We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second trip to this resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our second trip to this resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a great place to stay .The staff are all very friendly . Special mention of our maid Sfia and also the staff in the Gulf side Grill Chris ,Gerda and Lisa. The food and service are excellent.
We were here last year and hope to come again next year. The hockey game presentation on the beach was a great idea. We always enjoy the pool and hot tub . Captain Tim was very friendly and made us feel welcome .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    492
    200
    72
    56
See reviews for
674
583
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The staff at Guy Harvey's are friendly and genuinely want you to enjoy your time. The accommodations are superb. The amenities add an island feel in our own us of a! Workout area was perfect for an active persons need when the weather was a little cool outside.

Room Tip: The best rooms are ground level unless you want a little more of a view. you can just sit out with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A friend and I made plans to spend New Year's on the beach. I booked us a room with a view of the Gulf, at the Outpost. The price was consistent with other hotels on the beach, and the location was perfect. Next to numerous beach bars to which we could walk to and enjoy the locals and the festivities. The hotel staff was also very pleasant, the room was really nice.

Room Tip: The room was equipped with a microwave, sink and little fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My sister, our two boys, and I made last minute reservations at Trade Wind Resorts and couldn't have been happier. It was a great place with activities for our boys allowing us to relax at the same time. We found ourselves enjoying our vacation instead of constantly trying to find ideas to entertain our children. Staff was more than helpful and accommodating. I have already recommended Trade Winds Resort to my family and my sister and I are already trying to plan another stay.
Samantha Rodgers

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Trade Winds made my 60th birthday celebration awesome. We stayed in a lovely Guy Harvey suite. When housekeeping found out it was my 60th birthday, they upgraded the room to include a hot tub.

The room was wonderful. We had a lovely view of the beach, water, and a volleyball tournament. And to my delight there was a gift of a cheese platter and chocolate covered strawberries for my celebration.
The room itself was immaculate. The bathroom (which had more than enough towels), kitchenette, hot tub, everything was spotless.
We went to the Palm Court Restaurant to continue the celebration. We didn’t have a reservation. But when Audra, the maître d heard about me ushering in a new decade, she graciously found us a table with a window view. And Michelle, our waiter gave us a bottle of complementary wine to celebrate.
Plus the food was delicious. I had the lamb and have no idea what the chef did to make it so good.
Trade Winds is beautiful, but the personnel made it an experience. I have already recommended the hotel to friends who checked in this weekend.
I am looking forward to my next vacation at Trade Winds, and certainly plan on celebrating my 70th birthday there also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Guy Harvey. We had a spectacular view from our two room suite on the 6th floor, including the pool, beach and amazing sunsets over the water (see pictures for proof!) We loved the cheerful decor and appreciated the well equipped kitchen including dishes, pots, even a toaster, which we used for breakfasts and to heat up leftovers. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and we appreciated the free drinks at Happy Hour each evening. The weather was too cool for us to try the pool but we enjoyed daily walks on the beach. The hotel is conveniently located with several good restaurants within walking distance and a 7-11 right across the street. Regardless, we rented a car (rental office next to Trade Winds, a short walk away) for two days so that we could zip up and down the beach strip, visiting John's Pass and Pass A Grille. Our only complaints: not sure that housekeeping ever visited our suite during our stay (at least trash cans were never emptied and became very full!) and there was a lot of noise from bulldozers and other equipment involved in landscaping changes around the pool area. This was bothersome when we opened our sliding door to hear the sound of the waves. But overall, we had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: It was worth it to request a gulf front suite!
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Huge disappointment, (came here for wife's birthday Jan. 3rd and 4th 2014) room was showing signs of abuse and neglect. Received an E-mail(after filling out their survey) listing the things I complained about,but no offer of any credit for our bad experience,just a note saying they were sorry and hoped we would give them another chance. This was the most expensive and most disappointing 2 day stay we have ever had. Could not in possibly recommend anyone stay here. Thanks for listening, TERRY WEAVER.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.