We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PLACE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME PLACE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently spent 5 days with my family at this resort (8 people in total... 2 teens, 1 child and 4 adults). We have an incredible stay! The pools, the beach, the activities.. everything was great. The rooms: amazing! Please, stop at the Starbucks by the front desk. There you will meet Mary, who has the best cinnamon rolls you will ever have. She is great with people, even when they don´t speak English (like most of my family), she manages to understand and make everyone feel welcome. Also Lisa, at Guy Grills by the kids pool. They close at 10pm. And we arrived at 9:50pm!! And she welcomed us with a big smile and asked the cook to stayed and made our meals..... THIS IS SERVICE!!! THIS IS WHAT MAKES THE DIFF IN A VACATIION. If you are looking for a hotel in St. Pete´s Beach... this is the one!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pond, have a beautiful look of the sunset everyday....And you can see the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    461
    182
    66
    51
See reviews for
634
553
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

As a hotel manager I am very critical of my service at hotels, especially outside of the brand I work for, yet my expectations were exceeded! I was very impressed especially given the low rate I paid. Alonso at the front desk was very accommodating and the upgrade he gave really made an impression on our experience. I was very satisfied and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello Bunger01,
In the hospitality industry, we are all held to very high individual performance expectations, so it's only natural that we hold each other to the same standards. It makes us so happy to know that we exceeded yours. Thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope you'll come back to visit again the next time you need a beach getaway!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My sister and I have been coming to Guy Harvey for several years in February. The resort is AWESOME! The staff keep the place immaculate. Several AM's we met Vigette Lewis cleaning the elevator. She was super friendly, and sure made the elevator shine! A stay at Guy Harvey isn't complete without visiting the BEST bartender in FL, Victor, at the outside Tiki bar. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello DEEWISE,
Thank you so much for sharing your love for the Guy Harvey Outpost! We're so glad you have had an awesome experience every time you've visited. Our staff definitely appreciates your recognition of their efforts and hospitality. See you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My 19 year old daugher and I needed a relaxing break from the stressful and hectic life we were living in Colorado, so on a whim, we booked 4 nights at Guy Harvey Outpost in January. Best time we have had together in a long time! Although there was construction going on near the pool, it didn't bother us at all because we spent all of our time relaxing at the beach! Also, with access to both hotels, there were 3 other pools to choose from if we wanted. We were very fortunate to have decent weather most of the time we were there. We found the entire staff at both Guy Harvey hotels to be friendly, courteous and very helpful. (Shout out to Lisa at Guys Grill). The room was clean and the beds very comfortable. The beach cabanas were definitely an added plus. We ate at several of the resort restaurants and found the food delicious and the wait staff very friendly at all of them. The concierge at the hotel went above and beyond our simple requests for things to do in the area. We loved that there were so many activities available at the resort that we really had no need to leave. It was exactly what we were looking for! We would definitely go back, and I would absolutely recommend both Guy Harvey hotels at St Pete Beach to anyone looking for a beautiful, relaxing getaway!

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator, so you could hear it humming at night. If you are a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello K H,
We're so glad we got to be a part of the special memories you made with your daughter! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recognizing some of our fantastic staff members. We appreciate you sharing the details of your visit and it makes us so happy to know that it was a wonderful trip. Hope to see you again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

When we first saw our room, our hearts sank a little, very Maplin's. However inside it was okay clean if a little small and comfy. The hotel is actually two hotels separated by another, non tradewinds hotel, It is in the other hotel where most of the amenities are, but it's just a short walk down the beach. There is a great choice of restaurants, seven I think, varying from burger bar to posh nosh. It is the staff that make the difference, always helpful, always happy. There is an amenity charge, which was included in our package, but its not compulsory. I don't know how much the room cost as we booked through a travel agent. You couldn't get nearer to the beach and of course they have sunbeds. Hawks Key might have better, more modern facilities but this place beats it hands down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradeWinds-Leni, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello noonan101,
Thank you so much for sharing your review and feedback on our Guy Harvey Outpost property. We're really happy that your overall experience was a great one. As you said, our large amount of amenities really does allow us to stand out from the rest of the crowd. We hope you'll come back to see us again!
Kind Regards,
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We arrived very irritated after an awful flight and horrible drive to the hotel. When my mom arrived to the hotel at the concierge desk Alicia greeted her with the utmost kindness and respect. She comped us for dinner for the evening and COMPLETELY changed our attitudes from a sense of irritability to a sense of serenity and happiness with her kindness and upbeat attitude. I didn't get the chance to meet Alicia, but i could see the change in not only my mothers mood, and the expression on her face, but also her overall attitude towards the trip. Having a bad start to the FIRST mother-daughter trip together can really alter the feeling and experience together over all, and she prevented an awful trip from happening into a wonderful stay here at the Trade Winds Hotel, Guy Harvey location.

Room Tip: Cleanliness of the grounds was awesome, but of the room overall was unsatisfactory. SPA- we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Guy Harvey Outpost during the third week of Feb. We had a wonderful time. We wanted a quiet get away from the NY winter and were not disappointed. When I checked in on Sunday evening the representative was helping someone else and proceeded to ignore me and the attempts I made to get his attention. However, that slight was made up by Derek who a few minutes later approached the counter and immediately asked if I was being helped. Derek was polite, listened to my complaint and quickly got my husband and I to our rooms. That truly was the only bump in our stay. The room was beautiful, staff exceptional (shout out to Mary in the Grill - great help and service and Justice the bellman who carried everything, answered questions about local places and even got ice for us!) and the beach is amazing. Love the reserve your cabana feature, when you get there in the morning, your cabana is set up and ready for your use, no wait time. I think paying extra for a room with the ocean view and the kitchen area is so worth it. This provides a stove, sink and fridge. Stop at the Public's on Gulf Blvd, less than a mile away, stock up and you can cook some meals or snacks.
We also recommend the D'lights across the street for ice cream and burgers. Great lunch choice.
We liked it so much we extended our stay an extra night. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Our room faced the ocean, center of the building, overlooking the children's pool. I think payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted the No. 1 beach destination in the USA. Enjoy fishing, diving and water sport adventures on the warm waters of Florida’s Gulf of Mexico. Located 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Guy Harvey Outpost offers casual dining and the popular Sand Bar, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop.Experience Florida fishing at its finest with inshore, offshore, fly and chartered deep sea fishing. Scuba dive to sunken ships or book a snorkeling trip. Take flight with JetLev, your personal water powered jet pack or ride WaveJet, an electric powered surfboard. Guy Harvey Outpost inspires endless family adventures where you can experience the life, science and love for the sea that is Guy Harvey. Children also have a place in the adventure at Guy Harvey Outpost with tailored activities just for kids; all you have to do is enjoy the journey. In addition to the great hotel amenities and services at Guy Harvey Outpost, you’ll have access to a wealth of facilities and programs at TradeWinds Island Grand, just down the beach. There you can enjoy more casual dining, fine dining and beach bars and then retreat back to the intimacy of the Outpost. You pack your things – we’ll pack your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.