We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tradewinds Family Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Saint Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Tradewinds Family Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Guy Harvey Outpost is excellent vacation spot for a couples get away or family gathering. Facilities and property are perfectly maintained and clean, pools are beautiful, and overall a great experiece. The staff was very accomodating and helpful as well, very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    490
    200
    72
    54
See reviews for
673
579
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a smaller version of the Tradewinds Resort. The sister resort to this one. The lobby and hotel is filled with Guy Harvey's amazing art work. It is a clean resort but not with many amenities. But never fear.....when you stay there you have complete access to the Tradewinds, a short, lovely walk two resorts down on the beach. I liked that the Guy Harvey was quiet and serene. The Tradewinds is much more boisterous, thus, the best of both worlds at your fingertips. The beach was clean and beautiful. I wll stay again and hopefully soon :)

Room Tip: Please get a room AWAY from the elevators and parking garage. VERY NOISY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I travel often and stayed here for Thanksgiving. The hotel is the old Sandpiper and has been renovated. Check in was strange and we had some issues with the AC unit in the bedroom. The rooms are newly renovated and the staff is highly attentive. The pool, bar, cornhole and ring game area is great. Resort is clean but they still need to work out the kinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Reception was very informational and very nice, pools are heated and nice location on the beach, They have Happy Hour between Five and Six every evening good place to watch the sunset. Near everything and lots of good eats around. They have a Guy's Grill that is located inside the hotel, and a Coffee Shop in the lobby area. Will Stay here again and would recommend to all if you want a nice little hotel on the beach with Heated pools.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Guy Harvey Outpost in October for our anniversary, in one of their spa rooms overlooking the pool and the ocean. The room was nice enough, and clean, but a little noisy until the pool area was closed at night. The outdoor landscaping was very pretty, and well tended, and the pool areas were clean. There were two pools, one for families, and one for adults without children. Not having children ourselves, this was great, although most of our time was spent walking along the fabulous beach. We got out there early, before it was crowded - which is a good plan unless you like dodging the masses. On the other hand, people-watching was great, especially during and after their much heralded 'happy hour'. We've never seen so many people who were wasted so early in the day! People were leaving the outdoor bar with two drinks at a time, slugging them down, and going back for as many more as they could get in an hour. On our first day, we tested one of the 'happy hour' drinks, though, and ended up pouring them out because they were so nasty! I guess people will drink anything if it's 'free'.

But it's definitely not free! This hotel was pricy for what was offered, and on top of the room charges, there were other fees as well, such as a 'resort fee' (part of which paid for the happy hour, I'm sure). Overall, we enjoyed the visit, but probably won't be back. For the price, there are other hotels and resorts in the Tampa/Clearwater/St. Pete area that are equal to or better.

There were a few great local restaurants, though. We went out to eat, rather than stay at the hotel. Our advice would be to check with the locals - cabbies are fonts of local wisdom, and will get you to the tastiest places in town!

One thing that did impress us was the staff at this place. Everyone had a smile and hello, and seemed to be genuinely pleased to work there. That speaks volumes, really.

Room Tip: The better views are those from higher up. Also, you won't be so bothered by pool area noise if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at the Tradewinds on vacation for 4 nights and I would give it a solid 3.5 stars. Not fancy but our room was small and clean. But for the price, it still felt a bit old and disorganized. The pools are warm and clean, the beachfront is beautiful and facility is well-landscaped and kept up very well. There were a few problems however. Although well-decorated, our standard room was quite small..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is a nice friendly little property situated right on the beach in St. Petes. It's reasonably basic in terms of facilities but the rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a small little pool bar which had nice staff and better still Happy Hour! The only negative was that in cold weather, there was no real alternative except to sit outside in the cold if you wanted a beer at the hotel.
Otherwise no complaints, comfy beds, clean bathrooms, two good size tv's, starbucks coffee downstairs, friendly reception staff and a minute walk to the beach.
The Postcard Inn just two minutes away had great food and a lovely atmosphere also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, Saint Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.