We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Tradewinds Sandpiper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort to your Saves list
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Go Get Out There! Package
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We love the Tradewinds Sandpiper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Such an awesome place to stay for our honeymoon! We loved everything about the Tradewinds, plain and simple. We will be returning every yr!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    507
    214
    77
    57
See reviews for
710
597
52
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My husband and I decided to celebrate a recent success of his in August, but were undecided where to go. We had heard of the Trade Winds Sandpiper and it lived up to its great reputation! We were greeted at the front desk by Joanne, who couldn't have been more helpful. We enjoyed the beach and Salty's where we were served by Bill, who was fabulous. The rooms have been updated and have everything you need, from a coffee maker to a full-size fridge! We loved the pool, the spa, the coffee shop (thanks, Linda!) and hated to leave when the weekend was over. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved having a room right by the pool ~ ask the front desk for suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Conveniently located right on St. Pete Beach with nice amenities like cabanas and chaise lounges (but you pay for those in your $25 per night resort fee!). Highest resort fee I've ever paid anywhere in Florida. Rooms were clean and decorated in Florida style. Small, but comfortable. Nice to have microwave, fridge, and sink to use for snacks, etc. A few downsides to this location: not many dining options on-site, plumbing is loud (woke us up everytime room beside us flushed toilet or took shower), no live music/entertainment, and lots of kids running around. Pros: white, sandy beach, 2 pools (1 adult/1 family), easy walk to live music and good restaurants. Friendly staff. Would probably stay again, or consider sister site of Tradewinds down the road that seems to have everything this one is missing.

Room Tip: We booked through Priceline.com, but were unprepared for the $25/per night resort fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

My wife and I booked the Sandpiper because of a Living Social deal and we're glad we did. It's an older facility but it apparently has had some extensive refurbishing so it looks as good as new. We had a suite with the living room looking out on the Gulf and resort pool while the bedroom looked out on the courtyard pool. A nice touch was that the court pool was adults while the Gulf side pool was for everyone. The room was bright, clean and didn't have that feared "musty" smell that some Florida beach hotels sometimes have.

This was our first time to St. Pete beach and we were impressed with the beach itself as well as the cabana service provided by Sandpiper. The pool was well maintained and uber clean. It's hard to find much negative to say about the facility other than the somewhat limited parking and small spaces. The garage and parking lot were obvious from an era when most people drove cars and not trucks masquerading as SUVs - watch out for those door dings.

Not everything on our trip was perfect. The Coconuts comedy club was a waste of time and money. Besides just not being funny we thought racial humor went out in the 70s. It was pretty sad so I'd skip the club unless there is a main liner appearing which there probably will not be. Again, I'd not fault the Sandpiper - just don't go to Coconuts.
The biggest disappointment of our trip was not directly related to Sandpiper but one of the dining establishments affiliated with the Tradewinds resort complex - Bermudas Steak and Seafood. As expected, the food was pricy but what was unexpected was the massively over salted food. Everything was so salty, including the seared scallops, that it was almost inedible. It's hard to imagine that any cook, let alone a chef, would ever let something that poorly seasoned leave their kitchen. We told or server and her comment was that we should "Drink a lot of water and sweat it out." This was our anniversary weekend escape so we were planning a nice meal at another resort restaurant, Palm Court, but after our experience at Bermudas we decided to go off property for dining for the rest of our stay. Just to reiterate - this is not a reflection on the Sandpiper. Bermudas is part of the resort complex and is in a separate building down the beach. Although there may be some guilt by association it wouldn't be fair to "ding" the Sandpiper for Bermudas short comings. We ended up going to Mesa Luna and had a very enjoyable dinner.

If you want a beach escape with or without kids I'd give the Sandpiper a close look. Don't expect to find a ton of night life or dressy, sophisticated dinning – after all it's the west coast of Florida.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockport, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a great getaway! Doug at the front desk was very helpful!! The room was GREAT!!! We could see the gulf from one window and the hot tub and pool from our other window!!
Right across the street you can walk to Snappers!!! GREAT FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holly Lisi

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Had a great weekend and with great service by hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlachen, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I was thrilled to go to the Gulf - Our first visit. Wonderful hotel - it was Superb as well as staff. Room was great, plenty of space. View was awesome! Great restaurant onsite. Adult Pool was a big PLUS! Only complaint would be the parking situation. Not close to entrance and had to do a lot of walking back & forth to car. Other than that everything else was lovely! We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, is located on the award-winning white sands of St. Pete Beach, voted one of America's Best Beaches by TripAdvisor. Unwind at The SandBox beach lounge offering VIP Cabanas, open fire tables, and the popular Sand Bar beach bar. Dine on cutting edge seafood at Guy Harvey RumFish Grill - showcasing a 33,500 gallon aquarium featured on Animal Planet's "Tanked," indoor/outdoor bars, live entertainment and a retail store carrying the area's largest selection of Guy Harvey merchandise. Explore the shore, test your balancing skills on the Triple WipeOut surf ride, Swim with the Fish in our massive aquarium, master a stand-up paddleboard, take flight with JetLev, go on a fishing or diving adventure ... or unwind around our whirlpool and two swimming pools, one for adults only, while the kids dive into an ocean of fun with themed activities tailored just for them. Best of all, when you stay at this beachfront resort, you get to enjoy all the activities, recreation, restaurants and more at our neighboring sister resort, TradeWinds Island Grand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Sandpiper Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Sandpiper Resort
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.