fee was well worth it.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello Paladintgk,
Please tell your wife THANK YOU on our behalf for deciding to bring you to Guy Harvey Outpost for your special birthday getaway! We're so glad you had a nice time enjoying our beautiful location on St. Pete Beach. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed the adult-only pool and that you found value in our resort amenity fee, which includes a beach cabana, parking, wifi and more. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

From the time you walk in the door until your departure, the guy harvey staff will take care of all your needs with a smile on their face. By far some of the best customer service we've received from a hotel staff!! Guy harvey is the perfect mixture of fun and relaxation. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Supposed to stay here for 6 nights but managed to last 17 hours! Its not like me to quit but this place did nothing for me.
When we finally took possession of our key,believe the 4:00pm admission rule, our room "seemed" OK at first glance. Then the problems arose! The "patio" was minute and was totally adjacent to the outdoor bar complete with live man-and-guitar (at least this one could sing!). We were grateful for the net curtains as we were in a goldfish bowl otherwise! .Tables and chairs for the bar just the other side of a low "hedge'. While we were unpacking another resident came onto the patio and removed one of our supplied chairs for their own use!! 4 are supplied to each ground floor patio but they obviously needed more so simply helped themselves! It hadn't been returned before we checked out. When we went to put water into the refrigerator, we discovered three boxes of food "kindly" left by the cleaner. They contained a half-eaten burger and chips, pizza and chips and a leftover salad. My partner donated these to surprised receptionists on the tiny front desk.
By this time the singer had been replaced by one mentioned in another review. The heavy bass thumped into the room even with the doors closed as did his out-of-tune monotonous singing! By this time we had decided to don our delightful green advertising bracelets ( apparently associated with all-inclusive resorts but this was $384 room only!) and escape to the other Tradewinds part of the hotel. It was calmer here and there seemed to be more space per capita. it wasn't far between the two resorts,but it could have been a dozen miles in difference.
Returning to our hotel to await the arrival of our friends, we were optimistic of an improvement. The "singer" had finished to be replaced by the "party"in the next hotel-wow! This has also been commented on by other reviewers. Our friends arrived and the car park (multi-storey hiding the hotel from the road) was full so they had to simply leave their car outside reception despite complaints. They decided ,within 10 minutes, that this was not going to work. We planned our escape and departed the next morning.
The double beds are on the small side and one of ours was already occupied by bedtime! Ants!

I really hate to be negative about a place, preferring to find positives. The only positive that I could emphasise about this place is that the staff really do their best to smile and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. Its not their fault that you are being over-charged by the "management" and offered cramped mediocre accommodation that needs a serious update in accordance with the prices they charge.

Room Tip: Can't offer a suggestion as ours was bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted the No. 1 beach destination in the USA. Enjoy fishing, diving and water sport adventures on the warm waters of Florida’s Gulf of Mexico. Located 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Guy Harvey Outpost offers casual dining and the popular Sand Bar, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop.Experience Florida fishing at its finest with inshore, offshore, fly and chartered deep sea fishing. Scuba dive to sunken ships or book a snorkeling trip. Take flight with JetLev, your personal water powered jet pack or ride WaveJet, an electric powered surfboard. Guy Harvey Outpost inspires endless family adventures where you can experience the life, science and love for the sea that is Guy Harvey. Children also have a place in the adventure at Guy Harvey Outpost with tailored activities just for kids; all you have to do is enjoy the journey. In addition to the great hotel amenities and services at Guy Harvey Outpost, you’ll have access to a wealth of facilities and programs at TradeWinds Island Grand, just down the beach. There you can enjoy more casual dining, fine dining and beach bars and then retreat back to the intimacy of the Outpost. You pack your things – we’ll pack your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.