We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get your hopes up” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center

Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center
4737 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
+1 727-367-7411
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphin Landings, located on Saint Pete Beach since 1972, is known for Eco-friendly DOLPHIN WATCH and SUNSET SAIL aboard luxury sailing yachts. Other Public Boat trips go to historic EGMONT KEY and wildlife refuge SHELL ISLAND. Reservations are required. Looking to cast a line and reel in dinner? Book a BACK BAY, DEEP SEA and/or OFFSHORE fishing trip. Larger group? Ask us about PRIVATE CHARTERS!
Goodyear, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Like most businesses now-a-days, Dolphin Landings ran a deal on a social-buying website, in this case, LivingSocial, for 50% off a regular priced cruise. I purchased 2 voucher since my husband and I would be visiting the area in October and I was totally excited to go on this boat trip. However, when I called to make a reservation I was told that we were the only one's reserving for the date we requested and if no one else showed up they would cancel the trip and no refund would be issued. Umm? Really? Sounds like a scam for money to me. If they cancel the trip for a reason that isn't our fault and out of our control, why would we not be given a refund? Why do they get to keep the money when they are not providing a service? She said the same holds true for weather conditions. I get that a trip may be cancelled due to weather conditions, but again, why not issue a refund? They win, since they don't have to go out on the boat trip and pay a person to sail the boat, and they get to keep the money from the tour guests, but everyone else loses out on both money and and not getting the boat trip.

Not worth the risk in my opinion. I also felt like since it was with a Living Social deal she really didnt' care if we went or didn't, since they don't make much money on the deal. Don't offer a deal then, imo.

Bottom line, I was really looking forward to this trip but I won't risk the money on something I can't guarantee I will get. Very disappointed in this company, especially after reading so many good reviews about how nice the boat trip is. Just be warned though, they can cancel a trip for any reason and NOT refund you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DolphinLandings, PR Consultant for Owner at Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your candid review. While it is not easy to hear, it highlighted two areas were we can improve: our customer service, and our communication with our customers. Our intent is to be forthcoming but, instead, we seemed uncaring and we apologize.
 
We would like to take this opportunity to clarify why we cancel trips and options a customer has if a trip is canceled.
 
We rarely cancel trips, but trip cancellations do happen on occasion. A scheduled trip can be canceled if we do not meet our minimum of four regularly priced tickets sold or if weather conditions would put our guests’ safety at risk.
 
For customers that book through us, our 24-hour no cancellation policy means, that if we must cancel a trip we offer a choice of re-scheduling or a refund.  
 
Customers that buy their tickets through Living Social and whose trip has been canceled also have the options of re-scheduling or obtaining a refund/credit but in this case through Living Social. To obtain a refund or credit from Living Social contact their Customer Help Line at 877-521-4191.
 
We hope this explanation of our cancellation policy and refunds is helpful and that you will give us another try in the future. Please accept our apology for the confusion and miscommunication. We will be happy to work with you to get you rescheduled and on another one of our boating trips if you so desire.

Thank you again for your review.

—Dolphin Landings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    24
    6
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hautes Pyrenees
1 review
“A perfect Sunset trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We sailed into the Gulf on this fabulous boat it could not have been more perfect. It was a lovely end to a lovely day, Cannot wait to go again...

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just back from our trip and it was brilliant. We had the yacht to ourselves and it really was blissful - so relaxing and the crew were great. The dolphins put on a fabulous show for us and were with us, and very close, for the majority of our two hour sail. Just breathtaking. A highly recommended experience if you want to escape from the theme parks for a day!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great sail in heavy air!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We took the two hour sail/dolphin watch cruise. The crew was cordial and pleasant as was the company of the other passengers! ( We got to be included in a birthday celebration!) We felt at ease on the the boat ( 46' Morgan) Captain Rich along with crew Mike and Dawn were professional and friendly. The air picked up as the trip progressed and we were impressed with the skill of our captain in his ease of sailing and handling the vessel. He was busy, stayed cordial, but we knew he was focused at all times. We did not see any dolphin, most likely due to the weather conditions...but we had one heck of a sail, it was a great experience. The price was reasonable, also. If you are a sailor, this trip is highly recommended! We will do this again on our next visit to St. Pete Beach. We take sailing trips frequently when we travel, Captain Rich was good!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewisville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“morning sail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

a great opportunity to enjoy the ocean and seeing dolphins at the same time. friendly + knowledgeable captain and staff. good for the whole family.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Landings Charter Boat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.