We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff was amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suntan Boot Jam Package
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The staff was amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Alonso and Joe were both very helpful so glad to have met them! Our room was right by the 21 and over section and we were kicked out for just sitting on chairs numerous times... Probably shouldn't give people who are under 21 a room there

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    527
    225
    79
    57
See reviews for
742
609
54
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have been coming here for years and have always recommended this facility. This year's trip has been so disappointing. I realize it is spring break and incredibly busy, but adults only pool is filled with teenagers taking chairs that should be for adults (seems trite--but not so much when there are no seats because kids are jumping all over them, texting, and taking pictures), the workout facility (has 5 cardio machines and 2 are broken) is embarrassing for how much the rooms are per night, and the amount of noise at night during the midnight hours is astronomical. Will be looking for a new beachside location for next spring break :( the management just isn't willing to step up and enforce "the rules" that have been set in stone in the past.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just had a very short (2 nights) stay at the Guy Harvey at a very busy time (start of Spring Break). We chose the Guy Harvey to be close to friends staying at the Beachcomber which is the next hotel but one along Gulf Blvd. A good choice as we could get our family party of 4 into one room which we couldn't do at the Beachcomber. Good decision, saving the cost of a room, and we got a beach facing room which was lovely. There was everything we needed in the room, albeit quite cramped for 4. But the hotel has a terrific friendly atmosphere, due mainly to the staff who were chatty and helpful. We took advantage of the free cabana for a day; nice touch. The hotel is really well located with everything we needed in walking distance. Will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed St. Pete Beach. Hope to see you back on the beach sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Guy Harvey Outpost in St. Pete's. Excellent time, freindly staff, clean rooms, beautiful beach, many options for dining on or off resort that you could walk to. I would agree with other reviews about rooms on North side of buidling being noisy. These rooms face a bar (Toasted Monkey) on the beach in front of Howard Johnson and was always playing music and appeared fairly busy. We were facing south over Adult pool and never heard them. Will go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Friendly staff and a good location, right on St. Pete Beach. Clean but slightly aged rooms, worth paying for a room upgrade as the standard was a little cramped. Rooms on the North side of the hotel ( next to the Howard Johnson ) are bombarded with noise from the Beachcomber Hotel, with live and not very good bands playing from mid afternoon until 10.30 at night.
One small beach bar that does a happy hour from 5-6 p.m. House wine, beer and a weak rum punch are the free drinks on offer,buying drinks can be pricey, 2 non-alcoholic pina coladas cost $ 23.50. Ouch.
The gym on the 3rd floor is pretty good and quiet.
Had a good stay and would return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter but the better views are on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ron the security guy is also great.I love this place so much. Victor and ron are really awesome. I love the sand bar. Happy hour is awesome. Ron and victor, I still love them. The pools were fun and ocean was great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Victor the bartender was awesome! Ron the security guy was very nice and accommodating :) the resort was very nice and a great location. I liked how easy it was to relax on the beach. The happy hour is a great idea. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#25 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - St. Pete Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.