We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistas on the Gulf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vistas on the Gulf to your Saves list
Vistas on the Gulf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4000 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little bit of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place was very nice compared to most places in St. Pete beach and on up to Clearwater. The person you call to book, Anna, was very nice and informative.

I got the first floor, corner beach front room, 201, because in addition to overlooking the beach, it overlooks the pool, so my friends who visited could keep an eye on their kids while hanging out in the hotel. You can go on the back balcony off the sitting room and watch the pool, or you can sit on the front balcony and you're right on the ocean. So, when I wanted to run inside for a while, I still felt connected to the group.

If you were in New York, this would be considered a large two bedroom TWO BATH suite. In St. Pete beach, they call it a "1 bedroom with a sitting room." It could have slept 6 comfortably, and it had two full baths. The kitchen / dining area and the living room all have direct ocean views. The building is a little fancier than most of the hotels in this area, which was nice. It's also more on the Pass a Grill side of St. Pete Beach which we liked because it's a nice walk down and back.

The room had a washer, dryer, and dishwasher. The only drawback of this hotel is that you can't walk directly from the rooms onto the sand because they are all up a flight. On the other hand, this made it feel safe to keep the sliding doors on the balcony open all night which gives me the feeling of really being on the beach.

I didn't see inside any of the other rooms in this building besides mine, but I did check out the Don and the little Don first, and my room here at Vistas was much nicer AND less expensive!!

Room Tip: For the dual view, pick the 01 line. If you want to feel connected, pick 201. The higher numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    19
    10
    11
    10
See reviews for
54
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just stayed a week in unit 302 which was rented through TRS, Kyle was great and no problems with this agency. The unit was clean and VERY well stocked with all the amenities one might need to have a great beach vacation.There were only two of us in the condo so the amount of space was more than adequate. I love this location, not a real crowded area but many good restaurants close by. My daily morning walks to Pass a Grille, watching the beautiful sunsets from our private balcony and enjoying the hot tub and swimming pool made each day special.And of course having the beautiful beach and ocean out your back door can't be beat!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife, daughter & I just returned from a 3 night stay at Vista's on the Gulf where we stayed with our 15 month old daughter in unit 305 (Pat's Unit). We found the property to be very clean, parking was not an issue, the residents and other guests were very friendly, and the beach was uncrowded and clean. They actually sweep the beach with a tractor every morning which grooms the sand to perfection! Pat has done an outstanding job furnishing her unit with exceptionally comfortable furniture, flat screen TVs in both the master bedroom and family room, comfortable beds and bedding, and a fully stocked kitchen. There are two full bathrooms and plenty of hot water. There is a dining area right off the kitchen with comfortable seating for 6. The kitchen was better than we expected with black granite counter tops and a high-end built-in microwave, stove, refridgerator, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. There is also a closet with all the beach toys, and chairs that any family would need. Free internet is also a nice plus! Dish washer detergent and soap detergent were provided. Laundry detergent was not provided. We didn't have beach towels in the unit, but they were furnished at no charge by the managment office located at the end of the hall on the second level. The unit came with bedding, towels, and soap. The only thing we had to buy was shampoo.

While Vista's isn't a full-service hotel property (the units are privately owned), Liberte Management has an office on the second floor with a very friendly staff who will serve your needs during your stay. We were concerned about arriving late, and this was not an issue as Liberte Management was happy to place our keys in a lock box and e-mailed us the combination which allowed us late check-in. We were also provided with a parking permit with our keys which we immediately hung on our rear view mirror (without this, you risk being towed so it is critical that you read through your welcome folder upon arrival, and immediately place the parking pass in your vehicle).

In addition to having a world-class beach right out back, the property also has a heated pool and hot tub. The pool is nothing to write home about, but it was nice knowing that we had the option to use it. There is a grill (I believe it was propane) by the pool that guests are permitted to use as well. The kitchen came in handy, especially since there is a Publix Supermarket just 1/4 mile north, right across the street which sells everything that you will need including beer and wine.

The location has an elevator, making it easy to access the upper levels. There are also two sets of stairs.

If I were to return to this property, I would most likely try to rent a Gulf facing unit, as even the units like Pat's (305) which are at the Gulf end of the building, overlook a good part of the neighboring building with the Gulf off to the right. Of course, one would probably have to pay twice as much for Gulf-Front so the best economical option would be to rent a unit like 305 where you can enjoy the water and not break the bank! Overall, all of my family's needs were met. We needed a crib and high chair which we were able to rent for $70 from Tampa Bay Baby Rental. The hotel has a good relationship with these folks, and our crib/high chair were in the unit when we arrived. The second bedroom is quite small, and is perfect for two kids. You will not be able to fit a crib in this second bedroom unless one of the beds is removed. If you go to the Vista's on the Gulf web-page and read about the units, they state that they are all single-bedroom units. I believe that these units were initally sold as single-bedroom units, so the second bedroom was most likely intended to be a large walk-in closet or office. With that said, you can still easily fit two kids (or adults if on a budget) in this room. There are dressers in both bedrooms and plenty of places for suitcases on the floor in the master bedroom.

The Don Cesar is a quarter mile away to the south. Places like the Alden Beach Resort and Tradewinds are approximately 2 miles to the north. The Miramar is just next door to the north and you can easily find the property by looking for the Miramar sign. If you're looking for a bit more of a tranquil/residential condo feel, then Vistas on the Gulf is your place. I'd stay here again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a Gulf Front room. If none are available, ask for unit 305 which is Gulf View and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
small town VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our first time renting a unit like this as we usually stay a few doors north at the Bon Aire Resort but it was full.

