We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guy Harvey Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Guy Harvey Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 4 from Scotland who stayed at the end of July. After 12 hectic nights in Orlando we loved our 5 nights at Guy Harvey in St Pete's. The hotel was intimate, not too crowded. We loved the pools, hot tub, happy hour, cabanas and the beautiful beach. My husband and I had been to St Pete's 20 years ago on our honeymoon. It was lovely to take our teenage boys aged 16 and 13 there for the first time. They loved the whole beach experience like us and they also used the slide and facilities at the Tradewinds sister hotel. Top marks to the staff too, everyone was very friendly and helpful. A lovely stay was had by us all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
So glad to hear your family enjoyed the stay at our resort! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    461
    182
    66
    51
See reviews for
634
553
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in late July/early August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We booked through British Airways and the bedroom allocated on arrival was not suitable for our family of four (two 4 foot wide double beds in one room) and this was pointed out on arrival by the reception personnel who upgraded us from the second night onwards for the duration of our stay into a suite with proper sized beds and separate living room and kitchen.
The location is fantastic with close proximity to plenty of places to eat and drink. The beach is beautiful and, like most of Florida we have seen, spotless. The allocation of Cabannas and the activities for kids on the beach is great.
The hotel was always clean and their must be nearly one employee per guest judging by the amount of room service and other colleagues about the place
My parents flew out whilst we were on holiday and booked a standard room which it turned out was on the ground floor opening onto the adult pool and had a separate lounge, kitchen and bedroom including a 6 foot double bed which was brilliant..
Would not hesitate in returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've been going to the Sandpiper/GHO for over 8 years, This year there was a marked difference to previous trips.
The service from reception was what could be best decribed as 'Corporate' it was as though she was reading script and wouldn't be moved away from it. We asked for a suite not connected to the one next door and got a 15 min lecture on how our suite had been 'blocked off' as we were there for 2weeks. We weren't looking for any free upgrades or anything just a suite that didn't connect to the one next to it.
Our daughter (age 8) wanted to do 2 of the evening camps-not cheap but hey we're on holiday!- For the first one we were discouraged from booking as no-one else had booked, the second camp was due to end at 11, but at 9pm she was the only one left and when we collected her at 10pm she was sat alone with a member of staff watching a DVD. We could have ordered a movie in or room for much less!!!!
The housekeeping staff are still lovely-our particular housekeeper remembered us from a previous visit when we had been on the third floor before. She went on her holiday during our stay and twice afterwards our room wasn't serviced. When I raised this with reception the second time, I was told very curtly, that 'if the Do Not disturb sign is on your door - they wont call back to your room' A very corporate response.
When we checked out we weren't given a custoner survey card that we had always received on previous visits - not sure if this was deliberate or just an oversight.....
I know that the hotel has been extensively rebranded with the GHO takeover, but please bring back some of that laid back, relaxed atmosphere that used to permeate around the place.
We are going back to St Pete's next year, but we're undecided if we should stay at the GHO...

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the adult poor can be noisy at nights. Ask for a room overlooking the 'courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night stay and that was more than enough here. It's not that it's a bad hotel, it was average. Then again, it is only a 3 star and that is definitely what it is. It's my fault really, I'm use to staying in 4 and 5 star, but this was hard to come by in St.Pete Beach. The pool is too small. The bar was too crowded especially at happy hour, which was a nice touch. The staff are nice and welcoming. If what you want is a basic hotel with average rooms on the beach, then it would be a fine stay. The beach is wonderful by the way. Cabana service was great. We ate at Snappers and 1200 Chop house, both great restaurants for seafood and steak respectively.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As a native Florida family, we tend to avoid places with crowds, which typically includes the beaches during peak season. While we were skeptic about the TradeWinds, we fugured that we would at least give it a try. Our suite at the Guy Harvey Outpost was just what we needed, perfect for our family of four! The beach cabana reservation system worked perfectly, as did the food ordering system. Nice location, great time!

Room Tip: All appear to have beach views, but all appear to have windows facing a bar with live music, either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Bryon, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found relaxation. Hope to see you back on the beach sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and our two boys as well as myself had a great time @ the Guy Harvey Outpost. The check in procedure was quick. The Staff was courteous. The room was very clean with plenty of space. We stayed in a Gulf View Suite and the view was magnificent. We enjoyed being able to use the Tradewinds facility as well. Overall it was just what we needed. For Florida residents a little down time on the beach can be hard to come by. Our two day stay really hit the spot.

Room Tip: South corner suite on the 5th floor had a glorious view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
So glad you were able to have a relaxing getaway with us! Come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family stayed in late July 2013 at this property. We booked it several months ago and after much debate, we decided to stay here instead of the Islang Grand. We are glad we did. First, the check in process was easy, but there was one thing that bothered me. To get the parking pass, you have to talk to a lady about going through a 90 minute marketing sales pitch to buy vacation ownership. I paid $200 per night at a place and the first thing I get is a sales pitch? Anyway, after I declined, we had to wait several hours to get in the room.. Of course, they tell you to go to the pool and the bar while you wait... Once we got in our room, things were a lot better. We booked a gulf front suite. Worth the upgrade!! Travelling with two small kids, it was nice to have our own room and the kids on the pull out couch. The views were amazing!! The room was clean, spacious, and perfect for a good night sleep. The air conditioner was ice cold. The resort was clean, not too overcrowded and the staff was courteous. Now for things to be aware of. The free happy hour promotion could be great if it was not so crowded. You were lucky to get two drinks after standing in line for a half hour. Secondly, the pool is WAY too small. The pool was over 90 degrees and you had about 6" of space before a kid or adult would run into you. This resort needs a pool at least twice as large, or let the adult pool, which there was virtually no one in, be open for everyone. The sister Island Grand resort was very nice, but VERY crowded. That cool slide on the beach that made us want to come to the resort in the first place, well there was a 45 minute wait in the 100 degree weather to get on it. The paddle boats didn't start until 10AM and again LONG lines. The pools there were extremely crowded. That being said, once you get used to the caveats to the resort, it was very nice. I will tell you though, there is a Howard Johnson next door that had only a few people in a pool and their pool was a lot bigger..... I am sure the rates were much lower too. Very tempting. Anyway, St Pete was a great place to go. We loved the area. Great family vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted the No. 1 beach destination in the USA. Enjoy fishing, diving and water sport adventures on the warm waters of Florida’s Gulf of Mexico. Located 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Guy Harvey Outpost offers casual dining and the popular Sand Bar, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop.Experience Florida fishing at its finest with inshore, offshore, fly and chartered deep sea fishing. Scuba dive to sunken ships or book a snorkeling trip. Take flight with JetLev, your personal water powered jet pack or ride WaveJet, an electric powered surfboard. Guy Harvey Outpost inspires endless family adventures where you can experience the life, science and love for the sea that is Guy Harvey. Children also have a place in the adventure at Guy Harvey Outpost with tailored activities just for kids; all you have to do is enjoy the journey. In addition to the great hotel amenities and services at Guy Harvey Outpost, you’ll have access to a wealth of facilities and programs at TradeWinds Island Grand, just down the beach. There you can enjoy more casual dining, fine dining and beach bars and then retreat back to the intimacy of the Outpost. You pack your things – we’ll pack your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.