We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Guy Harvey Outpost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Christmas at Guy Harvey Outpost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Another great trip to Guy Harvey.... stayed there at Thanksgiving and decided to return
for Christmas. Staff great, very friendly and helpful. We stay here everytime we are in FL.
It has everything we need for a great vacation.

Jan M.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    461
    182
    67
    51
See reviews for
634
554
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I live in Tampa and was trying to make a reservation for a getaway by the coast of Saint Petersburg. I got a very good deal and got there 4 p.m. The room was ready and the staff was very courteous. The room is indeed not gigantic since I reserved a standard room with view to the parking lot. I have to say that this fact didn't bother me much since the room was quiet, clean, well decorated in relaxing colors and the rest of the hotel was so nice to hang around. Of course, that is a room for a maximum of two people, with a small breakfast table/chairs, microwave, sink, small refrigerator. In terms of space for luggage, it could be tricky if you are carrying more than two pieces of luggage, but you can accommodate pretty well if you unpack everything and hang them in the closet and fold items into the drawers, then your luggage can me placed in the corner of the room with no harm to the overall space. One of the pools was located by the beach and they had free drinks from 5-6pm, along with a great sunset at the see. My reservation included resort amenities, which included, free towels by the beach, free cabanas, free wi-fi and free parking. There is also a nice fitness for workout aficionados. I had a great time and the best of my stay there was the fact that the location was so close to one of the most beautiful beaches of Florida. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked my holiday through a company called Travel planners. They were really helpful and the cost for 4 nights was £450 because it was on the Easter weekend (as we had already shopped around we knew this was the price at the time). So we paid up front and swallowed the high cost due to Easter.
We travelled down from Orlando Florida to end our two week holiday at the Sandpiper for the last 4 days. And when we arrived we booked in and went up to view our room. We were horrified at the size and condition of the room. The front door was 3 yards from the 3rd floor parking lot! There were two double beds crammed into a tiny room and one small wardrobe that was suppose to accommodate 4 adults luggage! The bathroom was tiny was a 3quater bath and shower screen and there was a small two ring electric hob and about a meter square worktop also in the room that was the cooking area.
I immediately went back down to reception and informed them that I had been given the wrong room as I booked one with a second room (as show on their website). To my horror I was told that the room they had given me was there standard room and that I hadn’t paid for one of their suites!
When I spoke to the travel company I was under the impression I had paid for a room that was pictured on their website. If you look closely they show only the suites on their site in the gallery and a standard room looks like it also has a second room from the angle of the shot!
The room they had given us was unfit for a dog and I was told they were fully booked and I could not move. I returned half an hour latter to reception and spoke to the manager as there was no way I could stay in this room for 4 days. I was then told I could only upgrade to a suit that overlooked the sea and it would cost me in total (after adding the taxes and converting to sterling) £545.59.

Once we had moved there was still not much room for 4 people in the suite and the facility’s where diabolical (to add insult to injury they even tried to charge us $100 for the conference centre use when we checked out and $30 for two movies).

Room Tip: Ring the hotel first to make sure you are nowhere near the parking lot! Better still book a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxx
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came to stay on a Living Social deal, upgraded for a very small rate to a beach front and we loved it! Large room, updated resort, kitchen with a full refrigerator and all the stuff you need if you want to cook, two TV's for those with kids on the comfortable pull out couch. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and lunch and you have two nice pools one for adults only and a hot tub, Yeah!!!! Staff was always courteous and friendly.
The resort is pretty but not snooty so if you want a real beach experience this is a good choice. It was very quiet once we closed our doors for the night, and beds were really nice with crisp clean linens. I think they are pretty clean but I always bring wipes and do a quick germ wipe down too. They have free cabanas on the beach too, nice touch, and you can walk to the small bars close by.

Room Tip: 1822,1821 or on adult side for privacy, but no real beach view on that side but pretty adult pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel over Christmas and really loved it. We had a Gulf view suite and the view was amazing and more than enough room for 2 adults and 2 kids. The kitchen area had great facilities and the bathrooms were spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and helped make our stay brilliant. The beach itself is amazing and spotlessly clean. It is quieter than its sister hotel along the beach which suited us very well. the pools are lovely and heated as well which makes all the difference. All in all a great hotel

Room Tip: Gulf view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great location, very friendly staff, if the room is facing the beach it is a great view at anytime of the day. Great amenities , also were able to take benefits of amenities at Islands Grand(their sister property couple of blocks away from them). Sandbar, pools and beach cabanas are the greatest. Cleanliness was well maintained, had a great time.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the different promotions the hotel has to offer, it allows one to come back and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Fantastic staff all around. Rooms are very clean, Beach and grounds are well groomed.Guy Harvey Rest. is a fantastic place to eat , the staff are so kind and helpful.Everything is within walking distance.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted the No. 1 beach destination in the USA. Enjoy fishing, diving and water sport adventures on the warm waters of Florida’s Gulf of Mexico. Located 30 minutes from Tampa International Airport, Guy Harvey Outpost offers casual dining and the popular Sand Bar, two swimming pools, whirlpool, hammocks along the beach and the Guy Harvey Outfitter Shop.Experience Florida fishing at its finest with inshore, offshore, fly and chartered deep sea fishing. Scuba dive to sunken ships or book a snorkeling trip. Take flight with JetLev, your personal water powered jet pack or ride WaveJet, an electric powered surfboard. Guy Harvey Outpost inspires endless family adventures where you can experience the life, science and love for the sea that is Guy Harvey. Children also have a place in the adventure at Guy Harvey Outpost with tailored activities just for kids; all you have to do is enjoy the journey. In addition to the great hotel amenities and services at Guy Harvey Outpost, you’ll have access to a wealth of facilities and programs at TradeWinds Island Grand, just down the beach. There you can enjoy more casual dining, fine dining and beach bars and then retreat back to the intimacy of the Outpost. You pack your things – we’ll pack your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.