We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Haven

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Pete Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Haven
Save
You added Beach Haven to your Saves list
4980 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We loved Beach Haven (again)! We have stayed at several places in the St Pete Beach area and this one is our favorite. It's a perfect location and the vibe is right on. We love that we can cook and grill out and eat al fresco under their beachfront pavilion rather than eating out every meal. It's very casual and quiet which is nice to come back to after being out during the day or evening. Just perfect. Thanks!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend- 5 of us- in a two bedroom, two bath apartment- perfect location, lovely place, very clean, and just what we needed for a weekend away at the beach. This is a lovely little place between the hi-rise resorts, and it was just what we wanted- Peg let my daughter check-in for us on Friday afternoon, gave her a stack of beach towels and said "Enjoy" and that we did, kitchen well furnished, pool-side grill, gazebo with swing overlooking the gulf- dinner on the beach one night and a Rays win at the Trop the next- it was a lovely place and we look forward to our return-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you love "Old Florida" with its quaint small beach front properties then you'll enjoy this place as much as we did. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The property is well kept, complete with a sunset deck, small pool, and BBQ area. If you need something, just ask and they probably have it and are willing to lend it to you, like a book, movie, or a couple of beach chairs.

Room Tip: The rooms closest to the beach have less road noise. The only 2 bedroom is near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I live in Tampa which is only an hour away. He took me here for my 28th birthday this past October for a mini weekend getaway. He had been here previously for a bachelor party and couldn't stop talking about what a find it was. I'm typically a little picky when it comes to booking a hotel because the thought of sleeping in a room that isn't clean is terrifying to me. I was skeptical of this place at first because of some of the reviews but, I'm so happy I gave it a chance. It has a bed and breakfast feel to it. It was very clean, the lady at the front desk was very sweet. We went when it was a little chilly so, we were unable to go swimming but, we got the same beautiful beach views that some of the more expensive high rise hotels do for way less. I totally recommend staying here. The best part was being able to walk to different restaurants from our hotel room and the beach being right in your backyard. At night, we grabbed a blanket and watched the stars right on the beach. We drank our coffee in the mornings right on the beach as well. It's perfect for a little romantic getaway, bachelor party or a girls night out. If you're looking for something more upscale, the spinning hotel/restaurant is next door. It's a beautiful place but, you pay three times as more for the same view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We simply loved it. Not complicated, and just what we were looking for. We love the Ocean and we had it right there. Everyday we would walk out of our unit and just a few steps away we had the water. Everyone there is wonderful, we made new friends. It is clean and when we needed something they made sure we got it. The barbecue is great, the laundry room not far away. When we were not in the water we were sitting outside reading or chatting with our new friends. We met people who have been coming here for many years and they said they would go nowhere else. We will hopefully come back again. We stayed there from September the 18th to the 18th of October. when there we have access to Publix a grocery store, there is also a little jewelry store which is new and it is great, there are other stores with unique dresses etc. A pharmacy,an Italian and also a Chinese restaurant and a bank. If you walk just a little further you will find a place called La Casa del Pane where you get freshly baked delicious bread every day, and fresh brewed coffee, and many other things. We have been going there for many many years. The owners of La Casa del Pane are lovely people and very friendly. So you have everything at the tip of your fingers. We love St.Pete beach and have been going there for 32 years. The staff at Beach Haven are wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in #8 Living dinning and kitchen in one area. A brand new stove they just bought it for us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First let me get this out of the way. Yes the furniture is dated, but functional, and noise from the blvd. is not an issue, and housekeeping service could be improved. Had an efficiency in front of the property (close to road). Ideal size for a couple. Closet and bathroom were small. Landscape is well maintained. Nice pool and outdoor grill areas. Located on beach. When sitting outside you definitely get to know your neighbors. Can't beat the price for what you get. Looking forward to return stay next month.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The room set up is very unusual in this day and age. In effect, most of the rooms are half of a duplex with a door that links the two rooms together. For instance, if you rent 7&8 or 9&10 together as a duplex, you get an open door between the two halves, which lets you have different family areas and even temperatures. The middle numbers, like 11-14, are right against the main road, and 1-4 are the best, as they are closest to the beach and have least road noise.

Having looked over the very negative reviews, I have to agree with a number of factual points. For instance, many of our electrical outlets did not work, nor did our microwave. The pool is clean, but clearly not ideally maintained. The air conditioners are very outdated and loud (my GF could not sleep at night the first day we were there).

However, the staff members that we interacted with were absolutely wonderful (but I confess that I avoided interacting with the managing director due to the prior reviews).

However, if you are from a native tropical area, as I am, then this hotel has a unique feature that almost NO modern chain hotels permit--you can open the entire cottage up at night and sleep with natural air! I had forgotten how wonderful that is.

So, if you know what you are getting into, and you are okay with a dated hotel that has features that have largely been exterminated from the Loews and Hiltons of the world, this is one of the few remaining places on Florida's Pinellas coast that you can go to.

I would return, no hesitation: but off-season, when it is less than half the high season price.

Room Tip: 1-6 are closer to the beach, try to avoid 11-14, since those are the most proximal to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Haven

Address: 4980 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Gulf of Mexico, Beach Haven harks back to the days when much of Florida offered vacationers colorful, Art Deco-style motels. Beach Haven retains its charming personality, while providing updated interiors and furnishings. Close to shopping, dining and entertainment. Add the peaceful setting and guests will know why Beach Haven is so popular. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Haven Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beach Haven Saint Pete
Beach Haven St. Pete Beach, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.