First off, the pics were not the same as the reality. We were oceanfront. I think it was unit 203? It was an end unit on the northwest corner of the building. That part was nice... except we were on the side that had the drainage pond. That's never shown in the pics. Our balcony was nice.. if you didn't look to the right side of it over the cesspool drainage.. The drainage pond was full of trash and debris.

The living room and bedroom were adequate, although less than clean. The AC wasn't working when we got there but it was fixed promptly. The repair guy was already there when we got there... so obviously they knew there was a problem. Kitchen was nice, but not enough dishes and pans. Dining table was missing chairs.

The 2nd bedroom was a joke. It had a trundle bed. With the trundle out, you could not open the door. The balcony off this "bedroom" overlooked the cesspool. Pretty nasty. It had an old 13 inch TV in it.

The unit had several light bulbs out. We asked for new bulbs. We got a few but not enough.

The washer dryer unit was nice to have. We always had dry towels for the pool or beach. The door to the washer area wasnt installed right as you could hardly close it.

The pool area was nice. Nice deck. Nice hot tub. The pool was just a little small for the capacity of the property.

the gas grills were nice to use. They did blow out when it got windy. I suppose that's more a function of the gas company's pressure. Nonetheless, it was a pain when that happened a couple of nights.

The best thing was the excercise room. We saw pictures of a bright room overlooking the sand with treadmills and weights and large TV's IF you can find it... and that's a big IF... it was in the office. One of the rooms in the office unit had one treadmill (home version) and a 20-25" old tube TV. The room was dark and certainly nowhere near the sand! I only found it after I asked the office who pointed to the back room. I could only laugh at that point.

TV in the living room seemed possessed. The sound never was right. The remote seemed like it should have gone to another TV.

The office staff was really nice... except we got a nasty note on our door one morning. We put the trash just outside the door while we cleaned in the morning. Before we could take it down to the dumpster we had a note taped to the door telling us to remove it.

The property itself has some issues with maintenance. The one stairway was missing a handrail. There is lots of paint peeling.

Parking is horrible. The parking under the building at the first floor is a joke. My SUV would not fit. The other spots are very narrow.

the people we encountered were all very friendly. We enjoyed meeting people from other parts of the country.

We still enjoyed our vacation. How can you go to St Pete Beach and not enjoy it? World class white sands beach and beautiful orange sunsets make it memorable always. The beach was clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Take the middle oceanfront rooms. Bring a small car. A big car won't fit. Plan to use the gas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in unit # 203. It was a bit dirty, the floors were messy, we had to sweep, lots of hair and sand from the last guess, there were food crumbs on the sofa, sand and shells as well. The worse bit was the fact that the silverware and plates were dirty, with dried food on them. We had to wash everything before using it. Some light bulbs were out, most annoyingly in the master bath. The bed was not good. The iron was broken, so the water leaked out, the iron board needs a new cover, Shower liners need replacing.They ask you to start the dishwasher before you leave, but there was no dishwasher liquid provided, they ask you to take out the trash, no extra trash bags were given. It was really nice having a washer/dryer. There were beach chairs, so that was nice. If they work on all those things, I think it would be fine.This unit does need a good cleaning. We got in late, the last thing we wanted to to was clean.The location is great, you can walk to the publix down the street, cvs, walgreens( to get those trash bags and dishwasher liquid). When we stayed there were a lot of kids, so a bit hard to use the pool. The sitting area near the pool was a bit weird, we did not use the elevator because our unit was just at the top of the stairs, so every time we walked down we had to walk through a large group eating or hanging out, a bit strange. We also had a hard time getting the internet to work. We would stay here again, we would try for a different unit though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just returned from a one week stay in Unit 503....top floor, corner unit, gulf front. We actually booked on VRBO (#66993), but Libertie Management handled the payments and check-in.

We called on our arrival day to say we would be late and it was still super easy to check-in. They left our keys and parking pass in a lock box so we were able to quickly get to our unit. Unit 503 was clean and comfortable, and the view out over the beach and Gulf of Mexico was amazing. The condo is fairly small--not a lot of cabinet space in the kitchen, small dining nook, second "den" barely fits daybed and small dresser. However, it was perfect for our family of four. The entire complex was very clean and appeared to be well maintained. Pool is an okay size and in great condition with plenty of deck chairs and tables available.

Location is excellent. Very easy access to Pinellas Bayway bridge and several restaurants within walking distance. There is also a Walgreens very close by and Publix less than a two minute drive. We would definitely recommend this complex and Unit 503 to others

Room Tip: Gulf front units have best views--they end in 01,02,03
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My family and I just returned from a week long stay in Unit 208 and it was great! The condo was clean and well-maintained and the beds were super comfortable. The ladies in the office, Anne and Colleen, were very helpful and friendly. The property is clean and well-maintained and the location is EXCELLENT!! We enjoyed walking out from our condo to the beach every day. The beach is gorgeous! It has to be the best beach we have been to! The heated pool and grills were also an added bonus! This was our first visit to St. Pete Beach, but we will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vistas on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistas on the Gulf

Address: 4000 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vistas on the Gulf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vistas on the Gulf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistas On The Gulf Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Vistas On The Gulf St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistas on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.