We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Oshawa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Staying at the Guy Harvey Outpost in St Petes Beach . A very nice well kept hotel. Pool for adults and also a separate pool for kids .Restaurant on site with very good food . Hotel is right on the beach with cabanas on the beach and access to the other Tradewinds resorts is also included . Different restaurants within walking distance . We have a courtyard suite with balcony very nice. We would definitely come here again .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    962
    427
    161
    62
    49
See reviews for
586
524
47
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stittsville, ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and i went away for the first time in over 30 years without any children. We werenot sure where we were going to go, looking at cruises, all inclusives in the Caribbean, etc...but through a great deal we got with Itravel2000, we booked a week in st pete at the Guy Harvey tradewinds, so we left ottawa not knowing anything about either the gulf side or the resort. well we were blown away by the experience, if not the wind off the gulf. sadly we had a very bad week weather wise, but the staff and amenities at the Tradewinds resorts more than made up for it. Very friendly and hard working, if anything was not right they worked to fix it right away. you will always have something happen but they never let it slide. we ate at Bermuda's our last night, it was a fantastic meal, with again staff that worked so hard to make sure you enjoyed your stay. even with the bitter cold and the winds coming from the north for most days, all teh staff on the beach or in the hotel made it feel as if it was 80 and sunny every day.
WE drove down to Siesta key one day and saw that fantastic beach, went up to madiera beach to johns pass for the boardwalk, dolphin watching, and some really fun, kitchy stuff along the boardwalk, to Ellenton for the outlet shopping, spent time by the pools, and did not even get a chance to use all of the offerings at the Tradewinds total operation, but would love to go back another time in better weather to use it all....

Room Tip: all depends we had hoped to be on the gulf side but given the winds, we were quite pleased to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to St. Pete Beach and to Guy Harvey Outpost! Sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring the area as well. Hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Great room and service. Stayed in penthouse room was great would recommend to others. Great value dor what we payed. Service at front desk was fantastic abd the private beach was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

everything is tickety boo.the srvive was excellant and the rooms were set up woderfull and all the amenities were laid out each day.the nights were very quiet and no exceptional noise.lots of restaurants in the vicinity and easy access.Nice to be so close to all the sporting events that are close by.the propety was well presented by Alonsoand everything was very nice.

Room Tip: choose aroom on the gulf side for the evening view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently spent 4 days at Guy Harvey. This is our second stay, the first several years ago when it was The Sandpiper. All of the staff are friendly and go out of their way to please. Tina Gordon certainly went out of her way to accommodate our needs and it was greatly appreciated. The resort was clean, pleasantly decorated and met all of our expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made your trip that much more enjoyable. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I came here after having a terrible...well basically non-existent night of sleep at another hotel (which I won't name because other than the bed, it wasn't a bad place and the ladies at the office were great, we just couldn't sleep). We called the number and couldn't believe the price we were offered, #1, and #2 the amazing lady, Stephanie, who helped us. So we already felt as though things were going to be better from there. Then we got to the resort and were blown away at the cleanliness, the front desk staff (thanks Jared), the amenities that were included (like a FREE 5-6 happy hour every night! So fun...) and the gorgeous and sssooo comfortable rooms. We just can not say enough good things about this resort. I'm not a review"writer" but I am a review "reader" and I just really felt like this resort deserved to be recognized. We will definitely be going back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
So glad we were able to turn your beach vacation around and that you had a wonderful time with us! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have found the perfect beach resort - Guy Harvey Outpost/St. Pete's Beach.
The rooms are beautiful - right on the beach with 2 pools/restaurant/beach bar - excellent food.
The staff is extremely friendly and the resort is spotlessly clean.
"Understated elegance" - will continue to go there for years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Joanne, thank you for your review! We're thrilled that you've found a perfect vacation spot at our resort. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted the No. 1 beach destination in the USA. Enjoy fishing, diving and water sport adventures on the warm waters of Florida’s Gulf of Mexico. Located 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Guy Harvey Outpost offers casual dining and the popular Sand Bar, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop.Experience Florida fishing at its finest with inshore, offshore, fly and chartered deep sea fishing. Scuba dive to sunken ships or book a snorkeling trip. Take flight with JetLev, your personal water powered jet pack or ride WaveJet, an electric powered surfboard. Guy Harvey Outpost inspires endless family adventures where you can experience the life, science and love for the sea that is Guy Harvey. Children also have a place in the adventure at Guy Harvey Outpost with tailored activities just for kids; all you have to do is enjoy the journey. In addition to the great hotel amenities and services at Guy Harvey Outpost, you’ll have access to a wealth of facilities and programs at TradeWinds Island Grand, just down the beach. There you can enjoy more casual dining, fine dining and beach bars and then retreat back to the intimacy of the Outpost. You pack your things – we’ll pack your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.